GTX 560 Ti 448 core OC Club - Page 239 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2381 of 2759 Old 07-07-2012, 05:07 PM
 
Thestigx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys,

I unlocked the voltage control on afterburner and I had a go: http://i.minus.com/iYccwMUqQ1NPp.JPG


voltage: 1025 MV

Core clock: 850

Memory clock: 1950

I think I did very good considering first time REAL overclocking biggrin.gif

EDIT: temperature:

At Peak: 64 C

Idle: 30-33
Thestigx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2382 of 2759 Old 07-08-2012, 12:47 PM
Overclocker
 
zoson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duhstin View Post

As you can see, the gtx 680 is supported and I've seen other people on hardforums use same card on the psu.
This is simply NOT TRUE.
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/518?vs=555

Not even close to true. The 680 uses SIGNIFICANTLY less power than a 560ti 448.
zoson is offline  
post #2383 of 2759 Old 07-08-2012, 04:01 PM
 
Thestigx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoson View Post

This is simply NOT TRUE.
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/518?vs=555
Not even close to true. The 680 uses SIGNIFICANTLY less power than a 560ti 448.

How many watts do you think I would need to run GXT 448 sli? I have 600W right now.
Thestigx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2384 of 2759 Old 07-08-2012, 06:11 PM
Overclocker
 
zoson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 102
You can get by with an 850W as long as you're not doing super extreme overclocking. I ran a 950W when I had two in SLI instead of three.
zoson is offline  
post #2385 of 2759 Old 07-08-2012, 11:36 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
tout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Strapped Into My PC Chair
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
It's not just watts that you need to think about with power supplies. Just one of my EVGA 560ti Classifieds requires 550 watts minimum plus 38 amps on the 12v line. You need to make sure the 2 PCIe power cables you connect will total at the minimum of 38 amps. If you overclock the card, you will probably need more.
tout is offline  
post #2386 of 2759 Old 07-09-2012, 09:07 AM
 
anubyss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Epic fail on my part or I have a gimp card. I ran 750MHz and it sometimes crashes on Diablo 3 sigh. Upped the voltage to 988 from factory stock of 975 and it still crashed. I reset everything back to stock and it's fine. I figured anything up to 800MHz would be pretty safe at stock voltage. Temps are at 66C for stock setting during gameplay. I am going to try raising it in increments of 10MHz tonight and see what it does. Anything else I could be doing wrong or could be looking at? Phenom 2 X4 BE, 8GB memory, and 750W Corsair power supply running on XP 64bit.

Edit: Galaxy GTX 560 Ti 448 card.
anubyss is offline  
post #2387 of 2759 Old 07-09-2012, 09:22 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
plasmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3x 448's:

3dmark2011score2.jpg

1986 IROC-Z Camaro, 360.4cu, T56, 4.10's
8.29 @ 85.2 mph (1/8th mile)

plasmeh is offline  
post #2388 of 2759 Old 07-09-2012, 09:34 AM
Just Win Baby!
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoson View Post

You can get by with an 850W as long as you're not doing super extreme overclocking. I ran a 950W when I had two in SLI instead of three.

You'd do more than 'get by', an 850W is borderline overkill for SLI 448's thumb.gif

A good 750W unit is actually plenty, and will allow full overclocking/overvolting of both the GPUs and the CPU.

The 600W unit, while it would probably 'work' (assuming it's not a crap 600W unit like Raidmax or CM 'Extreme') for stock clocks/volts, it would almost certainly restrict OC'ing ability. This is partly because it likely doesn't have the needed native PCI-Ex connectors.

brettjv is offline  
post #2389 of 2759 Old 07-09-2012, 09:52 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
plasmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjv View Post

You'd do more than 'get by', an 850W is borderline overkill for SLI 448's thumb.gif
A good 750W unit is actually plenty, and will allow full overclocking/overvolting of both the GPUs and the CPU.
The 600W unit, while it would probably 'work' (assuming it's not a crap 600W unit like Raidmax or CM 'Extreme') for stock clocks/volts, it would almost certainly restrict OC'ing ability. This is partly because it likely doesn't have the needed native PCI-Ex connectors.

I agree, 850W is way overkill. When I had 2x 448's overclocked at 900mhz core/2100mhz mem, I was pulling 660W from the wall maximum during benchmarking. That means a 600W psu would've barely sufficed, albeit with essentially no headroom for expansion.

1986 IROC-Z Camaro, 360.4cu, T56, 4.10's
8.29 @ 85.2 mph (1/8th mile)

plasmeh is offline  
post #2390 of 2759 Old 07-09-2012, 11:45 AM
Overclocker
 
zoson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Depends on your system.
I have a 6/12 990x with a big overclock, not a dinky 4/4 2500k.

Also 900MHz core 2100MHz mem isn't exactly a stellar overclock when it comes to these cards. In fact, I would call that memory overclock very low, as it's ~200MHz below the 'gimme' clock we've been seeing in this thread(and considering the fact that all three of my cards do 2500MHz memory without any additional voltage).

Anyway, The guys above don't really know what they're talking about. If you're running two cards that require 38A each, that's 76A total on your 12v rail to meet nvidia's requirement.
Good luck finding anything less than 850W that is actually rated for that. Most 750's are 62A rated.

While a 750 MAY do it and not crash your rig, you're certainly overloading the PSU at maximum loading.
zoson is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off