Software SLI - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Trolls at 2 o'clock!
 
TheSubtleKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In fear of banhammers
Posts: 4,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 369
i was planning to put 2 7600 GTS's in to SLI, but i noticed that it only supported software SLI... is software sli good or bad?

Need a quick question answered or you just want to hang out? Why dont you hit me up in the OCN CHAT?thumb.gifthumb.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant 

TheSubtleKnife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:20 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
What the heck is software SLI?

And in what rig are you planning on doing this... looking at yuor sys specs, I feel it's impossible...

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:34 PM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
My thought on it is exactly that, must require the Nvidia software basically to run it. I wonder though if you could use the DFI Ultra-D with software SLi?

pink

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:44 PM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
i have been talking to him... this will be in a new rig... i belive it will either be a 939 3700 sandy... im pretty sure... if not it will be some am2 cpu
geekedittilitghz is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:48 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Ok, in that case, I would recommend a single high-end card as opposed to dual 7600's

A 7600GT goes for around $140, thus dual for $280, which will nearly get you a 7950GT (no NOT the GX2).
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130061

And an X1900XT is not that far of either...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102025

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 08:58 PM
733mhz
 
candle_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chozart
Ok, in that case, I would recommend a single high-end card as opposed to dual 7600's

A 7600GT goes for around $140, thus dual for $280, which will nearly get you a 7950GT (no NOT the GX2).
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130061

And an X1900XT is not that far of either...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102025
go with a real mans card get the 7950 instead of that girly 1900
candle_86 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 09:01 PM
They've Killed Fritz!!!
 
Mr Pink57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: a van down by the river
Posts: 4,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by candle_86
go with a real mans card get the 7950 instead of that girly 1900
Ok. Whatever this guy says do the opposite, even if he says dont jump off a bridge at all costs do the opposite.

pink

Vicki Vale: You're insane!
Joker: I thought I was a Pisces!
Mr Pink57 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 09:05 PM
The Odd Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Too close to Microsoft
Posts: 24,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1172
Good one Pink. That's a bias and not so polite reaction to me posting two very good alternatives.

Not many reviews out on the 7950GT. Seems like it's good without AA and AF, but once using AA and AF, the X1900XT pulls ahead.
http://xtreview.com/review136.htm

1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Chozart is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 09:15 PM
4.0ghz
 
noshibby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 157
i concur with chozart (get an x1900)

noshibby is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-18-2006, 09:39 PM
Resistance is Futile
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 3,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Wow, you guys totally did not answer this person's question! Why can't you people just answer the question and stop reccommending alternative solutions? I mean what is it with everybody? "Oh don't do this... get a blah blah blah..."

This person is asking if Software SLI is good or bad, and probably wanting to know if there is a difference in software SLI and hardware SLI. As far as I know software SLI is enabled through a driver while hardware SLI is enabled through hardware, ie a SLI bridge. I think hardware SLI will perform better.
TheSubtleKnife likes this.

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

If you ask a question you don't want an answer to, Expect an answer you don't want to hear.
lonnie5000 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off