7800GT BIOS Mod WORKS! - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Just completed BIOS flash to 1.5vgpu and it definately works! GPU voltage went up from 1.4 3D to 1.5 3D when measure with a multimeter. Before mod, "Optimal Frequencies" were 496/1.14, after the mod, they are: 516/1.16!!!

I guess somehow the vmem voltage got a bump as well...

I'll check that real fast
kidwolf909 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:32 PM
Most beautiful smile in the world
 
Krunk_Kracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 13,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Yep, it works, but your still gonna have a few ppl on here tell you that it doesn't work. I had a guanteed performance gain from mine as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konata Izumi go_quote.gif
they have the features of real women, close enough!

I Was An OCN Radio Host!
Play Paintball? Talk about it here!
Krunk_Kracker is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krunk_Kracker
Yep, it works, but your still gonna have a few ppl on here tell you that it doesn't work. I had a guanteed performance gain from mine as well
So now it's ATITool stable @ 488/1160 with a 73*C MAX temp in RTHDRIBL...

Pretty good, but I need some better cooling and that will help it out ALOT! However, when I play CS:S or BF2142, my GPU only geta to 60*C mayyyybe, so I might be ok with the stocker
kidwolf909 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:45 PM
Most beautiful smile in the world
 
Krunk_Kracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 13,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidwolf909
So now it's ATITool stable @ 488/1160 with a 73*C MAX temp in RTHDRIBL...

Pretty good, but I need some better cooling and that will help it out ALOT! However, when I play CS:S or BF2142, my GPU only geta to 60*C mayyyybe, so I might be ok with the stocker
Pfft, enen unmodded you still need a vf-900

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konata Izumi go_quote.gif
they have the features of real women, close enough!

I Was An OCN Radio Host!
Play Paintball? Talk about it here!
Krunk_Kracker is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:46 PM
3.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: srasota fl.
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Congrst!! thats really cool that it worked for you!

MmmmMmmm..unlocked goodnesseek.gif

genhoe is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krunk_Kracker
Pfft, enen unmodded you still need a vf-900
HAHA...this is true... I'll either pick up a new SI128+FM121 for my CPU or I'll get the VF900/HR03+FM92 for my GPU... What do you think is more worth it?

Dual-Prime CPU = 56*C
MAX rthdrible GPU = 73*C
kidwolf909 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 07:03 PM
PC Gamer
 
BrinNutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Yup, I did it on both of my 7800GT's in SLI in my other rig...

I haven't measured them, but, in SLI, you can't get nearly the OC as you can with a single card..

Xbox Live Gamertag : BrinNutz
PS3 Nick: BrinNutz

POW-MIA - Never Forgotten
SSGT Stephen Heitman of Indianapolis, IN. MIA : 13 March 1968
Come home safe my brothers and sisters. When we win.

gunner2.gif

Admin @ CS:S overclock.nuclearfallout.net

BrinNutz is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrinNutz
Yup, I did it on both of my 7800GT's in SLI in my other rig...

I haven't measured them, but, in SLI, you can't get nearly the OC as you can with a single card..
Well next comes my vmem mod, but that will have to wait til tomorrow or saturday. I'll try to pencil mod the vmem from 2.08 to 2.14 or so... we'll see. But it's perfectly BF2142 stable @ 490/1160 now with 71*C as the max temp. I dropped it back to 488mhz core just to keep her under 70*C

VF900 ($33) or HR03+FM92 ($60)? Which is most bang for buck?
kidwolf909 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 07:34 PM
Resistance is Futile
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 3,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Ya some will tell you that it don't work, but they are stupid and don't deserve to breath the same air as we do. lol. J/K... I definitly think it works well. I could detect higher frequencies after the mod. Max stable oc for my gpu is 520/1220.

Edit/// Keep us posted on the memory mod, I'm really interested in that one!

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

If you ask a question you don't want an answer to, Expect an answer you don't want to hear.
lonnie5000 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-26-2006, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
I have many leatherbound books
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonnie5000
Ya some will tell you that it don't work, but they are stupid and don't deserve to breath the same air as we do. lol. J/K... I definitly think it works well. I could detect higher frequencies after the mod. Max stable oc for my gpu is 520/1220.

Edit/// Keep us posted on the memory mod, I'm really interested in that one!
Yea, I'll be performing that minor surgery tomorrow night I think. I'll be using a 6B artist pencil, so hopefully it contains a LOT of graphite for an easy voltage increase

What do you think is the highest safe voltage for the memory?
kidwolf909 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off