[Official] MSI GTX 680 Lightning Owners Club - Page 389 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3881 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:10 AM
Eh, wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Is there any consensus regarding which lightning block is better? (between the EK block and the one for sake on Sidewinders, any any other I may not know about)

My order at sidewinders apparently didn't go through so I need to re-order, so I can go with either option I guess.

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | Arcane
Servers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen00 go_quote.gif

Zero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. thumb.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Zero4549 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3882 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:28 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by helidan View Post

Current BIOS is 80.04.47.00.19 (Locked LN2)

You should be fine flashing the 3A BIOS. If you have problems, you can switch to normal BIOS and flash back. Just make sure you save your currnet BIOS for security.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero4549 View Post

Is there any consensus regarding which lightning block is better? (between the EK block and the one for sake on Sidewinders, any any other I may not know about)
My order at sidewinders apparently didn't go through so I need to re-order, so I can go with either option I guess.

I ordered the Aqua blocks but after 6 weeks and still not turning up, I got fed up and canceled and went for the EK blocks. I think the Aqua blocks look sweet but temp wise, you won't notice.
helidan likes this.
Gregster is offline  
post #3883 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCModderMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregster View Post

I have 2 of these LTG blocks from EK and fantastic temps all over. I added some prolimatech PK-3 to each of the phase capacitors and temps are superb. I have put 1.5V through and the highest temps I have seen is 52C on anything (core/ram/vrms). on normal operation, it runs around 40C. My ambients are 23C.
My only advice is if you use the bridge, be carefull. One of mine wouldn't sit well and after 3 reseats and fluid leaking, I gave up and made my own link system for SLI. The other bridge is fine though, so hopefully just a one off. (O rings looked good and I couldn't see anything visibly wrong with the bridge).
It will show quickly if you have a problem but I am sure I was just unlucky smile.gif
When under water, give it some tongue.gif
Edit:
It is quite apparent that the 7970 is faster than the normal 680 but the cards we have are not normal 680s...We have the best 680s out biggrin.gif

Thanks for the info....only running one card for now though, for now wink.gif
Also nice rig you've got, I checked out your pics....just curious though, how come you removed the MSI cover from the back of the cards? The one that goes over the smaller PCB, sorry can't think of what they actually call it off the top of my head.


Sony Alpha A7II | Sony 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 | Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 Zeiss Sonnar T


~The Switch~
Post The Last Thing You Ate!

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  7 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PCModderMike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3884 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:40 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCModderMike View Post

Thanks for the info....only running one card for now though, for now wink.gif
Also nice rig you've got, I checked out your pics....just curious though, how come you removed the MSI cover from the back of the cards? The one that goes over the smaller PCB, sorry can't think of what they actually call it off the top of my head.

Cheers smile.gif

I removed the reactors because they are ugly biggrin.gif I much prefer it without those bits of plastic on.

Edit:

Very nice build with the EVGA 670s. My build looks slightly different now and I should update the photos. I have the 2 scythe fans on the bottom 240 rad underneath in push. I was creating negative airflow how I had them and it has dropped temps 5C across the water parts now. The top fans I have as pull but would have prefered them inside the case but I can't fit the 3rd fan on the 360 so put them on the top.
Gregster is offline  
post #3885 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCModderMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Oh OK, well cool. cheers.gif

EDIT: And thanks....670's are long gone now though. Prepping the Lightning to go in. biggrin.gif


Sony Alpha A7II | Sony 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 | Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 Zeiss Sonnar T


~The Switch~
Post The Last Thing You Ate!

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  7 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PCModderMike is offline  
post #3886 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:50 AM
 
helidan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Successful 3A BIOS flash, many thanks for the info.thumb.gif
helidan is offline  
post #3887 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 10:54 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by helidan View Post

Successful 3A BIOS flash, many thanks for the info.thumb.gif

Cool. A reinstall of drivers after restart and have fun smile.gif

Thanks for the rep smile.gif
Gregster is offline  
post #3888 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 11:08 AM
 
helidan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yep, drivers reinstalled, giving the new 310.54 beta a whirl.

Will see how we get on with these.
helidan is offline  
post #3889 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 11:19 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I am on the 310.54 and they seem fine. I have not done any testing of note except for BF3 and I benched Operation Swordbreaker with the 306.97 WHQL drivers prior to going with these and I got a 2 fps boost on minimums but averages stayed the same and max fps had decreased by 7fps.

No sign of the 16% increase in performance frown.gif
Gregster is offline  
post #3890 of 7827 Old 11-13-2012, 11:39 AM
PC Gamer
 
dph314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Gaming...or waiting to
Posts: 3,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCModderMike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dph314 View Post

You almost definitely have the locked LN2 BIOS, if you just bought the card. So you'll have to flash. And it isn't hard at all. Literally takes 15 seconds. The locked LN2 ones are stuck at 1.175v just like reference 680s, so you might not get a good overclock until after flashing.
And yes, not too many blocks out there, but there's enough to give you some competition tongue.gif I would love to set up a loop someday. I may do that instead of upgrading right away to the 700-series, since these two Lightnings are more than enough power than I'll need for a while, especially if Nvidia steps it up driver-wise in response to 12.11. But yeah, I'm stuck at 1480mhz in 3dMark11 until I set that loop up. I look forward to your 1500mhz+ run thumb.gif
You're Lightning's are beast....no way I would upgrade to the 700 series if I were you, like you said they should be plenty of power for a long time coming. Also just wanted to say, I've seen you around this thread as a regular, and your posts are very helpful, so thanks for that. thumb.gif

Thanks. I know I had a ton of questions when I was figuring all of this stuff out when I first got the card and I received all the help I needed, so I feel it's only right to try and help as many others as I can in return, hopefully paying the thread back for what I've taken from it redface.gif
PCModderMike likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maarten12100 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph314 
Is it weird that I'm slightly aroused?
No, it isn't. Epeen is rising!

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

dph314 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off