EVGA GTX 670FTW Overclocking Help - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 09:52 PM
Stock.... what's that?
 
estabya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaGeek View Post

1215MHz?? Ouch! I think you've ended up with the worst FTW I've heard of, they tend to OC a bit better than many of the other cards statistically.

Have you tried one of the volt-modded BIOS? I got about 40 more MHz on my core out of it thumb.gif

Yeah you're telling me. I haven't modded the bios because I'm not sure how much good it would do because power percentage barely hits 110%... think it'd still help?

estabya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
[ קяเиƈєรร ]
 
Simca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: нεคvεห
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Guess I'm gonna' have to read that long annoying thing and spend 3 hours to get it right.........I really hate doing that...Wish it was really simple..just plug numbers in.
Simca is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 09:59 PM
Commodore 64
 
elreyhorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Indiana...land of corn, basketball, and pork tenderloin sandwiches
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaGeek View Post

The FTW has a max power percent of 145%

Follow SeanPoe's guide for 670 overclocking.

145%? Really? That would mean 170W x 1.45 = 246.5W max. I guess that makes sense since the FTW uses a 680 PCB (1 6-pin and 1 8-pin PCI-E power connector). Makes me wish I had purchased a 670 with a 680 PCB. Oh well.

Yeah, follow SeanPoe's guide.

Overclocking is proof that free lunches do exist...despite Intel's best attempts to slowly take away your free lunch.

AMD is the only one keeping Intel and NVIDIA honest. Competitive parity works in YOUR favor regardless of brand loyalty.

Fanboyism is an anathema to value, bang for buck and your wallet.

Only YOU (as an informed consumer) have your best interests in mind, not some corporation that exists solely to make a profit off you. The same goes for AMD as well.

The Windows 8 Protest Group
elreyhorus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 10:01 PM
PC Gamer
 
GanjaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Skyrim
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by estabya View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaGeek View Post

1215MHz?? Ouch! I think you've ended up with the worst FTW I've heard of, they tend to OC a bit better than many of the other cards statistically.

Have you tried one of the volt-modded BIOS? I got about 40 more MHz on my core out of it thumb.gif

Yeah you're telling me. I haven't modded the bios because I'm not sure how much good it would do because power percentage barely hits 110%... think it'd still help?

Don't worry about the power percent, that won't tell you if the voltage bump is going to help or not. Run the modded BIOS at the top of the modded BIOS thread for the FTW with the 200% power profile. Use Precision or Afterburner to set the power percent to 200%, it's okay to leave it there. Set a custom fan profile, I set mine to hit 72% at 68C and no matter how hot it gets in my room, the GPU stays under 70C, although mine doesn't throttle at 70C with the modded BIOS anyway - I just keep it nice and cool anyway. That modded BIOS will auto OC the card to 1293 since that's what the boost clock is set to in the BIOS - it keeps the memory stock. You will likely have to set a negative value for the GPU offset in Afterburner to get the GPU stable. Just put a "-" in front of the offset to set a negative offset. Use multiples of 13 on the GPU core since the new drivers lock the core to multiples of 13 anyway - so for my card I set -13 to get 1280 on the core. (1293-13=1280) and then set the memory to wherever you have it now and you should be good thumb.gif
GanjaGeek is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 10:12 PM
Stock.... what's that?
 
estabya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by GanjaGeek View Post

Don't worry about the power percent, that won't tell you if the voltage bump is going to help or not. Run the modded BIOS at the top of the modded BIOS thread for the FTW with the 200% power profile. Use Precision or Afterburner to set the power percent to 200%, it's okay to leave it there. Set a custom fan profile, I set mine to hit 72% at 68C and no matter how hot it gets in my room, the GPU stays under 70C, although mine doesn't throttle at 70C with the modded BIOS anyway - I just keep it nice and cool anyway. That modded BIOS will auto OC the card to 1293 since that's what the boost clock is set to in the BIOS - it keeps the memory stock. You will likely have to set a negative value for the GPU offset in Afterburner to get the GPU stable. Just put a "-" in front of the offset to set a negative offset. Use multiples of 13 on the GPU core since the new drivers lock the core to multiples of 13 anyway - so for my card I set -13 to get 1280 on the core. (1293-13=1280) and then set the memory to wherever you have it now and you should be good thumb.gif

THANKS! I'm gonna give that a try. I have an H80 on my card so temps shouldn't be an issue. I'd be stoked if I could get more MHZ on that core cuz 1215 is terrible.

estabya is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 02-05-2013, 10:27 PM
PC Gamer
 
GanjaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Skyrim
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Let me know how it turns out for you... I wouldn't fret either way, the difference between 1220 and 1280 on the core would be about 2-4 FPS difference on average anyway - nothing to shake a stick at but not a huge deal either. The 6xx series cards are more bottlenecked by their memory bus, so overclocking the memory will have more of an effect. Sometimes the increased voltage on the GPU will allow for a higher RAM OC as well. Your memory is running at 7388 MHz anyway, which is pretty good - mine is only stable to 7246 unless I have hardly any GPU OC at all.

Usually the higher you go on the core, the lower you will have to go on the memory - and the other way around... SeanPoe's GTX 670 OCing guide explains how to tradeoff GPU MHz for RAM MHz in the best possible ratio.
GanjaGeek is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 02-06-2013, 02:14 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
twitchyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simca View Post

Guess I'm gonna' have to read that long annoying thing and spend 3 hours to get it right.........I really hate doing that...Wish it was really simple..just plug numbers in.
it's time consuming for sure...but honestly...isn't that the fun in overclocking? Baby steps and trial and error.The gains are meh at best...
Quote:
Originally Posted by elreyhorus View Post

145%? Really? That would mean 170W x 1.45 = 246.5W max. I guess that makes sense since the FTW uses a 680 PCB (1 6-pin and 1 8-pin PCI-E power connector). Makes me wish I had purchased a 670 with a 680 PCB. Oh well.

Yeah, follow SeanPoe's guide.
It's just a ceiling...doesn't mean you will actually see 145%. I think the highest I've seen so far on higher voltage was 133%. And the FTW uses the regular 2x6pin...only the Gigabyte WC uses the 6+8pin AFAIK

Quote:
Originally Posted by estabya View Post

DANG! You got 1293Mhz on both of your cards!?!?! drool.gif I'm jealous. I can bench at 1228, but FC3 and BF3 crash if it's above 1215. I guess I just got a somewhat crappy OCer...

Hopefully OP has luck like yours thumb.gif
mine is a decent OC...just look at overvolted thread and I'd say majority are in the 1300+ on core
mine is actually pretty pathetic for overvolted cards...I was originally 1250 core and 7334 on mem...I'm only up at 1293 because I dialed back every 4mhz of mem for every 1mhz of core...so technically it's a similar OC before overvolting...I just like the bios as both my cards now run the exact same boost so I can sync my settings in Precision X

Nvidia Surround Gaming
My PC Hardware Upgrade CyclesWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
CPU: Athlon 1.3GHz | Core 2 Duo OC'd 2.0GHz | Core i5-3570K OC'd 4.8GHz
RAM: 2x256MB DDR-333MHz | 2x1GB DDR2-667MHz -> 2x2GB DDR2-800MHz | 4x4GB OC'd DDR3-2133MHz
GPU: GeForce2 MX 64MB -> Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB | Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB | GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB SLI OC'd
twitchyzero is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 02-06-2013, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
[ קяเиƈєรร ]
 
Simca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: нεคvεห
Posts: 8,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by twitchyzero View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simca View Post

Guess I'm gonna' have to read that long annoying thing and spend 3 hours to get it right.........I really hate doing that...Wish it was really simple..just plug numbers in.
it's time consuming for sure...but honestly...isn't that the fun in overclocking? Baby steps and trial and error.The gains are meh at best...
Quote:
Originally Posted by elreyhorus View Post

145%? Really? That would mean 170W x 1.45 = 246.5W max. I guess that makes sense since the FTW uses a 680 PCB (1 6-pin and 1 8-pin PCI-E power connector). Makes me wish I had purchased a 670 with a 680 PCB. Oh well.

Yeah, follow SeanPoe's guide.
It's just a ceiling...doesn't mean you will actually see 145%. I think the highest I've seen so far on higher voltage was 133%. And the FTW uses the regular 2x6pin...only the Gigabyte WC uses the 6+8pin AFAIK

Quote:
Originally Posted by estabya View Post

DANG! You got 1293Mhz on both of your cards!?!?! drool.gif I'm jealous. I can bench at 1228, but FC3 and BF3 crash if it's above 1215. I guess I just got a somewhat crappy OCer...

Hopefully OP has luck like yours thumb.gif
mine is a decent OC...just look at overvolted thread and I'd say majority are in the 1300+ on core
mine is actually pretty pathetic for overvolted cards...I was originally 1250 core and 7334 on mem...I'm only up at 1293 because I dialed back every 4mhz of mem for every 1mhz of core...so technically it's a similar OC before overvolting...I just like the bios as both my cards now run the exact same boost so I can sync my settings in Precision X

Yeah..If I actually enjoyed overclocking. lol. I don't. I just do it to maximize the performance of my hardware then never want to touch it again. If I could just type numbers in and be done I would.
Simca is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off