314.07 update with Windows 8? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-16-2013, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
notyouraccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Whenever I update my 660 ti drivers to 314.07 and restart the computer, the hp logo comes up but then disappears and stays black after a few hours. Does this update and Windows 8 not get along?

notyouraccount is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-18-2013, 12:23 PM
 
ClickJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I had the same thing happen to me a few weeks ago. ended up having to to a clean install do to windows 8 not seeing my raid as an option for safe mode.

camera.gifCanon 7D Gripped| Canon 17-40mm f/4L |Canon 50mm | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L | 2x yn-560
embrace that which defines you
ClickJacker is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-18-2013, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
notyouraccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClickJacker View Post

I had the same thing happen to me a few weeks ago. ended up having to to a clean install do to windows 8 not seeing my raid as an option for safe mode.

So do you think there is a fix for this? Or should I just keep the drivers I have now

notyouraccount is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-18-2013, 12:37 PM
 
ClickJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I haven't looked into any fixes i'm just gonna try my luck with the next driver they release and hope it works.

camera.gifCanon 7D Gripped| Canon 17-40mm f/4L |Canon 50mm | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L | 2x yn-560
embrace that which defines you
ClickJacker is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-18-2013, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
notyouraccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClickJacker View Post

I haven't looked into any fixes i'm just gonna try my luck with the next driver they release and hope it works.

So it'll be fine to run an older driver for the time being

notyouraccount is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-19-2013, 06:59 AM
 
ClickJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by notyouraccount View Post

So it'll be fine to run an older driver for the time being

Yeah as long as you weren't having issues with the older driver it should be fine till the new one comes out.

camera.gifCanon 7D Gripped| Canon 17-40mm f/4L |Canon 50mm | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L | 2x yn-560
embrace that which defines you
ClickJacker is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-19-2013, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
notyouraccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClickJacker View Post

Yeah as long as you weren't having issues with the older driver it should be fine till the new one comes out.

I'm just using the one that came with the CD, 311.06 I believe.

notyouraccount is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-19-2013, 03:31 PM
WaterCooler
 
KuuFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 197
While its fine to use the older drivers, I didn't have an issue using 314.07 with my 580.... Have you tried:

Download driver sweeper off of guru3d
Uninstalling the drivers saving the graphics driver for last. I.E.(HD audio, physix, update, 3d vision, etc...)
Reboot into safe mode. (in windows 8 you press windows + R, run MSCONFIG, boot tab, safe boot minimal.
Restart.
Run driver cleaner.
Uncheck safeboot from MSCONFIG.
Restart.
and install drivers.

see if that works.
KuuFA is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-21-2013, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
PC Gamer
 
notyouraccount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KuuFA View Post

While its fine to use the older drivers, I didn't have an issue using 314.07 with my 580.... Have you tried:

Download driver sweeper off of guru3d
Uninstalling the drivers saving the graphics driver for last. I.E.(HD audio, physix, update, 3d vision, etc...)
Reboot into safe mode. (in windows 8 you press windows + R, run MSCONFIG, boot tab, safe boot minimal.
Restart.
Run driver cleaner.
Uncheck safeboot from MSCONFIG.
Restart.
and install drivers.

see if that works.

Before I try installing more drivers, is there a way to restore the computer from a backup even if the settings are not accessible? Only reason I am asking is because opening the computer up, removing the card and putting the old one in can be a hassle.

notyouraccount is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off