2560x1440p- 660ti 3gbs SLI vs 670 2gbs SLI - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
krown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey, so I have finally decided to pull the trigger and get a 2560x1440p monitor (Dell U2713HM). Currently, I am running a 1.25GB GTX 570 and I know I will not be able to run anything, so it's time to upgrade. In my region, a GTX 660ti 3GB is about $50 cheaper than a GTX 670 2GB. I would like to get the GTX 670, but I'm concerned that the 2GB Vram may not be enough, especially when the new consoles come out.

From the benchmarks I have seen, it seems that when you put on some AA it can sometimes halve the FPS; is this due to a lack of Vram or will this always happen no matter how much Vram you have? At my resolution, would I see any benefit from the additional 1GB of Vram or should I spend the extra $100 and get 670's in SLI? Also,I have been reading a lot about the 192-bit memory interface on the GTX 660 ti being insufficient for 1440p resolution, is this true? and what exactly does it mean? Do you think either of these are a viable solution?

Thanks in advance,

Steam: Krown39
Origin:krown36

krown is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:08 PM
PC Gamer
 
StayFrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manila, The Philippines
Posts: 1,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 92
You should get either a single or a pair 7950s or 7970s instead because they're better for high resolution gaming than Nvidia's cards with their 3GB of VRAM and faster memory bus which means it'll handle higher resolution textures much better than the Nvidia cards would and thus be faster at high resolutions. You simply can't go wrong with either a 7950 or 7970, or a pair of each. thumb.gif

StayFrosty is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:09 PM
WaterCooler
 
Fan o' water's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern Cal
Posts: 1,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I am running 2560x1600 using 2Gb 670's in sli and everything is butter smooth. The most demanding games I own would either be Battlefield 3 or Crysis 2. If you are going the sli route with new cards I'd get the best you can afford.
Perhaps you ought to wait and see how the 570 does - not all games are as demanding as Crysis 3, etc.

Cheers

Fan o' water is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:10 PM
Database Developer
 
hammong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sparks, Maryland, USA
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 447
You're going to need every bit of horsepower you can get for 2560x1440. If the 2GB of VRAM on the GTX 670 bothers you, you could consider a AMD 7950 with 3GB. The 7950 also has 384-bit memory interface, which might help.

When I bought my 30" monitor (2560x1600) I opted for a GTX 680, and eventually went with two of them in SLI.

Greg

hammong is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
krown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by StayFrosty View Post

You should get either a single or a pair 7950s or 7970s instead because they're better for high resolution gaming than Nvidia's cards with their 3GB of VRAM and faster memory bus which means it'll handle higher resolution textures much better than the Nvidia cards would and thus be faster at high resolutions. You simply can't go wrong with either a 7950 or 7970, or a pair of each. thumb.gif

Yea, the AMD route has been picking away at me for some time now. From what I have read, it seems that AMD CFX doesn't scale as well as SLI, the driver support is not as good as Nvidia and that AMD cards seem to have microstutter problems.

Steam: Krown39
Origin:krown36

krown is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:13 PM
Programmer
 
WorldExclusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I'm someone with a 660Ti 3GB SLI 1440p setup and it blows away every game.
Close to GTX 690 stock performance if you OC them(Galaxy is the best model). Just OC the memory and you'll be fine.

I rather not game at all than to use CF again. No thanks.

WorldExclusive is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
krown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I will test out the 570's before I go buy the other cards, but I would just like to do my homework in advance biggrin.gif

With the new consoles coming around the corner, do you think we will have to upgrade? The new killzone for instance looks like Crysis 3 on Medium-high and its still alpha. I know this is a "look in the crystal ball" question, but will games get more demanding for our gpus or become better optimized for our gear? Just something to think about as I am going down this upgrade path.

Steam: Krown39
Origin:krown36

krown is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
krown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldExclusive View Post

I'm someone with a 660Ti 3GB SLI 1440p setup and it blows away every game.
Just OC the memory and you'll be fine.

I rather not game at all than to use CF again. No thanks.

would you mind giving me some ballpark benchmarks your pulling with the 660ti's? In your opinion is the 3gbs of Vram needed or should I grab 2 670's@ 2GBS.

Steam: Krown39
Origin:krown36

krown is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
krown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammong View Post

You're going to need every bit of horsepower you can get for 2560x1440. If the 2GB of VRAM on the GTX 670 bothers you, you could consider a AMD 7950 with 3GB. The 7950 also has 384-bit memory interface, which might help.

When I bought my 30" monitor (2560x1600) I opted for a GTX 680, and eventually went with two of them in SLI.

Greg

It's not so much that 2GBS bothers me as much as if it is enough.

Steam: Krown39
Origin:krown36

krown is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 03-17-2013, 08:25 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by krown View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammong View Post

You're going to need every bit of horsepower you can get for 2560x1440. If the 2GB of VRAM on the GTX 670 bothers you, you could consider a AMD 7950 with 3GB. The 7950 also has 384-bit memory interface, which might help.

When I bought my 30" monitor (2560x1600) I opted for a GTX 680, and eventually went with two of them in SLI.

Greg

It's not so much that 2GBS bothers me as much as if it is enough.

Until the 700 series comes out 2GB is sufficient. I would just get the 660Ti SLI and then upgrade when the next gen comes out. I'm only running 1 of my 680's right now, and with it's 40% core OC it can play BF3 maxed out and get 50-60 fps.

High five for having the same monitor as you. I suggest you go to tftcentral and download their color profile though to get the gamma setup properly.

Quit OCN. Done with overmoderation.
dr/owned is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off