Will the GTX 660 be able to handle Asus 24" VG248QE 144Hz Monitor? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
 
Thuwarakan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am planning on purchasing that gaming monitor will the gtx 660 bottleneck that monitor to achieve 144Hz?
Thuwarakan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 06:51 PM
Overclocker
 
Yungbenny911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 3,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 240
I don't know what you mean by bottleneck, but No, the 660 can handle that monitor fine.

If you want to play your games at 144fps all the time, then it all depends on what games you play, and what settings you are running at. The 660 can handle 1080p MAX settings in most games, SLI that card and you get 100 FPS+ wink.gif.

I play at 120Hz with dual 660's.
Jedson3614 likes this.
Yungbenny911 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 06:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedson3614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vestal NY
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
That is a good question however im not sure you are thinking about that correctly. 144 means it would be your minium on vsync, so it depends on the game in question, your frames can go up to or above 144. With vsync it trys to stay at 144 at minimum or above. So I guess it depends on what games you play, if you think of it that way then sure its a bottleneck. Your monitor will run fine at 144 hz but say crysis 3 with max settigns wont be running at 144, but it will help and me more responsive, but i doubt it will reach 144 fps with that card i could be wrong though becuase I have not benchmarked it.

Jeffrey Edson

OCN Labs Reviewer 

Jedson3614 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 06:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Yeah GTX660 will the the bottleneck for a 144Hz monitor.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
 
Thuwarakan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hmm im kind of confused do i need to have 144+ fps in order to notice 144Hz on the monitor? Or it doesn't really matter about the fps...thinking.gif
Thuwarakan is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
Thuwarakan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The only games i currently play are League of legends and counterstrike. I plan on playing bf3 or even bf4 if possible in a few months once i get a new monitor.
Thuwarakan is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 07:14 PM
 
IBYCFOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
You probably won't be utilizing the full capabilities of your monitor in most games, but the great thing I've found about 120hz+ monitors is that you can tweak the in-game settings and get optimal performance based on your preferences. I've always preferred smooth gameplay over beautiful visuals, so if turning down a few settings nets me a solid 80-120 FPS in a game I'm more than willing to do that as opposed to maxing out a game and getting a consistent 50-60 FPS. With a 60hz monitor, the latter is the best solution, but at 120hz I much prefer aiming for the higher framerates that my monitor can output. Personal preference of course.

But yeah, you're likely going to need to go SLI in the future if you want to get the most out of your new monitor, especially in the upcoming BF4 which should be fairly demanding.

IBYCFOTA is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 07:17 PM
PC Gamer
 
RemagCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
A little of topic, but its on sale at Newegg right now for $270+ shipping.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236313

RemagCP is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Yes you will need 144fps too notice. If you get 60 it will be the same.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 04-22-2013, 08:02 PM
Programmer
 
Yosarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

Yes you will need 144fps to notice. If you get 60 it will be the same.

This ^. I am currently using a GTX 670 on an Asus VG236H and it plays League of legends and Counterstrike (CS, CS:S, CS:GO) over 120 FPS easily.
However BF3 is a different story at Ultra (around 80 - 100 FPS) which is still good but its not using the monitor at its full potential.

Again:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post

You will need 144fps to notice. If you get 60 it will be the same.
Yosarian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off