How do I overclock GFX mem - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
iPDrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 2,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I never really knew much about GFX mem and never seen anything about it when I look up other GFX overclock tutorials or guides. Some people have said that it doesn't actually do anything. other people increase the slider to like +1000 O.o that seems like a lot...
iPDrop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-07-2013, 01:55 AM
 
Xiphos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: offline
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 73
using a program such as evga precision or msi afterburner.
http://images.tweaktown.com/news/2/3/23528_12_download_of_the_day_evga_precision_x_3_0_2_full.jpg

see that slider that says MEMORY CLOCK? slide that to the right by 1 Mhz, and you've just overclocked your GPU memory by 1 Mhz.
iPDrop likes this.

PC vs Mac? A Mac IS a Personal Computer! Don't tell me "It's a distinction that has existed for about 20+ years. PC refers to x86 + Windows and then you have Mac and Linux." Unless you still believe earth is flat.
Xiphos is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-07-2013, 04:23 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Memory overclocking is easy and the way you tell you have hit your max is:

Black/Grey triangles on the screen or disco green lights flashing.

Like Xiphos said, use Precision X or MSI Afterburner.
iPDrop likes this.
Gregster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-07-2013, 04:29 AM
Graphics Card Aficionado
 
Gregster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Essex, England
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregster View Post

Memory overclocking is easy and the way you tell you have hit your max is:

Black/Grey triangles on the screen or disco green lights flashing.

Like Xiphos said, use Precision X or MSI Afterburner.

Edit:

Memory overclocks do help, especially at higher resolutions with higher AA in games. The 680 struggled to keep up with the 7970 the higher the resolution because of the 256bit (192GB/s) Vs 384bit (264GB/s).
iPDrop likes this.
Gregster is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-07-2013, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Intel Overclocker
 
iPDrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 2,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Yeah I knew how to physically do it I just thought there was more to it other than moving that slider up haha. Was really asking about how to judge how much I could go on the clock and how to tell if its unstable or anything, thanks for all the help!
iPDrop is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off