[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Ti Owner's Club - Page 1638 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16371 of 16504 Old 07-12-2016, 09:10 AM
1.3ghz
 
geort45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi guys!

I have a "weird" Gigabyte 780 Ti Windforce.

Model on sticker specifies GV-N78TWF3-3GD. so supposedly it ain't neither an OC nor Ghz version (doesn't say that in the box). OC Guru reports stock 876/928 base/boost clocks however when on high load, it jumps to 1020Mhz! Is this normal?

BIOS 80.80.34.00.2E

My card didn't give me those famous artifacts these cards' users reported several times. However I had been experimenting many hangups (updated to latest nvidia drivers) but ONLY when gaming. When on benchmarks like Furmark or Kombustor, or CUDA 3D rendering in Vray RT, no crashes. I downgraded to the drivers version that came up with the card (362) and it's stable for gaming now.

My issue is I want to sell this card, but I need to be sure it's stable. Would you recommend updatint to a newer BIOS? Newest for this card is 80.80.34.00.72 FC1. However the notes say:

F1, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F2-F9.
F10, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F11-F19.
F20, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F21-F29.

Where do I get this info from?

Thank you!

Cliffs:
Supposedly stock 780 Ti clocks to 1020Mhz
Hangups on games
Recommended to update BIOS or does it worsen situation?

geort45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16372 of 16504 Old 07-13-2016, 06:07 PM
 
David20Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by geort45 View Post

Hi guys!

I have a "weird" Gigabyte 780 Ti Windforce.

Model on sticker specifies GV-N78TWF3-3GD. so supposedly it ain't neither an OC nor Ghz version (doesn't say that in the box). OC Guru reports stock 876/928 base/boost clocks however when on high load, it jumps to 1020Mhz! Is this normal?

BIOS 80.80.34.00.2E

My card didn't give me those famous artifacts these cards' users reported several times. However I had been experimenting many hangups (updated to latest nvidia drivers) but ONLY when gaming. When on benchmarks like Furmark or Kombustor, or CUDA 3D rendering in Vray RT, no crashes. I downgraded to the drivers version that came up with the card (362) and it's stable for gaming now.

My issue is I want to sell this card, but I need to be sure it's stable. Would you recommend updatint to a newer BIOS? Newest for this card is 80.80.34.00.72 FC1. However the notes say:

F1, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F2-F9.
F10, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F11-F19.
F20, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F21-F29.

Where do I get this info from?

Thank you!

Cliffs:
Supposedly stock 780 Ti clocks to 1020Mhz
Hangups on games
Recommended to update BIOS or does it worsen situation?


The FC1 Bios is suppose to add more stability to your card so you could always backup your original Bios and try the new FC1 Bios.
David20Player is offline  
post #16373 of 16504 Old 07-13-2016, 06:10 PM
 
David20Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Does anyone with a GTX 780 Ti own the new Doom game and got a chance to tryout the new Vulkan graphics API yet? I have checked it out and it seems to lower my frame rates by about 20-30 fps when using Vulkan for some reason using the 368.69 drivers, yet on my GTX 980 I gain a tiny bit about 5 fps more when using Vulkan compared to OpenGL 4.5.
David20Player is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16374 of 16504 Old 07-14-2016, 08:55 PM
 
David20Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I did some testing with NVidia's display driver which came out today version 368.81 with DOOM in Vulkan on a GTX 780 Ti and it seems that the performance is maybe 1 or 2 frames per second better than OpenGL. The only issue that I see so far is there seems to be a slight stutter while in Vulkan mode.

Could anyone confirm this?
David20Player is offline  
post #16375 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 07:55 AM
1.3ghz
 
geort45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by David20Player View Post

The FC1 Bios is suppose to add more stability to your card so you could always backup your original Bios and try the new FC1 Bios.

I upgraded my card it became MORE stable, I could game like 30-40 minutes but it froze again (previously I could play like 15 minutes). I have a small LCD which displays some info, I set it up to display GPU frequency, memory usage etc. When it locked it was maxed out at 1020Mhz.

Is there anyway to modify just this overclock? Or what does anyone recommend? This card shouldn't even have a damn overclock it ain't the OC nor GHZ version

Thanks,

geort45 is offline  
post #16376 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 09:58 AM
Extreme Cooler
 
DR4G00N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 1,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by geort45 View Post

I upgraded my card it became MORE stable, I could game like 30-40 minutes but it froze again (previously I could play like 15 minutes). I have a small LCD which displays some info, I set it up to display GPU frequency, memory usage etc. When it locked it was maxed out at 1020Mhz.

Is there anyway to modify just this overclock? Or what does anyone recommend? This card shouldn't even have a damn overclock it ain't the OC nor GHZ version

Thanks,
That's just gpu boost doing it's job, you can turn down the power limit in Evga Precision X to keep it from boosting that high if you want. My OC edition boosted up to 1163MHz from 1020MHz on the stock bios. Does your card have two 8 pin connectors? If so I can give you the bios I'm using on my OC card and see if it makes it any better.
DR4G00N is offline  
post #16377 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 10:10 AM
1.3ghz
 
geort45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR4G00N View Post


That's just gpu boost doing it's job, you can turn down the power limit in Evga Precision X to keep it from boosting that high if you want. My OC edition boosted up to 1163MHz from 1020MHz on the stock bios. Does your card have two 8 pin connectors? If so I can give you the bios I'm using on my OC card and see if it makes it any better.

The card is stock 876 and boost 928 that's why it's weird to me.

Yep the card has two 8-pin connectors. Thanks for the offer but what I want is a more conservative clock, however it may be useful to see what changes you made in Hz and voltages. What software did you use to create your custom BIOS?

Thank you,

geort45 is offline  
post #16378 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 01:12 PM
 
David20Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by geort45 View Post

I upgraded my card it became MORE stable, I could game like 30-40 minutes but it froze again (previously I could play like 15 minutes). I have a small LCD which displays some info, I set it up to display GPU frequency, memory usage etc. When it locked it was maxed out at 1020Mhz.

Is there anyway to modify just this overclock? Or what does anyone recommend? This card shouldn't even have a damn overclock it ain't the OC nor GHZ version

Thanks,


I just created two custom bios's for your video card that you can try.


The one that's inside option 1 has increased voltages while maintaining the same boost clocks of 1020 MHz.

The one that's inside the option 2 folder is basically the stock bios with boost clocks that can only go up to 1006 Mhz.

Please give them a try as I'm sure one of them will help you out.


http://www.mediafire.com/download/qqiv71dai3563jb/Custom+Roms.zip
geort45 likes this.
David20Player is offline  
post #16379 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 02:36 PM
 
DC87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all. Back from vacations and still thinking of solving the warm boot bsod problem while using bios without boost. I don't want to have boost enabled so looking for some solution frown.gif
DC87 is offline  
post #16380 of 16504 Old 07-18-2016, 03:59 PM
1.3ghz
 
geort45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by David20Player View Post

I just created two custom bios's for your video card that you can try.


The one that's inside option 1 has increased voltages while maintaining the same boost clocks of 1020 MHz.

The one that's inside the option 2 folder is basically the stock bios with boost clocks that can only go up to 1006 Mhz.

Please give them a try as I'm sure one of them will help you out.


http://www.mediafire.com/download/qqiv71dai3563jb/Custom+Roms.zip

Hey dude! What to say, thanks a lot man, will try them tonight. +Rep +Beer!

geort45 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off