[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Ti Owner's Club - Page 512 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5111 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 10:55 PM
WaterCooler
 
Jimhans1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Redlands CA
Posts: 2,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandlotje View Post

Hey guys, I'm curious as to the pricing of the Titan vs the 780 TI. Since the 780 TI is a better and faster card @ ~$700, why would anyone in their right mind pick up a Titan for ~ $1000?

I would guess because it is a great compute card also. Just like the 580's and 480's were before it. That's all I can think of honestly.
Jimhans1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5112 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 11:13 PM
 
vicbdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whats the OC headroom under water for a reference GTX 780 TI? i'm hitting 1194mhz under boost right now, stable. Have people hit 1300+ or is the TI already basically at it's max already on air?
vicbdn is offline  
post #5113 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 11:19 PM
Folding Fanatic
 
lowfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicbdn View Post

Whats the OC headroom under water for a reference GTX 780 TI? i'm hitting 1194mhz under boost right now, stable. Have people hit 1300+ or is the TI already basically at it's max already on air?

On water w/ 1.212V I can do 1350MHz all day.
lowfat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5114 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 11:23 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
Bajawah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighTemplar View Post

Sometimes changing to a PSU with less ripple can help, but for the most part the coil whine tends to be come audible at higher frequencies, such as in menus with a particularly high frame rate. This can be tamed a bit by capping your frame rate.

True.

I think in my case it was the card. My PSU is a Corsair AX 1200 and my 680 classy at 1.25v never whined at all (or the 670 FTW before it). Then the 780Ti Ref whined horribly. Now my 780Ti Classy is totally fine.

Oddness.
Bajawah is offline  
post #5115 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 11:27 PM
PC Gamer
 
Tobiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Meh, i really want to jump ship but at $800, it's almost double the asking price of my 780 classy.
Tobiman is offline  
post #5116 of 16504 Old 12-24-2013, 11:36 PM
 
Ovrclck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobiman View Post

Meh, i really want to jump ship but at $800, it's almost double the asking price of my 780 classy.

For me and I can probably speak for everyone else. The full 2880 cuda cores is what sold me.
Ovrclck is offline  
post #5117 of 16504 Old 12-25-2013, 01:53 AM
WaterCooler
 
Jimhans1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Redlands CA
Posts: 2,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGKris View Post

For me and I can probably speak for everyone else. The full 2880 cuda cores is what sold me.


Agreed!!! The true successor to the GTX580 has finally arrived!!!! Now if NVidia would just put the pricing back to where it should have been.mad.gif
Jimhans1 is offline  
post #5118 of 16504 Old 12-25-2013, 01:57 AM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
kimi27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lugansk, Ukraine
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone! I have had many AMD and NV cards and always when the voltage wasn't enough, driver stopped answering. But with my 780Ti another situation. The driver doesn't falls down, it reboots the system. And I'm unable to boot because of BSOD with nvlddmkm.sys. I can't understand why the system reboots instead of falling driver. Before 780Ti i had a 2 different 780GTX and when the voltage was low the driver stooped responding. Sorry for my language, I'm not from English speaking country

i7 2700K@4700, ASUS P8Z68 V Gen3, 2x4Gb Hynix @1866, Inno3D GTX780Ti iChill HerculeZ, SSD Crucial M4 256Gb, ASUS PB278Q
kimi27 is offline  
post #5119 of 16504 Old 12-25-2013, 02:52 AM
 
xabierr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimi27 View Post

Hi everyone! I have had many AMD and NV cards and always when the voltage wasn't enough, driver stopped answering. But with my 780Ti another situation. The driver doesn't falls down, it reboots the system. And I'm unable to boot because of BSOD with nvlddmkm.sys. I can't understand why the system reboots instead of falling driver. Before 780Ti i had a 2 different 780GTX and when the voltage was low the driver stooped responding. Sorry for my language, I'm not from English speaking country

Are you using skynet bios ?

That was happening to me with gb windforce and skynet bios , i had to go back to stock bios. Waiting to see if there is any new bios coming in the future or the next afterburner can fix that problem. the skinet bios i was using was a modified bios of a reference gigabyte . maybe is needed a modified bios from a wimdforce directly ?
xabierr is offline  
post #5120 of 16504 Old 12-25-2013, 03:17 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 3,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabierr View Post

Are you using skynet bios ?

That was happening to me with gb windforce and skynet bios , i had to go back to stock bios. Waiting to see if there is any new bios coming in the future or the next afterburner can fix that problem. the skinet bios i was using was a modified bios of a reference gigabyte . maybe is needed a modified bios from a wimdforce directly ?

If you had AB installed you need to uninstall it first.

I had the same issue with my windforce cards, bsod loop every time I restarted. To fix it I went into safe mode and uninstalled AB, used CCleaner to get all the crap out, then restarted in safe mode and used DDU to uninstall the driver, restart and install fresh driver and I've had no issues since.

You MUST uninstall AB, especially if you have it starting on boot and minimizing. AB doesn't work properly on 780ti, it causes many issues, better off with Precision.

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
Joeking78 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off