[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Ti Owner's Club - Page 749 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7481 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 12:18 PM
Let's assume my username is VSG, not geggeg
 
geggeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 816
geggeg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7482 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 12:18 PM
 
jezzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheyster View Post

I'm not really too surprised. My last Firestrike score was around 10,100 which is quite a bit higher than a reference 780 ti (no OC). I'm on the fence about upgrading; not sure it's worth the trouble. Still undecided however. rolleyes.gifwink.gif

Please post your opinion once you've had a chance to play a few games with the new setup.

The price difference between the 780 dcii i had and the Ti i have now is more than 200$ seeing now that in benchmarks the 780 dcii kinda destroys the reference 780 Ti and is amazingly close to my reference Ti even when the Ti is fully overclocked with +200 core and + 300 mem i would say no.

I already sold one of my 780s, thats not a real prob as in my future itx build i can only put one card but seriously considering returning the Ti now.

Its kinda hard btw to test the games as i played most games with 780 sli and not with a single card so i kinda have no reference to compair it with frown.gif

George Makris - Corsair
Quote:
...hey u know, we are the cool kids and u are just the new guy and get the hell out of our cool club.
jezzer is offline  
post #7483 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 12:46 PM
 
h2spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakakakaka View Post

I've tested a little regarding CPU influence. These are my results on an i7 860 CPU:

First:

4.1 GHz - HT On (4 cores, 8 threads)
GPU 1300mhz - 3750mhz @ 1.212V
Valley Extreme HD: 77.3 fps

Second:

4.45 GHz - HT Off (4 cores, 4 threads)
GPU 1300mhz - 3750mhz @ 1.212V
Valley Extreme HD: 78.9 fps

It's not a huge difference, but overall seemed smoother as well. I think CPU has an influence, but maybe too high clocks might adversely affect performance? Or other programs running in the background. Or even multimonitor usage?? Didn't test that. I have 2 monitors active atm.

Hmmm I'm going to have to test with HT off vs. on and see what differences I have. Wonder if running Valley with HT off would benefit from that.

h2spartan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7484 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 12:53 PM
333mhz
 
Camberwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakakakaka View Post

I've tested a little regarding CPU influence. These are my results on an i7 860 CPU:

First:

4.1 GHz - HT On (4 cores, 8 threads)
GPU 1300mhz - 3750mhz @ 1.212V
Valley Extreme HD: 77.3 fps

Second:

4.45 GHz - HT Off (4 cores, 4 threads)
GPU 1300mhz - 3750mhz @ 1.212V
Valley Extreme HD: 78.9 fps

It's not a huge difference, but overall seemed smoother as well. I think CPU has an influence, but maybe too high clocks might adversely affect performance? Or other programs running in the background. Or even multimonitor usage?? Didn't test that. I have 2 monitors active atm.
Just out of curiousity, do you have your cores unparked? On my i7 it made a huge difference when running with ht on, although I'm afraid I don't have the results to hand to provide actual figures....

Camberwell is offline  
post #7485 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 12:58 PM
 
h2spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Do many reference 780tis get to 1400mhz core clock at 1.21v? I feel like my card has a lot to give especially since im still on 1.175 and going. I want to eventually work my way to that.

h2spartan is offline  
post #7486 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 01:00 PM
 
h2spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camberwell View Post

Just out of curiousity, do you have your cores unparked? On my i7 it made a huge difference when running with ht on, although I'm afraid I don't have the results to hand to provide actual figures....

This. Unparking cores is a must. Not just for benching but gaming also.

h2spartan is offline  
post #7487 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 01:13 PM
Let's assume my username is VSG, not geggeg
 
geggeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 816
geggeg is online now  
post #7488 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 01:14 PM
 
h2spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

Well I would not take that as a golden rule, some games like BF4 have been reported to be unstable by some users with unparked cores on i5 and i7 haswell chips.

But games like BF4 were unstable to begin with. tongue.gif

h2spartan is offline  
post #7489 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 01:24 PM
 
iluvkfc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

Are your clocks stable throughout the FS run? Still strange though- FSE would have throttled clocks much more!
I just realized I had adaptative vsync on during the whole testing process. But I have a Qnix QX2710 at 110 Hz and neither benchmark hits 110 fps anyway. Anyhow, I will re-run the bench without any vsync.

iluvkfc is offline  
post #7490 of 16504 Old 02-14-2014, 01:27 PM
 
h2spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I have a dumb question. Would it affect performance in any way if I turned my monitor to 60hz instead of 120hz while running any benchmark? I'm guessing no affect whatsoever.

h2spartan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off