[Official] NVIDIA GTX 970 Owner's Club - Page 1945 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19441 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:08 PM
Commodore 64
 
xblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel74 View Post

that box looks oddly familiar
best buy exclusive?
3979-kb??

https://www.evga.com/products/Specs/GPU.aspx?pn=e62b059f-ead9-4f90-a4d1-49c3df7ed0b1

the card is $320 on tigerdirect/newegg or more everywhere else, extremely happy that I got it for $250


I went to go install windows 10 from the ISO i downloaded from microsoft, i guess microsoft decided to download a russian 32bit iso for me instead of the 64 bit english one that I picked. frown.gif now to wait for my 4mbit internet to redownload it mad.gif
xblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19442 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:24 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
DeathAngel74 is offline  
post #19443 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:27 PM
 
Vellinious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatygun View Post

ASIC means nothing tho, i had 2x 290's before my 970, and my 60 or so asci rated 290 overclocked better then mine 80 asci version.

My current 970 has 74,1% so nothing to bad, and runs stable at 1500/1800 ( didn't test any further yet ) as it's really all the performance i need in the games i play atm. But yea overclocking on these cards in comparison towards 290's is so much more better through way lesser heat.
hehe i had the same issue with my motherboard, sold it for 60 euro's bougth a second handed for 40 euro's that featured sli + offers oc genie which pushes my cpu forwards. Good trade haha and works well.

ASIC quality absolutely matters. Especially with Maxwell. Sure, there are about a billion different things that play into it as well....voltage restrictions, power limit restrictions, quality of components, component manufacturer, etc....but as for the GPU itself, if you have a low ASIC card, it will take more voltage to run the same clock that a high ASIC card will run with less volts. Is that the case with every single card? No, because there are other things in play...but to say it doesn't matter is just foolish on a level that's hard to comprehend.

CPU: Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.080ghz MB: ASUS Crosshair VI Mem: 32GB GSkill TridentZ 3200
GPU: 1080 FTW PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000P2 SSD: 512GB Samsung 950 Pro
HD: 2 x 1TB WD Black in RAID 0 Cooling: Custom cooling loop on CPU and GPU OS: Dual Boot 7 and 10
Vellinious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19444 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 163
I would like to flash my bios in order to raise the power limit because i have a good scic quality card for air cooling but i am limited by the power limit.

What programs do i need in order to flash bios and tweak it?
hurricane28 is online now  
post #19445 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:34 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
^^^This
I have a 970 that's 76%. I had it backwards, trying to push 1.31v and 400W. All it needed was 1.2500V and a little under 300W. But that was due to my own ignorance.
DeathAngel74 is offline  
post #19446 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:36 PM
Commodore 64
 
xblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel74 View Post

o_O 6pin+8pin..Lucky!!

just curious, whats lucky about that? my PSU has 2x 6+2 connectors, so I should be good.
xblue is offline  
post #19447 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:44 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
my card only has 2 6pins, your card has a 6pin and a 6+2pin(8)=more power to your card. the comment was not directed to your PSU. Sorry...lol. I guess I should elaborate better
DeathAngel74 is offline  
post #19448 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hurricane28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel74 View Post

^^^This
I have a 970 that's 76%. I had it backwards, trying to push 1.31v and 400W. All it needed was 1.2500V and a little under 300W. But that was due to my own ignorance.

I don't quite understand what you said.

I know from my former card that its not the voltage but the power limit that limits the card.. I only want to change power limit to 200 or 300 to prevent the card from trotting.
hurricane28 is online now  
post #19449 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellinious View Post

ASIC quality absolutely matters. Especially with Maxwell. Sure, there are about a billion different things that play into it as well....voltage restrictions, power limit restrictions, quality of components, component manufacturer, etc....but as for the GPU itself, if you have a low ASIC card, it will take more voltage to run the same clock that a high ASIC card will run with less volts. Is that the case with every single card? No, because there are other things in play...but to say it doesn't matter is just foolish on a level that's hard to comprehend.

Well i tested both 290's and which a difference on 20 asci from eachother. The higher asci only got towards 1215/1400 stable on max voltage, and the lower one got me to 1200/1700 ( memory could even be pushed higher ) stable.

Difference on performance was drastical to say the least with memory clocked higher, the gpu core results didn't really effect much. So yea i based my conclusions on that. Dunno about maxwell tho.

gatygun is offline  
post #19450 of 26275 Old 10-21-2015, 02:01 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellinious View Post

ASIC quality absolutely matters. Especially with Maxwell. Sure, there are about a billion different things that play into it as well....voltage restrictions, power limit restrictions, quality of components, component manufacturer, etc....but as for the GPU itself, if you have a low ASIC card, it will take more voltage to run the same clock that a high ASIC card will run with less volts. Is that the case with every single card? No, because there are other things in play...but to say it doesn't matter is just foolish on a level that's hard to comprehend.

76% ASIC. i was trying to push more power and voltage than what was necessary to achieve the same clock speeds
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off