[Official] NVIDIA GTX 970 Owner's Club - Page 1957 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19561 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 01:25 AM
 
Vellinious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeno1 View Post

I'm number 2 WITH an i5 760. I bet I can get number 1 easy as im not at 1.275 yet.
http://www.3dmark.com/search#/?mode=advanced&url=/proxycon/ajax/search/cpugpu/fs/P/1146/982/500000?minScore=0&gpuName=NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970&cpuName=Intel Core i5-760 Processor
Edited by Xeno1 - 10/19/15 at 10:13pm View History

Not too bad at all, man. The older motherboard may be holding the graphics score back a little bit, but, still a VERY good score.

This is the highest I ever got with the core at 1624 and memory at 2000.
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6266107

CPU: Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.080ghz MB: ASUS Crosshair VI Mem: 32GB GSkill TridentZ 3200
GPU: 1080 FTW PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000P2 SSD: 512GB Samsung 950 Pro
HD: 2 x 1TB WD Black in RAID 0 Cooling: Custom cooling loop on CPU and GPU OS: Dual Boot 7 and 10
Vellinious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19562 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 01:30 AM
 
Vellinious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane28 View Post

More cores doesn't mean higher scores in Fire strike per say, its the core speed that counts. At 4.8 GHz my highest score is around 9500 while at 5.2 GHz i achieved around 10300.. Also RAM speed is very important and can add a few hundred points going from 1866 to 2400 MHz.. Its not all about pure core speed but more if you have an balanced system. 4.8 GHz CPU with 2400 MHz RAM scores higher than 4.8 GHz 1866 MHz RAM.

I just did an physics run and i could see that the CPU is only loaded for 90%.. so there is 10% that isn't utilized.. Some cores are only loaded for 89%..




See, that's the difference.

Well, of course core speed means higher scores, but so does core count. Run a Haswell 4690k at 4.4ghz through Firestrike physics test, then run a 4790k at 4.4ghz and look at the difference in the test. The difference? 4 more threads for the 4790k. Cores count... = ) Hell, for that matter, the 4790k has a higher IPC at 4.4ghz than the 5820k at 4.4ghz, but....the 5820k at 4.4ghz is gonna OWN that 4790k for the physics test. Why? Core count...

It's not even really in dispute. Sorry.

CPU: Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.080ghz MB: ASUS Crosshair VI Mem: 32GB GSkill TridentZ 3200
GPU: 1080 FTW PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000P2 SSD: 512GB Samsung 950 Pro
HD: 2 x 1TB WD Black in RAID 0 Cooling: Custom cooling loop on CPU and GPU OS: Dual Boot 7 and 10
Vellinious is offline  
post #19563 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 04:10 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
CPU + GPU make the largest impact on firestrike. Specially in sli/crossfire you will need a beast of a cpu to get any decent overal score at all.

I had with 2x 290's, about 14000 overal points but 24k graphical points. I would get 6k more points if i had a faster cpu lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellinious View Post

Not too bad at all, man. The older motherboard may be holding the graphics score back a little bit, but, still a VERY good score.

This is the highest I ever got with the core at 1624 and memory at 2000.
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6266107

Dat physic score god dam.

gatygun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19564 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 04:46 AM
Audiophile
 
volegradele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Croatia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yes , I raised the CPU clock , and physic score is much better,and ofcr. overall score to!


AUDIOFIL
volegradele is offline  
post #19565 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 10:55 AM
 
Vellinious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Man...you CAN run Elpida up high. Just gotta keep them REALLY COOL. Here's a Heaven run at 1586 / 4205


CPU: Ryzen 5 1600X @ 4.080ghz MB: ASUS Crosshair VI Mem: 32GB GSkill TridentZ 3200
GPU: 1080 FTW PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000P2 SSD: 512GB Samsung 950 Pro
HD: 2 x 1TB WD Black in RAID 0 Cooling: Custom cooling loop on CPU and GPU OS: Dual Boot 7 and 10
Vellinious is offline  
post #19566 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 12:09 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
@blaze2210,
What the best driver for gtx 970 and Windows 10? Gonna attempt a clean install today. I noticed Windows decided to install 353.82 quadro driver set....Is the procedure still the same as 8.1? enable test mode and force driver signing off?
DeathAngel74 is offline  
post #19567 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 12:53 PM
 
Xeno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellinious View Post

Not too bad at all, man. The older motherboard may be holding the graphics score back a little bit, but, still a VERY good score.

This is the highest I ever got with the core at 1624 and memory at 2000.
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6266107
yeah the newest Bios for the Mobo is 3 years old .the Chipset Drivers are old as hell too. Thanks for the help too.I cant figure this out alone.thumb.gif

Case Antec 902 MOBO EVGA P55 SLI A74 Bios
PSU Antec BP550Plus 444wt 12v rail VIDEO EVGA 970 SSC 2.0+ Model 3975 1540/ 8280 149% PWR 1.262 VDDC 65% ASIC
CPU i5 760 @ 3.911GHZ 1.23125 vcore 1.2vtt vDroop off CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper N520
Ram Corsair CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 2x4GB @ 1490 MHz, 11-11-11-29 CR 2T 1.55v
Monitor Dell CRT 19 in SSD Crucial BX100 250GB OS Win 7 64
Valley 2849 FIRESTRIKE 13686 GRAPHICS SCORE http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6236983 So much for Elipda being trash
Xeno1 is offline  
post #19568 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blaze2210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel74 View Post

@blaze2210,
What the best driver for gtx 970 and Windows 10? Gonna attempt a clean install today. I noticed Windows decided to install 353.82 quadro driver set....Is the procedure still the same as 8.1? enable test mode and force driver signing off?

To be honest, I've been hopping around on drivers, and I haven't seen much of a difference between them in terms of stability. Currently, I'm on the latest one that you linked to - 358.78. I've been running around in Splinter Cell Blacklist with no issues. I'm getting a little tired of the sneaking around though, so I'm trying to think of what else I want to play.

"I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you."

gftgy: "We're here to help, but you have to be willing to help yourself."

TwoCables: "I apologize for not simply giving you the answer you wanted, but if you give a man a fish, then you feed him for a day. However, if you teach a man how to fish, then you feed him for the rest of his life."


blaze2210 is online now  
post #19569 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 01:05 PM
Commodore 64
 
moccor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze2210 View Post

To be honest, I've been hopping around on drivers, and I haven't seen much of a difference between them in terms of stability. Currently, I'm on the latest one that you linked to - 358.78. I've been running around in Splinter Cell Blacklist with no issues. I'm getting a little tired of the sneaking around though, so I'm trying to think of what else I want to play.

I am not disagreeing with your experience, though I don't think Splinter Cell is a good game to test, possibly not even a good game to test even if running with 4K DSR. Previous drivers I've ran GTA5, many benchmarks, Witcher 3 and some other games fine. I'm on the newest driver and this silly game Resident Evil Revelations 2 gave my overclock + undervolt a problem haha. I think that was without 4K DSR too and RE games are by no means demanding, I'm sure its the driver + Windows 10. Didn't revert to a driver to test it though cuz I just want to play a game, if I need the performance I will do that though.

moccor is offline  
post #19570 of 26275 Old 10-25-2015, 01:05 PM
PC Gamer
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 267
ok ,cool thanks. gpu-z says 353.82 quadro and nvidia installer says 358.78
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off