[Official] nVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X Owners Club - Page 1771 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17701 of 18294 Old 06-07-2016, 02:01 PM
2.4ghz
 
Asus11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by superkyle1721 View Post

If I may make a suggestion...if you have to original bios with your card you really should be using that and not any other bios that is listed. When altering bios it is not good to flash a non stock bios. You should only be using them for reference and altering your stock bios to match it. If you are uncomfortable doing so then please post your stock unaltered bios along with the bios you like the most and I'll alter it for you. If you have been using non stock bios then this very will is prob the issue.


Always destroying exergy

the thing is I bought the card used, and the bios I found on the card was different from the manufacturer the seller told me

so im kind of stuck on that part tongue.gif


nearly every gpu ive had has had a custom bios with no faults

this bios im on atm seems great so far but thank you the suggestion tongue.gif
Asus11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17702 of 18294 Old 06-07-2016, 02:46 PM
 
GnarlyCharlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I was under the impression that all TitanX cards are technically reference cards, so there aren't pitfalls of running a different bios in any TitanX, not like the 980Ti where there are many aftermarket and reference designs that may not operate properly with the incorrect bios loaded.

If winning were easy, losers would do it.

It's got Async Compute, it's got what plants crave!
GnarlyCharlie is offline  
post #17703 of 18294 Old 06-07-2016, 02:50 PM
2.4ghz
 
Asus11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnarlyCharlie View Post

I was under the impression that all TitanX cards are technically reference cards, so there aren't pitfalls of running a different bios in any TitanX, not like the 980Ti where there are many aftermarket and reference designs that may not operate properly with the incorrect bios loaded.

I think this is correct

btw
anyone with a gigabyte xtreme bios ?

biggrin.gif
Asus11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17704 of 18294 Old 06-07-2016, 04:13 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
superkyle1721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by GnarlyCharlie View Post

I was under the impression that all TitanX cards are technically reference cards, so there aren't pitfalls of running a different bios in any TitanX, not like the 980Ti where there are many aftermarket and reference designs that may not operate properly with the incorrect bios loaded.
You could very well be right I'm not a Titan X owner but a 980TI owner so I wasn't aware of that redface.gif so I take it back then my bad I post that out of habit. So many people complain that their card acts funny after flashing a bios not made for their card it's become my go to post haha.


Always destroying exergy

superkyle1721 is offline  
post #17705 of 18294 Old 06-09-2016, 12:21 PM
WaterCooler
 
s74r1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
got a email thread subscription to a post that doesn't exist anymore regarding 368.39 drivers showing fps drop. can anyone confirm? or maybe post was deleted if poster realized his results were wrong or not under same conditions?
Quote:
Avoid 368.39 driver... it sucks so hard.

Doom 1080
368.22 - 368.39
140 92
Shadow of Mordor 1440
80 71
Overwatch 1440
81 54
s74r1 is offline  
post #17706 of 18294 Old 06-10-2016, 12:44 AM
Programmer
 
toncij's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by s74r1 View Post

got a email thread subscription to a post that doesn't exist anymore regarding 368.39 drivers showing fps drop. can anyone confirm? or maybe post was deleted if poster realized his results were wrong or not under same conditions?

I deleted that. I did a full reinstall again after that, two times, the last time it came back to normal. I still feel there is some worse performance in Overwatch (more serious frame drops) and some hickups with texture streaming in Doom, but now it's within understandable limits of 3%.

It may very well be just a problem with the first driver upgrade (although it was a clean one the first time).

My GPUsWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
3dfx Voodoo, 2x3dfx Voodoo 2, Voodoo 3, Creative Riva TNT 2 Ultra, GeForce 256, ATi Radeon 3D Rage Fury MAXX, GeForce 2 Ultra, ATi Radeon DDR 7500, ATi Radeon 8500, ATi Radeon 9000 Pro, ATi Radeon 9800 XT, ATi Radeon X600 XT, ATi Radeon X850 XT, GeForce 8800GTX, ATi Radeon X1650 XT, GeForce GTX 280, ATi Radeon HD 2900XT, ATi Radeon HD 3870 X2, GeForce GTX 480, ATi Radeon HD 7970 (x2), GeForce GTX 780Ti, GeForce Titan Black (x4), GeForce 970 (x2), GeForce Titan X (x19), AMD RadeonProDuo (x2), GeForce 1080 (x2), Titan X (Pascal) (x2), EVGA FTW 1080 (x2), Quadro P6000 (x2), 1080Ti FE (x2), Titan Xp (x2), TITAN V+ 1080Ti (x2)
toncij is offline  
post #17707 of 18294 Old 06-11-2016, 08:29 AM
 
Deimosian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So... I finally got my EK block on my Titan X late last night / early this morning and in my excitement from being able to run it maxed out with hardly any increase in temp I immediately tried flashing the BIOS with the instructions on the first page... and now it's dead.

First thing I did was download NVFlash_Certs_Bypassed_v5.287_x64 and GM200SC-425.rom and tried the drag and drop method, sounded super easy. It wouldn't go, PCIE ID mismatch, so I ran it from an admin command prompt with the -6 flag. It flashed... but even after a restart only displayed a black screen. So I pulled it out of its slot, booted and changed my primary monitor to my iGPU and went to have a look. Titan X still there, shows Code 43 in device manager. So I'm like *** and go looking for a stock bios to reflash (I was an idiot and did not back mine up.) and found one on TechPowerUp. It flashes, but no change.

Halp. Please. I can't afford another GPU right now :'(
Deimosian is offline  
post #17708 of 18294 Old 06-11-2016, 08:40 AM
 
unreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Maybe you have one of the newer BIOSes where you cant flash and "old" one. I had this problem too, but it still made an output to my monitor besides an "!" in device manager.

You should be able to reflash the card with your iGPU nevertheless. How new/old is the card? Maybe the first flash just went wrong. Just retry! Maybe also use the nvflash version in post #1 not the newest version.
unreality is offline  
post #17709 of 18294 Old 06-11-2016, 08:46 AM
 
Deimosian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Newer cards can't be flashed? Like, at all? That sucks. My card is relatively new I think. If it means anything my card's got... EEPROM ID (C2,2012) : MX MX25L2005 2.7-3.6V 2048Kx1S

I'll try using the older version of nvflash v5.206 from the first post.
Deimosian is offline  
post #17710 of 18294 Old 06-11-2016, 08:50 AM
 
unreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes you can flash newer cards, but you need to use a "new" Bios for it. The BIOS of the newer cards are like 5KB bigger in filesize if i remember correctly.
unreality is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off