[Official] Nvidia GTX 980 Ti Owners Club - Page 887 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8861 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 07:40 PM
 
pctechguyzach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZWingerRyRy View Post

Should run the new benchmark from 3dmark, that's a old one.

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/8989124

this one? did alright for a single, Waiting for a second classy card + water blocks.
pctechguyzach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8862 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 08:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sticks435's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KCMO
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Hey guys, maybe there is a better thread for this, but is there a way to increase the max voltage without setting it to a single value when in max 3d clocks? My stock voltage only goes up to 1.237 and I'd like to increase the range, but still allow me to move it up and down while I test for my max overclock. I've been in MBT and compared my stock bios with some on the first page and in this thread: http://www.overclock.net/t/1522651/disable-boost-and-bake-in-max-game-stable-clocks-for-maxwell and the settings for voltage seem to differ. The BIOS's on the first page only change the first 2 rows on the voltage tab, while that link recommends changing the first 4, plus a bunch further down. The 980Ti's don't appear to have rows 2 and 3. I'm thinking that just setting row 1 to the max voltage I want and leaving everything else in the table the same might do this? I've got a 980Ti Hybrid, so not sure what max safe voltage is. 1.25 maybe?

sticks435 is offline  
post #8863 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 09:20 PM
 
jamalgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Still learning here but...

I just received my evga 980 ti to replace an sli 970 ftw setup. (I sold my sli setup for basically full retail and bought a 4k tv recently, thus the move to a 980 ti which will soon be sli as well)

But I am learning about a custom bios. I did set up a custom one from the first post done by shyster to increase the voltage and then went into afterburner to see what it could do
3d mark
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6282796
settings
hwmonitor

afterburner


Can I do better? Am I missing anything, Is the card maxed out?
Any and all input (positive) is much appreciated, Thanks
jamalgq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8864 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 09:55 PM
 
dcatvn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, I received a Galax 980 Ti oc as a gift, and now I want to get another 980 Ti for sli.

But I don't want another Galax, I prefer EVGA, will this work with 2 different brands?

Thank you
dcatvn is offline  
post #8865 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 10:51 PM
 
FreeElectron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcatvn View Post

Hi guys, I received a Galax 980 Ti oc as a gift, and now I want to get another 980 Ti for sli.

But I don't want another Galax, I prefer EVGA, will this work with 2 different brands?

Thank you
As long as it is the same GPU and VRAM size then, yes it will work.
People also recommended the Gigabyte 980 Ti G1

FreeElectron is offline  
post #8866 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 11:02 PM
WaterCooler
 
james41382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticks435 View Post

Hey guys, maybe there is a better thread for this, but is there a way to increase the max voltage without setting it to a single value when in max 3d clocks? My stock voltage only goes up to 1.237 and I'd like to increase the range, but still allow me to move it up and down while I test for my max overclock. I've been in MBT and compared my stock bios with some on the first page and in this thread: http://www.overclock.net/t/1522651/disable-boost-and-bake-in-max-game-stable-clocks-for-maxwell and the settings for voltage seem to differ. The BIOS's on the first page only change the first 2 rows on the voltage tab, while that link recommends changing the first 4, plus a bunch further down. The 980Ti's don't appear to have rows 2 and 3. I'm thinking that just setting row 1 to the max voltage I want and leaving everything else in the table the same might do this? I've got a 980Ti Hybrid, so not sure what max safe voltage is. 1.25 maybe?

As long as your temps aren't getting out of control you can up the voltage. The BIOS you linked is for a 980 not a 980Ti, but I believe those additional rows are because it's an unlocked version of the BIOS from an MSI card.

50 Million+ Folding at Home points 

james41382 is offline  
post #8867 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 11:28 PM
 
jamalgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I started getting closer . I ran DDU and reinstalled the drivers from scratch
http://www.3dmark.com/compare/sd/3449512/sd/3363968
The 980 ti went up about 8k in the score! but is still falling below my old 970 ftw

please help I really appreciate it
jamalgq is offline  
post #8868 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 11:36 PM
Networking Nut
 
cookiesowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micko View Post


I have MSI 980 Ti Gaming which has its first throttle point at 63C. However, if I add +40mV in Afterburner (1.224V), first throttle point doesn't happen until 71C ! If the room temp is not not higher than 25C, card will almost never reach it. I have to keep my fan curve steep though - 50% up to 40C and 100% at 65C.

Interesting thing is that if I max the voltage (+87mV), first throttle point will once again go back to 63C.


Seems normal.

Nvidia has some pretty trick stuff in its voltage tables that MBE doesn't show you.

The throttling point seems logical, because the more volts you give it, the less headroom you have for thermal until you may start degrading the silicon. 63C seems reasonable when your overvolting by +87.

cookiesowns is offline  
post #8869 of 16238 Old 10-21-2015, 11:51 PM
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Greenslopes, Queensland, Australia (Ex-Germany, Mannheim)
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
TONSCHUH is offline  
post #8870 of 16238 Old 10-22-2015, 12:03 AM
 
crazysoccerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiesowns View Post

you may start degrading the silicon

source?
crazysoccerman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off