[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1080 Owner's Club - Page 222 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2211 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 12:43 PM
PC Gamer
 
KillerBee33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Krooklyn, Zoo York
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2cam View Post

H105, highest temp I have seen was 40c
Nice , NZXT bracket?
KillerBee33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2212 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 12:44 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romir View Post

I just wanted to report the Koolance GPU-220 universal gpu block works perfectly with the FE. The mounting bolts are thin enough to fit through both the stock backplate and the cooling plate holes.

After 15m in the Witcher 3 I observed 31c gpu temps at stock and then 34c when overclocked. Even at those temps my card isn't stable beyond 2139mhz in games. Underwhelming, but fully expected.

I actually had to adjust my radiator fan profiles because the air water deltaT wasn't rising above 5c with one 480mm radiator cooling it. That kept the fans on the second 480 from spinning up.


Im wondering if you can measure the space as i have a ek supremacy vga (49.5mm all around) for i,t but i dont know if i have to shave some metal to make it fit

zGunBLADEz is offline  
post #2213 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 12:49 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post

About the DPC issue

Do you guys have HPET Enabled ? it seems HPET Enabled fix the issue . The first jump to 1530+ always happens when I start Latencymon, must be something with the power saving of the 1080 . but it doesn't jump to extreme 10000 anymore.






I'm still checking , but I don't see the high jumps anymore !

So whoever is with 1080 must enable HPET , I don't know why, must be they changed something with the pascal to have better timings




So with the bios settings you see in my sig , I don't have the DPC issue and I don't have the Idle Clock issue with the 1080. The throttling issue must happen because Cpu Power Duty Control - Extreme and not T.Probe or Cpu Power Phase Control - Extreme and not optimized. that's what I think from all the tests. I didn't have issue for 7 days when I use same kinds of settings which I don't remember exactly , but I didn't use the Extreme on Cpu Power Phase Control , when I did I think the problem occured. so it's not 100% nvidia problem, it might be just heat on the motherboard..

still have the issue with hpet on here

zGunBLADEz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2214 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 12:50 PM
 
mr2cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBee33 View Post

Nice , NZXT bracket?

Yes sir, I keep it relatively cool in my computer room also, I like it at about 70F. The 1080 seems to run quite a bit cooler then my 980ti, im guessing because of low amount of power, but I figured with the smaller dye that it would even out, guess not

mr2cam is offline  
post #2215 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 12:54 PM
PC Gamer
 
KillerBee33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Krooklyn, Zoo York
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2cam View Post

Yes sir, I keep it relatively cool in my computer room also, I like it at about 70F. The 1080 seems to run quite a bit cooler then my 980ti, im guessing because of low amount of power, but I figured with the smaller dye that it would even out, guess not
Heh 70c thats Winter temps.. Well i keep fishing but it looks like i might wait for EVGA AIO , i want to try and keep the whole reference design with some Dremeling wink.gif
KillerBee33 is offline  
post #2216 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 01:17 PM
 
mr2cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBee33 View Post

Heh 70c thats Winter temps.. Well i keep fishing but it looks like i might wait for EVGA AIO , i want to try and keep the whole reference design with some Dremeling wink.gif

Ya I took an MSI Armor card and put the G10 bracket on it, was extremely simple.

mr2cam is offline  
post #2217 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 01:29 PM
PC Gamer
 
KillerBee33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Krooklyn, Zoo York
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2cam View Post

Ya I took an MSI Armor card and put the G10 bracket on it, was extremely simple.
1080 is a lot thinner than 980 so i'm hoping for EVGA releasing a smaller pump rolleyes.gif
If not than H90 and NZXT Kraken , really wanted to keep Reference look.
KillerBee33 is offline  
post #2218 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 02:30 PM
WaterCooler
 
pphx459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SOCAL and Miami
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3
anyone having issues with their screen not automatically turning off after the set time with the 1080's?
pphx459 is offline  
post #2219 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: on a lake that is erie
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr2cam View Post

Does anyone else notice that the cooler your card runs, the less voltage it requires? Is that the way GPU boost 3.0 works?

well heat adds resistance which could require more voltage; that then adds more heat . . wouldn't be surprised if boost 3.0 takes advantage of the reverse.


"Name as many uses for a brick as you can in one minute." - interview at graphics-chip maker Nvidia for a campaign-manager job
Fermi: it's better to burn out than fade away.
Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
looniam is online now  
post #2220 of 11239 Old 07-05-2016, 03:05 PM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

Im wondering if you can measure the space as i have a ek supremacy vga (49.5mm all around) for it but i dont know if i have to shave some metal to make it fit

47.65mm as measured with my calipers just now. The Koolance GPU-220 is 45mm.

BTW, my MCW82 base measures at 49mm wide and I'm not sure if a MCW60's raised core area would clear the plate.
zGunBLADEz likes this.

Romir is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off