[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1080 Owner's Club - Page 42 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #411 of 11239 Old 06-02-2016, 06:37 PM
 
Derpinheimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mouacyk View Post

Hardware Locked to 1.25v: source http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?p=447721#post447721
Yeah I mean on water or air though? 2500 LN2 ok, but what about the 99.99%? tongue.gif
Derpinheimer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #412 of 11239 Old 06-02-2016, 06:43 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
MrDerrikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would it be possible to bypass/short out the power limit part of the PCB? I saw an interesting video yesterday of a guy suggesting this is possible on the 1080 to bypass that particular limitation.

"Those who wish to play the game have but to stop and shout."
MrDerrikk is offline  
post #413 of 11239 Old 06-02-2016, 06:54 PM
 
Testier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiriva View Post

I sat mine to +300 to reach 2200, needless to say im pretty happy with it so far smile.gif
What did you set ur memory too ? i havent touched mine yet.

Whats your ASIC rating?

I am thinking with the hard locked voltage, higher ASIC cards might be preferable.

Testier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #414 of 11239 Old 06-02-2016, 08:23 PM
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Testier View Post

Whats your ASIC rating?

I am thinking with the hard locked voltage, higher ASIC cards might be preferable.

ASIC not supported by GPU-Z

20 Million+ Folding at Home points 

TK421 is offline  
post #415 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 05:11 AM
 
Neon Lights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiriva View Post

I sat mine to +300 to reach 2200, needless to say im pretty happy with it so far smile.gif
What did you set ur memory too ? i havent touched mine yet.

Do you get 2200 game-stable?

Also, have you tried to reduce the memory clock in order to get a higher GPU clock (doing so more power becomes available to the GPU and I have seen that a few people have achieved higher GPU clocks that way)?
Neon Lights is offline  
post #416 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 05:15 AM
 
Neon Lights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried to short the shunt resistors (perhaps by using Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra liquid metal thermal paste) (video: https://youtu.be/p_2_iCCesxI) in order to get more power to the GPU?
Neon Lights is offline  
post #417 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 05:23 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
SweWiking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of ice
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiriva View Post

Okay so on air the card boosted up to ~1920mhz with the fan spinning as nuts and the temp was around 65-70C, on water it boosted 1990mhz and, then i decided to overclock it some:


2202mhz on the frist try, didnt try higher yet, but so far no weird grafical errors or such. Been letting it run valley bench ar this speed for about 40mins

Darn 2200mhz seems like a kickass card you got there! What did you end up setting your mem too ? I really hope id get such a card too smile.gif
SweWiking is offline  
post #418 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 07:28 AM
WaterCooler
 
Spiriva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sweden
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neon Lights View Post

Do you get 2200 game-stable?

Also, have you tried to reduce the memory clock in order to get a higher GPU clock (doing so more power becomes available to the GPU and I have seen that a few people have achieved higher GPU clocks that way)?

Yes im running it 2200 (+300 in AB) in games, well atleast so far. Played Doom this morning for almost an hour w/o any problems. The card never goes above 34C, and sits stable at 2202mhz.
So far i just put the memory to +300 that seems to work fine, i havent had the time to either play around more with the memory or the core clock, but i hope i get some time this weekend to fine tune it some more smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweWiking View Post

Darn 2200mhz seems like a kickass card you got there! What did you end up setting your mem too ? I really hope id get such a card too smile.gif

I sat the memory to +300 so far.

Mobo: Asus Maximus Hero X | Cpu: Core i7-8700K @ 5.2 GHz (delid) | DDR3: G.Skill TridentZ RGB ddr4 3600mhz @ 4000mhz | System Disc: 1x Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 | Game Discs: 4x SSD Samsung 850 Pro 512gb (RAID 0) | Backup Disc: WD RED 8TB | Gpu: Evga Gtx 1080 FE SLi @ 2200mhz | Monitor: Asus 34" IPS G-Sync pg348q | Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo Black | OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro | ISP: Bahnhof 1000/1000mbit

Cpu Cooling: EK-Mono Block | Gpu Cooling: EK-FC1080 GTX - Nickel | Pump & Reservoar: EK-D5 Vario X-RES 140 | Radiators: Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 Full Copper 480mm *2 | Fans: EK Vardar 1450rpm *16 | Tubing: PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Blue |
Spiriva is offline  
post #419 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 07:42 AM
 
Neon Lights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiriva View Post

Yes im running it 2200 (+300 in AB) in games, well atleast so far. Played Doom this morning for almost an hour w/o any problems. The card never goes above 34C, and sits stable at 2202mhz.
So far i just put the memory to +300 that seems to work fine, i havent had the time to either play around more with the memory or the core clock, but i hope i get some time this weekend to fine tune it some more smile.gif

What are your exact OC settings (including Power Limit and Voltage) and what program did you use?
Neon Lights is offline  
post #420 of 11239 Old 06-03-2016, 07:46 AM
WaterCooler
 
Spiriva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sweden
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neon Lights View Post

What are your exact OC settings (including Power Limit and Voltage) and what program did you use?

I use "Msi Afterburner 4.3.0 beta 4" wit hthe fallowing settings:

Core Voltage +100
Power limit 120
Temp Limit 92c
Core Clock +300
Memory clock +300

Mobo: Asus Maximus Hero X | Cpu: Core i7-8700K @ 5.2 GHz (delid) | DDR3: G.Skill TridentZ RGB ddr4 3600mhz @ 4000mhz | System Disc: 1x Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 | Game Discs: 4x SSD Samsung 850 Pro 512gb (RAID 0) | Backup Disc: WD RED 8TB | Gpu: Evga Gtx 1080 FE SLi @ 2200mhz | Monitor: Asus 34" IPS G-Sync pg348q | Case: Phanteks Enthoo Primo Black | OS: Windows 10 x64 Pro | ISP: Bahnhof 1000/1000mbit

Cpu Cooling: EK-Mono Block | Gpu Cooling: EK-FC1080 GTX - Nickel | Pump & Reservoar: EK-D5 Vario X-RES 140 | Radiators: Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 Full Copper 480mm *2 | Fans: EK Vardar 1450rpm *16 | Tubing: PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Blue |
Spiriva is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off