20k with SLI GTX's? - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Core2Quad veteran
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by shizdan View Post
14500? i can barely break 12,000
I have a 3.6Ghz quad and an overclocked GTX.

I am not going to get the G92 cards again because my PSU doesnt like them and tbh I do notice a smoother game when using the GTX because of its 768MB of ram as opposed to 512.

I think two 8800GTX's and a 3.6Ghz quad will hold me over at 1680*1050 for a while to come.

When i get the second card i will do some overclocking and strip down vista for a bit to get as high 3dmark as poss.

I would like to see 18k+. I think I should.

post-flame-small.gif See something helpful? Remember to +REP! post-flame-small.gif

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Rocker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:12 PM
Professional GTA 4 Modder
 
G|F.E.A.D|Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Posts: 13,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rocker View Post
I have a 3.6Ghz quad and an overclocked GTX.

I am not going to get the G92 cards again because my PSU doesnt like them and tbh I do notice a smoother game when using the GTX because of its 768MB of ram as opposed to 512.

I think two 8800GTX's and a 3.6Ghz quad will hold me over at 1680*1050 for a while to come.

When i get the second card i will do some overclocking and strip down vista for a bit to get as high 3dmark as poss.

I would like to see 18k+. I think I should.
i would get 2 GTXs and just keep them they play pretty good at high res.

G|F.E.A.D|Killa is offline  
post #13 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:12 PM
Gadzooks
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rocker View Post
I have a 3.6Ghz quad and an overclocked GTX.

I am not going to get the G92 cards again because my PSU doesnt like them and tbh I do notice a smoother game when using the GTX because of its 768MB of ram as opposed to 512.

I think two 8800GTX's and a 3.6Ghz quad will hold me over at 1680*1050 for a while to come.

When i get the second card i will do some overclocking and strip down vista for a bit to get as high 3dmark as poss.

I would like to see 18k+. I think I should.
you wont see 18k in vista at 3.6
microman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Core2Quad veteran
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by microman View Post
you wont see 18k in vista at 3.6
Wanna bet on that?

Vista is basically no longer that much slower than XP!

I ahvent even tried to push my single card on a max 3dmark run yet with stuff disabled etc....

3.8Ghz if i have to.

post-flame-small.gif See something helpful? Remember to +REP! post-flame-small.gif

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Rocker is offline  
post #15 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:14 PM
Gadzooks
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rocker View Post
Wanna bet on that?

Vista is basically no longer that much slower than XP!

I ahvent even tried to push my single card on a max 3dmark run yet with stuff disabled etc....
i will gladly bet you how about we bet our rigs
microman is offline  
post #16 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:14 PM
 
shizdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palmyra, New York
Posts: 4,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 184
so my 11,500 is right for my system?

40" Samsung LN40B630 120Hz LCD
PS3 + 360 + PS2
Ipod Touch 3G 64GB + Fii0 E10
Alienware M15x
shizdan is offline  
post #17 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Core2Quad veteran
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by microman View Post
i will gladly bet you how about we bet our rigs
How about, if I loose, i have to put "Microman is the greatest!" in my sig.

And the other way round for you if i break 18k in vista.

post-flame-small.gif See something helpful? Remember to +REP! post-flame-small.gif

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Rocker is offline  
post #18 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Core2Quad veteran
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by shizdan View Post
so my 11,500 is right for my system?
And yes.
shizdan likes this.

post-flame-small.gif See something helpful? Remember to +REP! post-flame-small.gif

1 Million+ Folding at Home points  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

The_Rocker is offline  
post #19 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:18 PM
Gadzooks
 
microman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 10,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rocker View Post
How about, if I loose, i have to put "Microman is the greatest!" in my sig.

And the other way round for you if i break 18k in vista.
sounds even better!
microman is offline  
post #20 of 70 Old 03-13-2008, 04:18 PM
Mile High Club
 
Mhill2029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Intel Fabrication Lab
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 873
Well for the record, I got 17, 524 @ 3.3Ghz with stock SLI GTX's @ 576/1800

If i was to do 3.6Ghz i'd break 19k, getting the points for 20k will be tough though.

Robilar, don't know why you praise your GT's so much. They may score high in 3DMark06 but you'd be buried in terms of gaming frame rates @ higher resolutions.

Mhill2029 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off