8800GTS (G92) OCing (840/2248/2098), experimentation/thoughts - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 48 Old 04-15-2008, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
Kleptocratic Debt Serf
 
MasterKromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjv View Post
Well, you changed your first post so much that our conversation below doesn't make much sense, but oh well.

Now you see why I stipulate my fan speed in my signature line along with my overclock, and why so many people around here mention that you need to force your fan speed up to be able to reach your true max overclock on these 8800GTS512 cards

That's an awesome OC by the way. You should be stoked.
LMAO yeah I accidentally deleted most my original post and didn't realize it until after I hit save . I was just trying to keep all the info in the OP. I think the gist of the thread remains the same...

Well yeah, I understand the need to keep the card cool.
It just seems odd that @ stock clocks or even up to ~700mhz core the card can handle 80°C and remain stable. However I noticed that anything above 749mhz and 55-60°C would cause my drivers to crash when running 3d mark 06.

BTW I have improved my OC on both the CPU and GFX card, well I don't know if the CPU counts since I only bumped it up another 3 mhz FSB. I was able to gain stability at my hard wall of 380FSB though. I also overclocked the everliving crap out my 8800gts

New OCs and Score:

CPU: 3.42 ghz
GFX: 840 mhz core / 1103 mhz mem / 2098 mhz shader

Score: 14228

Attachment 70728

-Thoughts-

I was never a big fan of the futuremark bench applications, but that had more to do with my inferior GFX cards from eons gone by... Undoubtedly others already know this, but increased memory clock significantly boosts HDR/SM3.0 scores. Prior to this mornings bench session I had kept my memory clocks between 1000-1013mhz. Well, after I found that my core/shader clocks limits were near identical to their linked speed (840mhz core / 2100mhz shader) I decided to tweak my memory -> 1103mhz and I may yet have a little more headroom.

While many believe memory clock isn't as important it's still worthwhile to tweak especially once you have determined the upper limits of the core/shader. I had been planning to upgrade my monitor and CPU next, now I think I'll upgrade my CPU and go WC instead. Perhaps H20 + v-mod will make 900mhz+ core / 2250mhz + mem / 2250mhz + shader achievable? 9800GTX... What's that?
MasterKromm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 48 Old 04-15-2008, 04:51 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Is 1100 memory stable for you 100% or just enough to get through 3dmark06, also do you know what memory you have?

Just kinda wondering cause mine is not 100% stable past 1030


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

shinyboy is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 04-15-2008, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Kleptocratic Debt Serf
 
MasterKromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyboy View Post
Is 1100 memory stable for you 100% or just enough to get through 3dmark06, also do you know what memory you have?

Just kinda wondering cause mine is not 100% stable past 1030
Didn't pull off the stock HSF... So not 100% sure, but I believe most of the newer EVGA 8800gts sport samsung ICs.

I ran ATItool for 20mins without artifacting or crashing, gaming and benching also seem stable with 1103(2206)mhz. But I did drop the core clock back down to 782mhz when I tested the memory for stability, 840core/2098shader was on the fringe. Otherwise I would have gone higher .
MasterKromm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 48 Old 04-15-2008, 07:34 PM
Just Win Baby!
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterKromm View Post
It just seems odd that @ stock clocks or even up to ~700mhz core the card can handle 80°C and remain stable. However I noticed that anything above 749mhz and 55-60°C would cause my drivers to crash when running 3d mark 06.
Totally notice the same thing. And I do think it's a trifle odd, but then I remember ... you're talking ONE temp sensor here for basically the whole card (ambient doesn't really count). It's apparently enough to have one sensor with stock clocks, but once you get much above them, there's *somewhere else* on the card that's obviously heating up considerably. Could be memory, could be the power stage, who knows.

Anyways, again thanks for the updates, and that is a PHAT overclock man. Very nice. I'm jealous

brettjv is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Kleptocratic Debt Serf
 
MasterKromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjv View Post
Totally notice the same thing. And I do think it's a trifle odd, but then I remember ... you're talking ONE temp sensor here for basically the whole card (ambient doesn't really count). It's apparently enough to have one sensor with stock clocks, but once you get much above them, there's *somewhere else* on the card that's obviously heating up considerably. Could be memory, could be the power stage, who knows.
Yeah, whether it's power/cooling I'll definitely need to go WC at some point, perhaps if I wait till the june/july I'll be able to pick up a used WB for cheap... That's assuming the 8800GTSs have been officially EOLd and GT200 is out. Then again if GT200 is more than double the performance I may just upgrade my HTPCs GFX card and put the GT200 in my main...

Quote:
Anyways, again thanks for the updates, and that is a PHAT overclock man. Very nice. I'm jealous
Hey NP... Thanks, I was quite pleased with the results. Unfortunately I live in florida so those obscene clocks will be put on hold pretty soon. Oh and my roomies and I don't use the AC(until 90°F indoor ambient has been eclipsed) since the friggin utilities company here charges us $.18/kWh!!! <- /End rant
MasterKromm is offline  
post #16 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 01:15 PM
Amiga 500
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
about the same as mine


100mhz=about 100 points.
marsey99 is offline  
post #17 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 06:10 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
rusky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
did you change your pcie bus clock? Mines currently at default and im running 785/1015/2001
rusky1 is offline  
post #18 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 06:14 PM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
MasterKromm, what are you running your fan at? 100%? and are you running on stock voltage?

I'm starting to think I have a bad card because I can't push it any further than what I currently have it set at! I have my fan running about 75% and it's stock voltage for now. I think I'm going to do the volt mod this summer, see if I can push it up over 800mhz.



Still a work in progress smile.gif
xShiFTx is offline  
post #19 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Kleptocratic Debt Serf
 
MasterKromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusky1 View Post
did you change your pcie bus clock? Mines currently at default and im running 785/1015/2001
Nope... Just left it at default 100mhz. I may try 110 and 115 to see if that helps at all, but I believe it was the 9600gt that could be overclocked by bumping up the PCIe bus frequency(on certain mobos). -More here-

Quote:
Originally Posted by xShiFTx View Post
MasterKromm, what are you running your fan at? 100%? and are you running on stock voltage?

I'm starting to think I have a bad card because I can't push it any further than what I currently have it set at! I have my fan running about 75% and it's stock voltage for now. I think I'm going to do the volt mod this summer, see if I can push it up over 800mhz.
Stock volts and fan speed @ 90% for 840mhz core / 2206mhz mem / 2098mhz shader

You really need to keep your load temps @ 50-55°C or less, otherwise stability becomes totally shot... (IMHO) You should only attempt a v-mod if you plan on going WC too.
MasterKromm is offline  
post #20 of 48 Old 04-16-2008, 10:19 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I can definitely support the idea that stability drops a lot after about 50c.

seeing a lot of people get 1050+ with Qs led me to believe that it was memory temps, with 75% fan speed i can do 1100 memory :O


Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

shinyboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off