Expert advice is needed, Is 320MB GTS SC good enough to hold to till GT200!! - Page 3 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 Old 04-04-2008, 10:44 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: victoria b.c.
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hey,
BxALbo1
Wouldn't having 1Gb V-Ram help with the Higher res? I really want to play at my Native Res! When you are at 1900*1200 are the edges smooth on things? I am thinking when using a lower Res the Edges would become more jagged, Hence why AA helps smooth out the lines. So wouldn't a very high Res help that issue? If I could run with no AA and no jaggies that would be sweet.
Anyone with a high Res care to elaborate on the No AA being smoother than a lower Res with AA enabled?
Glad to hear that a faster CPU wouldn't help in the gaming Department very much.
The salesman at the Computer store where I go to said that my CPU Overclocked to 3.2Ghz would be considerably slower than say a 8400 at it's rated speed(Whatever it is)!
I guess I'll have to wait and see to be sure if my Current GPU will Last a bit longer. With no killer games in the next 4-6 months besides Farcry2, I can save a bit more for something that will Kick me in the ass.
Thanx again all for the replies.

bushwickbill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 Old 04-04-2008, 11:07 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Enn Why
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
wait and see. and as far as the 1gb 8800gt check this review out.

http://techgage.com/article/palit_ge...0gt_super1gb/3

3dMark06 -7288 (CPU Holding me back frown.gif)

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mojo go_quote.gif
In the OS dept, I can't think of a good decision MS has made in maybe 10 years. They must be doing something right, but it's usually buried under the massive amounts of wrongness.
BxAlbo1 is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 04-05-2008, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: victoria b.c.
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=1166&pageID=3949
This review of a Fatality 320Mb shows that it can come close to a GTX. Since my GTS 320 MB can Overclock to Fatality speeds (Except the Mem Clock) I really am not that far behind a GTX too!!
But I want better than a GTX obviously, Just what card at a decent price can beat a GTX?
Thanx for the link BxALbo1, Clearly the Extra 512 V-Ram makes no difference at all.
Decisions, Decisions.

bushwickbill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 Old 04-05-2008, 11:46 PM
4.0 GHz
 
slytown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
You can overclock a 640 pretty well but its not worth it for you to step-up from a 320.
slytown is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 04-05-2008, 11:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
1GiB is not going to benefit you. Crank the AA up enough for it to make a difference, and everything is already running way too slow anyway. The G92/RV6xx GPU is just not fast enough to do AA past 2x-4x or so at 1920x1200 in demanding modern games. 1920x1200 with 4x or less AA is not going to use more than 512MiB of VRAM except in very rare cases.

Also, as far as jaggies are concerned, mid resolutions with AA will have fewer than higher resolutions with no AA, at least on the native res of a decent sized LCD. The only time I've found jaggies to not be prominent without AA on a 1920x1200 res LCD, was when it was 17" laptop screen with an exceedingly small dot pitch.
bushwickbill likes this.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
post #26 of 28 Old 04-06-2008, 12:17 AM
1.7ghz
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
if you're going to be playing at 1900x1200, the difference between 320mb and 512mb is going to be immense, you might even want to look into getting a GTX with 768mb of memory
bushwickbill likes this.
Erwin_Rommel is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 04-06-2008, 12:31 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by BxAlbo1 View Post
wait and see. and as far as the 1gb 8800gt check this review out.

http://techgage.com/article/palit_ge...0gt_super1gb/3
it performs worse than the 512mb version

majin death is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 04-06-2008, 06:26 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Enn Why
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by majin death View Post
it performs worse than the 512mb version
Yea i used that review to prove that point

3dMark06 -7288 (CPU Holding me back frown.gif)

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mojo go_quote.gif
In the OS dept, I can't think of a good decision MS has made in maybe 10 years. They must be doing something right, but it's usually buried under the massive amounts of wrongness.
BxAlbo1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off