Poor Performance on 9600gt - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
Antisync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got a Leadtek WinFast 9600 GT 512 MB today.

Unfortunatly, it wasn't running as fast as i was expecting it to be. I was running around 25 FPS average on America's Army Snakeplain Map, which is really crap, considering it to be a 6 year old game and running on Unreal Engine 2.5. I was even shocked when i got around 5.5k points on 3dmark 06.

Im starting to think i'm having an issue here. Isit a driver problem? i have, at this moment, driver version 174.47. Isit a power problem? i have a 300W power supply, just a little bit more than what my computer uses during peak usage according to a meter. Isit a CPU bottleneck? i have a Pentium D 805 2.66GHz, not too bad, 2 years old CPU.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Antisync is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:06 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
your being bottlenecked by your processor.
EDIT~ i see you have a 15" screen that means you most likely run at 1024x768, lower resolutions make bottlenecks worse.
Antisync likes this.

majin death is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:08 AM
1.3ghz
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Croatia
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by majin death View Post
your being bottlenecked by your processor.
yes you are

3500+ 2,7ghz
4000+ x2 3,1 Ghz

If someone provides you with some good advice or information, pay em back with rep!thumb.gif
die991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:11 AM
PC Gamer
 
mtbiker033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 375
the CPU and if that was cleared up, the PSU would be your next hurdle.
Antisync likes this.
mtbiker033 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:16 AM
Gamestop: We don't have a PC copy of ME3
 
redsunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: At your throat with a knife
Posts: 4,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 282
I seriously doubt a Pentium D could give him 6k less in 3dMark. While it is a bottle neck, it's not that big. As for the PSU, does the Nvidia driver complain about not too much power? Something like "there's insufficient power for this GPU blah blah blah!"

8/13/11
To this day, I wouldn't view my well being as a spiritual gift if it wasn't for you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFL Replica go_quote.gif

I offer the cloud my finger.
redsunx is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:17 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
your graphics card could be throttling due to insufficient power.

majin death is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 08:35 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 225
yea get at least an 400w PSU and an upgrade to a C2D will raise those marks up at lest by 2K

.
kazakia is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 09:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3468
Either PSU or CPU is the key factor but I would take care the PSU first. The power for single 9600GT is 96w already. You need a 400w PSU with 26A on 12v rails.
linskingdom is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 12:08 PM
★★★★what the pho★★★★
 
guyladouche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: California
Posts: 8,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 477
A P-D at 2.66GHz is painfully slow for today's new cards--despite the fact that it's a "mere" 2 years old (keep in mind how much processors have advanced in the last two years...). Likely if you upgrade your CPU, you'll see much better performance. But you'll also benefit in general from upgrading your PSU, as was stated.

Originally Posted by arbalest go_quote.gif
...not needed unless you actually need it for something.
guyladouche is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-06-2008, 12:09 PM
Initializing
 
Anth0789's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 23,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1545
Anth0789 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off