The GeForce GTX200 series GPU Information Thread - Page 14 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #131 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 05:47 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
SLI'd 280s installed and drivered up. First impressions from my Tri 8800 GTXs... meh... hehe. I haven't overclocked or been able to bench yet. I've just played Age of Conan and surfed the net. I will think about getting the 3rd one. I also am looking for some water blocks for the 280. I have a pump and rad just waiting to be used. Though the fans at 100% keep them quite cool. Also to note they can't even be heard over my 120mm 120+cfm fans. So for now the air will do with less hassle. When I can get a chance I will throw a few clocks at them and see what they can do. I will only test Vantage as I don't feel like redownloading and installing 06.


Edit: I will say this.. It seems that my 1000w power supply is enough, but REMEMBER SLI uses TWO 8 pin and TWO 6 pin connectors... I had to rig some stuff up to make this work with my SLI power supply. I'm going to go shopping for something that will power 3 without having a ton of extensions. If anyone knows of one please let me know.

Thanks
linskingdom likes this.

SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
"It’s not a bug in the game’s code, it’s a bug in your moral code."

2Luke2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #132 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 3468
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Luke2 View Post
SLI'd 280s installed and drivered up. First impressions from my Tri 8800 GTXs... meh... hehe. I haven't overclocked or been able to bench yet. I've just played Age of Conan and surfed the net. I will think about getting the 3rd one. I also am looking for some water blocks for the 280. I have a pump and rad just waiting to be used. Though the fans at 100% keep them quite cool. Also to note they can't even be heard over my 120mm 120+cfm fans. So for now the air will do with less hassle. When I can get a chance I will throw a few clocks at them and see what they can do. I will only test Vantage as I don't feel like redownloading and installing 06.


Edit: I will say this.. It seems that my 1000w power supply is enough, but REMEMBER SLI uses TWO 8 pin and TWO 6 pin connectors... I had to rig some stuff up to make this work with my SLI power supply. I'm going to go shopping for something that will power 3 without having a ton of extensions. If anyone knows of one please let me know.

Thanks
Great. Thanks for the information. Enjoy.
linskingdom is offline  
post #133 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 06:18 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Looking around after two mins... Like I should have before asking for more info...

DangerDen

EVGA

Aqua-computer

Ek on Aqua's Site

EK Nickle 280

EK 280 Copper Solid

EK 280 Copper Acetal

SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
"It’s not a bug in the game’s code, it’s a bug in your moral code."

2Luke2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #134 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 07:48 AM
 
Danylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Your EVGA link doesn't work properly...
My own links from my thread in sig.
Coolit Dual Drive Bay NV GTX280 WC SYSTEM!-
http://www.coolitsystems.com/index.p...hk=1&Itemid=85
EVGA GeForce GTX 280 HC -
http://www.evga.com/products/moreInf...eries%20Family
BFG NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 H2OC™ with ThermoIntelligence™ Water Cooling Solution - http://www.bfgtech.com/bfgrgtx2801024h2ocwe.aspx
Aqua Computers Thing
http://www.tcmagazine.com/comments.p...=20024&catid=2
Danylu is offline  
post #135 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 09:08 AM
The Electric Boogaloo
 
PizzaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta Ga area
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Has anyone done any benchmarks with these Physx drivers?

http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_8.06.12_whql.html

Twitter: PizzaManOCN

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


Extreme OC (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 go_quote.gif
I think you should duct a leaf blower onto your air cooler...wait till liek 2am and fire it up for some hardcore OC action ..really piss of the neighbors.. and see if you can F5 your CPU-Z before the cops show up!! laugher.gif
^^^^thats Extreme OC
Funny (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by el gappo go_quote.gif
Do the opposite of what this guy just said if you want the best results you can get thumb.gif

Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PizzaMan is offline  
post #136 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 03:05 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Here is the vantage benchmark at stock clocks in SLI. I forgot I had my computer down to 3.6... I'll have to clock it back to 4.0 for another test later. Also I forgot that I didn't uninstall 06 yet so here is the link for that.

06

Attachment 77605

Edit: I just seen the drivers above. Going to install them now and run vantage again and see what happens ehhe..

Edit2: When I downloaded and then hit run it asked me to uninstall. So I guess the latest Nvidia drivers 177.41 have it already included?

SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
"It’s not a bug in the game’s code, it’s a bug in your moral code."

2Luke2 is offline  
post #137 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 03:17 PM
The Electric Boogaloo
 
PizzaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta Ga area
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Edit2: When I downloaded and then hit run it asked me to uninstall. So I guess the latest Nvidia drivers 177.41 have it already included?

I would say no. The 177.41 drivers are 36.5MB. The Physx drivers are 43.3 MB. You might have to uninstall the Forceware drivers first. idk

Twitter: PizzaManOCN

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


Extreme OC (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 go_quote.gif
I think you should duct a leaf blower onto your air cooler...wait till liek 2am and fire it up for some hardcore OC action ..really piss of the neighbors.. and see if you can F5 your CPU-Z before the cops show up!! laugher.gif
^^^^thats Extreme OC
Funny (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by el gappo go_quote.gif
Do the opposite of what this guy just said if you want the best results you can get thumb.gif

Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PizzaMan is offline  
post #138 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 03:35 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Well I went ahead and uninstalled and then reinstalled and this is what I got...Only problem is I did a small overclock for the hell of it.

Attachment 77607
LL

SELECT * FROM users WHERE clue > 0;
"It’s not a bug in the game’s code, it’s a bug in your moral code."

2Luke2 is offline  
post #139 of 393 Old 07-09-2008, 04:33 PM
The Electric Boogaloo
 
PizzaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta Ga area
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Comparing Vantage with 06?

Yea, and prbly should also run with the same clocks.

Twitter: PizzaManOCN

____________________________
.:|Official|Volt|Mod|Squad|Member|:.


Extreme OC (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL3P20 go_quote.gif
I think you should duct a leaf blower onto your air cooler...wait till liek 2am and fire it up for some hardcore OC action ..really piss of the neighbors.. and see if you can F5 your CPU-Z before the cops show up!! laugher.gif
^^^^thats Extreme OC
Funny (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by el gappo go_quote.gif
Do the opposite of what this guy just said if you want the best results you can get thumb.gif

Overclock.net - 2010 Foldathon Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

PizzaMan is offline  
post #140 of 393 Old 07-10-2008, 07:15 AM
 
Danylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 116
So do any of you GTX280 owners know the answer to this question?
Does anyone know a good watercooling kit or can pick parts for a kit that can effectively cool 3 overclocked GTX 280s? I plan to get the BFG H20C and then get a few more afterwards and the only reason I'm getting that is because it is a single slot.

I asked on the last page but no one responded.
Danylu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off