a gtx260 and a 9600 gt as physx card in same system - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-18-2008, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
plyanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i have a question. i want to buy the gtx 260 very soon there is a 99% chance that will happen. and i will have a 9600 gt left over. now my question isnt that is that good for it, it is that do i put the gtx 260 in pci-e slot 1 and the 9600 gt in slot #2. and if i do that will the drivers for the gtx 260 conflict with the 9600 gt and for that matter will those two cards even work in the same system like that. im defiantly not going to try and sli them. also if the 9600 really isnt that good for physx it doesnt matter to me it would just sit in a box if i dont keep it in the computer

System Stuff:
core 2 duo 3 GHZ OC'd 3.5
4 GB RAM 800 MHZ OC'd 1060
500 GB hard drive
EVGA 780i MOBO
EVGA 9600 gt KO (for now)
plyanthony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 12:24 AM
Overclocker
 
Zonda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
It's unnecessary. I tested my GTX280 + 9600GSO. There is almost no increase.

Zonda is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
plyanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
but it would work fine with both in there if i choose too?
plyanthony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3130
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonda View Post
It's unnecessary. I tested my GTX280 + 9600GSO. There is almost no increase.
What exactly did you test?

Vantage and PhysX specific benchmarks are not good indicators. In a real (PhysX) game, the primary (non-physx) GPU could already be saturated dealing with graphics work alone.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 02:27 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonda View Post
It's unnecessary. I tested my GTX280 + 9600GSO. There is almost no increase.
Not all games us physics technology
OverclockTheStock is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 02:28 PM
 
fritz_sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by plyanthony View Post
but it would work fine with both in there if i choose too?
Yes it will work fine, I have 2 gtx260's in sli and I use a 8800gt as physx card. with the new drivers you will be fine

I posted for someone asking how to get it done yesterday Here
fritz_sean is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 12-19-2008, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
plyanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
thanxs for the help.
plyanthony is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off