new to nvidia cards - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi all

i have changed form ati to nvidia...

now overclocking seems to be a bit more comlicated on the new geforce 7800gtx's ... in rivatuner i see 3 Core clocks and a memory clock.

I have a evga 7800GTX512... what should i see..? On the homepage they say it runs at 550corex1700memory..

under standard 2d i can see 3x 275 and 1200...?

how do i calculate the overall clock or do i have to set it to performance 3d...

some help would be gladly apreciated..

xxxomxxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 01:50 AM
Audiophile/Car lover
 
pbasil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 5,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 460
performance 3d... no sence in overclocking the card for 2d....lol 2d rendering is already a walk in the park for a geforce 3 let alone your 7800....

maybe you should run the coolbits registry edit and use the clock settings in the nvidia utility for your first nvidia OC, its simple and will let you get to know your card and how nvidia works, then go to the advanced options of rivatuner once you get used to nvidia....

Like cars? Carforum!
How to choose the right fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKsMassive go_quote.gif
what is " folding " ???
Quote:
Originally Posted by ressurrectin go_quote.gif
When you take an old graphics card and effectively 'fold' it in half, in order to remove the chip.This process takes alot of power.




Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

pbasil1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 01:52 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
omg..lol... there are three states of card usage..i see..

thx

xxxomxxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 01:54 AM
Audiophile/Car lover
 
pbasil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 5,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 460
ya for like 2d, you could even underclock the card and let it cool off and run easy, because 2d takes very little processor power.... just a lil tip...


PS: how do you like nvidia compared to ATI?

Like cars? Carforum!
How to choose the right fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKsMassive go_quote.gif
what is " folding " ???
Quote:
Originally Posted by ressurrectin go_quote.gif
When you take an old graphics card and effectively 'fold' it in half, in order to remove the chip.This process takes alot of power.




Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant  10 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

pbasil1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
well i think both producers of gpu's have their up's and downs... i just think that nvidia went the better way with SLI, since it is far less complex then crossfire.

For gaming i had really good expierinces with all my ati cards. especially my x800pro that i unlocked to the xt. I had it for a long time.

But know i think nvidia has better shader implementation and in combination with amd gives better results then a ati setup.

Now everybody is running to ATI because of the new 1900er series, then all will run back to nvidia for the 7900er... and so forth... customers are just willing to pay too much. I remember the days when the top notch costed you around 300 maybe 400$, now its around 700-900$ that is just too much.

i think it doesnt matter which card you will get... just optimize the system around it... all components should work together in harmony, and that is what i did for my new pc and it works flawless!!
(it is like buying a HDTV beamer for 10000k and then buying a receiver for 500 bucks ;-), you just cant get the max out of something if you dont use it in its own leaque..)

btw.. how low would you go in 2d?

xxxomxxx is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 02:55 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle,Washington
Posts: 14,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
I don't think you'll see any cards costing over $600 dollars anymore. Your card was the only one ever priced that high as was nothing more than a quick fix to stay in the benchmarks game long enough to hold off until G80 was released. It wasn't ever intended to be a full blown model and isn't being made any longer from what I've seen. Does anyone even sell these anymore or was it just that 1 batch?

Comp #2: Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55, 4gb G Skill, X-Fi XtremeMusic,Logitech Z5500, 24" Gateway LCD, Antec P180,3 striped 36gb Raptors + 1 500gb, Hyper 212+, Corsair 520HX.

Comp #3:Intel 2500k, GTX480, MSI P67AGD55 , 4gb G Skill, Antec 650W, Logitech 560 4.1, 24" Acer LCD, Chenming MidTower, Liteon DVDRW, 74gb Raptor + 500 gb, Hyper 212+, Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer.

Comp #4: Intel 2500k, MSI 6950 2gb, Asus P8P67A, 4gb G. Skill, 22" Acer LCD,Raptor 150, Hyper 212+, Logitech 530, Antec P180, Antec TruePower 650w,Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic,Liteon DVDRW
sccr64472 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 03:04 AM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
he has two of them aside with an FX60, that kicks ass, thats 1 gig of memory,, omgzz....yea i would recommend using the clock frequency in the nvidia settings, u can reach it by right clicking the desktop, and click on Nvidia display, go to your monitor, and it should be under one of the options, if not you can open this option with NVTray or Coolbits.

"There Can Only Be One Highlander!!" Dane Cook,

\/\/tF?
(9/4)^x = x^(9/4)

u.c.i.n.e.x. is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 03:53 AM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
G80? is that the chip on the new 7900er?

i am still waiting for my watercooling plates to come in, but with the normal huge evga fan i can run it with up to 620x1840, without any artifacts and not running more then much over normal temps.

what is the max of the 7800 GPU achieved? What benchmark should i get with one, how much with two cards ? (3dMark06)

xxxomxxx is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 04:57 AM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
G71 is the new 7900GTX512 coming on the 9th of March,
the G80 is the new generation Direct X 10, aside with the new AM2 processors and DDR2 memory, = a crazy top notch system.

"There Can Only Be One Highlander!!" Dane Cook,

\/\/tF?
(9/4)^x = x^(9/4)

u.c.i.n.e.x. is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-22-2006, 05:02 AM
Back From The Dead
 
Namrac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 10,796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbasil1
ya for like 2d, you could even underclock the card and let it cool off and run easy, because 2d takes very little processor power.... just a lil tip...


PS: how do you like nvidia compared to ATI?
Yup, that's what I do. My card idles in 2d at something like 46* C, and runs at 250/1170. (I can't lower the memory for just 2D, lowers them for all). stock is 500/900, and during heavy 3D apps it runs at 580/1170.

20110813 - RIP

Take me out into the black, tell them I ain't coming back.
Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me.
Namrac is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off