GTX 280 again... - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-08-2010, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
hiitspickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
From my post before: THANK YOU MOONORB, very valuable help.

Anyways, I found out from my first gtx280 that it was having overheating problems, so I sent it in right away to be replaced. As it was being sent in, turns out i also had 2 faulty slots in my motherboard as well, so I sent that in also. <--- . I got my video card and mother board around the same time roughly 2 or 3 months ago. They worked great until now. The problem first started occuring when when i would log in to my windows 7 start up screen and it would full screen artifact. Sometimes it would be pink, green, blue, and an assortment of other colors. I got lucky one time and got in and immediately down clocked my video card. It was working but i couldn't play any games without it artifacting again. I slowly got more bold and started upward clocking towards my normal clock. <--- correct terms? O.o. Now it is at normal clock and i can play crysis and any game normally, but sometimes when i log in it full screen artifacts again. One thing I found unusual was that when I played Counter-Strike Source, it would play crystal smooth for about 10 minutes, then periodically after 10 minutes of play, the screen would freeze but I could still hear people talking so I knew it wasn't my computer freezing. I have absolutely no clue what is happening. Anybody want to take a stab?

hiitspickles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-08-2010, 08:42 PM
 
tyuo9980's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiitspickles View Post
From my post before: THANK YOU MOONORB, very valuable help.

Anyways, I found out from my first gtx280 that it was having overheating problems, so I sent it in right away to be replaced. As it was being sent in, turns out i also had 2 faulty slots in my motherboard as well, so I sent that in also. <--- . I got my video card and mother board around the same time roughly 2 or 3 months ago. They worked great until now. The problem first started occuring when when i would log in to my windows 7 start up screen and it would full screen artifact. Sometimes it would be pink, green, blue, and an assortment of other colors. I got lucky one time and got in and immediately down clocked my video card. It was working but i couldn't play any games without it artifacting again. I slowly got more bold and started upward clocking towards my normal clock. <--- correct terms? O.o. Now it is at normal clock and i can play crysis and any game normally, but sometimes when i log in it full screen artifacts again. One thing I found unusual was that when I played Counter-Strike Source, it would play crystal smooth for about 10 minutes, then periodically after 10 minutes of play, the screen would freeze but I could still hear people talking so I knew it wasn't my computer freezing. I have absolutely no clue what is happening. Anybody want to take a stab?
graphic driver crashing...
hiitspickles likes this.

post-flame-small.gif 4 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif
tyuo9980 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 11:23 AM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
mxthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Eaton, OH
Posts: 3,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 149
What are your temps like?
hiitspickles likes this.
mxthunder is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
hiitspickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
What's a good temp application?

hiitspickles is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 12:48 PM
3.5ghz
 
theblah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Evga precision ftw


Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralThrawn go_quote.gif
If I wanted to experience MW2's multiplayer, I could go outside and bang my head on the wall whilst simultaneously puncturing my foot with a poker and having the neighbor screaming obscenities in my ear.
theblah is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
hiitspickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Temp is at a steady 55 degrees C, but i did just play crysis for like an hour.

hiitspickles is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 01:28 PM
WaterCooler
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 4,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 248
if it keeps artifacting get a voltage tuner and increase the voltage notch by notch until u see no more artifacting. Sometimes it's just a minor voltage problem <--- happened on my 285

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweffymo go_quote.gif
If I believe that this 580 rumor is true, then why can't I also believe that the 6k series is made of 100% pure rainbow oil and that it can fly? They're both about as plausible...
fat_italian_stallion is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
hiitspickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
If I keep my fan at 70, i play crysis at a steady 60 degrees celsius.

hiitspickles is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 01:30 PM
4.0ghz
 
guinaom1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiitspickles View Post
Temp is at a steady 55 degrees C, but i did just play crysis for like an hour.
55 is ok, i guess it is the drivers, try overclocking or downclocking it too and test.

Proofs and quotes! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
HD Power color 5850 1GB @_1002Mhz/1300Mhz

4.321ghz i7 920............................................... ..Proof
4.214ghz i7 920............................................... ..Proof
(i dont really use this vcore, i left it that way because i was testing something whistle.gif)

Quote:
Quote FAIL
We all know that Intel doesn't destroy faulty chips; they sell them to AMD and they become the new Phenom II X4.
guinaom1 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-09-2010, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Commodore 64
 
hiitspickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yeah I solved it, turns out everytime I played a game, my fan wasn't going up according to the temperature of my card. what a fail. Thanks guys. Oh yeah and the artifacting went away at start up I'm pretty sure because apparently I had 2 drivers installed at the same time somehow lol.

hiitspickles is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off