800 core on stock volt possible on gtx 470? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-09-2010, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
 
ChronoBodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I want to get the magic 800, and I plan to leave men clocks alone.

Is that possible or do I have to overvolt it?
ChronoBodi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-09-2010, 09:45 PM
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Jelah is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 10:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Contagion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 6,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 718
It all depends. No two cards will overclock the same. Most 470s hit just around 800MHz with max volts. So, I doubt it.
Other than my cards. I had a card hit 800MHz on stock volts.

Contagion is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 10:24 AM
 
9KRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yay Area, CA
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Ya I can hit 800 on just about 1.050 which isn't max, but is definitely overvolted. You more than likely will not be able to hit 800 on stock volts.

9KRacing is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 10:27 AM
 
jbobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 143
A lot of it will depend on your stock VID for your card (each is different it seems). My VID was .937 and I know I will not be able to hit 800 core with that. I have seen some with stock VIDs of over 1.0V, so if your stock VID is higher, you might hit 800 core with stock voltage then.
jbobb is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
 
ChronoBodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
ok, i got my stock VID, it's .950...

what can i get with that? and is it OK to change it to 1.000?
ChronoBodi is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 12:54 PM
 
jbobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChronoBodi View Post
ok, i got my stock VID, it's .950...

what can i get with that? and is it OK to change it to 1.000?
I was running mine at around 730-735 core with .95 before without problems. Once I upped to 750 core and upped the memory a bit, I did not get any artifacts, but noticed lockups in games just a few times. Since I set it to .962 it hasn't locked up yet. 1.0v is not going to hurt anything, it will just increase temps. Best thing to do when you OC is to set a custom fan profile. I use MSI Afterburner for that. With my current OC and stock auto fan, my card would reach 90C in MSI Kombuster and fan would reach 60%. With my custom fan profile (1% fan speed for every 1C in temp), my card has reached a max of 74C. And at 74% fan speed, I can barely hear it over my other case fans.

I would just give it a shot and see what happens. You can always undo or modify the changes to the OC if needed.
jbobb is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
 
ChronoBodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbobb View Post
I was running mine at around 730-735 core with .95 before without problems. Once I upped to 750 core and upped the memory a bit, I did not get any artifacts, but noticed lockups in games just a few times. Since I set it to .962 it hasn't locked up yet. 1.0v is not going to hurt anything, it will just increase temps. Best thing to do when you OC is to set a custom fan profile. I use MSI Afterburner for that. With my current OC and stock auto fan, my card would reach 90C in MSI Kombuster and fan would reach 60%. With my custom fan profile (1% fan speed for every 1C in temp), my card has reached a max of 74C. And at 74% fan speed, I can barely hear it over my other case fans.

I would just give it a shot and see what happens. You can always undo or modify the changes to the OC if needed.
cool, how do you set up the fan profile in steps?
ChronoBodi is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 01:12 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Joisey Shore
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I need 1.0v for 800c on both of my 470's
The Godfather is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-10-2010, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
ChronoBodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 186
right, but what are temps when you put it on 1.0V?
ChronoBodi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off