Help me identify 6800 card - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
DwD
Commodore 64
 
DwD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Got this card with my computer. don’t know exactly witch model it is of Geforce 6800. Maybe someone here can tell me.
As i found out its a Asus nvidia Geforce 6800 256mb, did the reg mod on windows(did not touch the overclocking settings) and i states 350Mhz on the gpu and 550Mhz on the memory.
is it an 6800GT or?.. don’t think its ultra.
Thinking of buying an Arctic Cooling NV Silencer 5, Rev 3 and put it on. how high can i overclock it?
se attached picture for how the card looks like





DwD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 03:22 AM
333mhz
 
8goodking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The design is plain and does not hold up with those of 6800 GT or Ultra.

If it comes with the computer, I am kind of sure it is a standard 6800, no better than a 6600 GT.

Always buy a high-end card in case you can.typer.gif
GeForce 6600 GT succumbs to games of 2006, so will 7600 GT in 2007.wink.gif

8goodking is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 03:37 AM - Thread Starter
DwD
Commodore 64
 
DwD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
the gt and ultra have 16 pipelines(?).. can i confirm(how?) with checking how many this got?

DwD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 03:52 AM
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Lone136
If you have everest home on your rig it will tell what kind of video.A;so it will show the piprs on the video card. Everest home is here on OC in a zip file.Great program to have for it also gives temps tells you about your overclock and more

Lone136 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 03:58 AM - Thread Starter
DwD
Commodore 64
 
DwD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lone136
If you have everest home on your rig it will tell what kind of video.A;so it will show the piprs on the video card. Everest home is here on OC in a zip file.Great program to have for it also gives temps tells you about your overclock and more
checked everest at home, and it states:
Asus EN6800
gpu NV41
pixel piplelines:12

hmm thats not good?.. any chance of overclocking it or just throw it away?

DwD is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 04:01 AM
4.0ghz
 
Lone136's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pa
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Lone136
Use ATI tools and try to open that pipes.If you can OC the video card, but watch your temps. You may want to think about getting better cooling for the card if you do OC the video card.

Lone136 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 04:08 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 306
As stated above you can get a free version of Everest here
You can also download the latest version of NiBiTor here and try to read the BIOS from the card into NiBiTor to check what model you have.

Edit:
I'm assuming you have the PCIe version.
If that's the case then both the core and the memory should overclock higher than those found on the AGP version of the same card. Get CoolBits or RivaTuner and try to overclock it.
You can't however unlock any pipes as there aren't any to be enabled (you can do it on the AGP version).

Concerning the temps try to overclock it with the stock HSF installed and see if you can maintain load temps under 80C.
afterhours likes this.

zone is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
DwD
Commodore 64
 
DwD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zone
As stated above you can get a free version of Everest here
You can also download the latest version of NiBiTor here and try to read the BIOS from the card into NiBiTor to check what model you have.

Edit:
I'm assuming you have the PCIe version.
If that's the case then both the core and the memory should overclock higher than those found on the AGP version of the same card. Get CoolBits or RivaTuner and try to overclock it.
You can't however unlock any pipes as there aren't any to be enabled (you can do it on the AGP version).

Concerning the temps try to overclock it with the stock HSF installed and see if you can maintain load temps under 80C.

got this.

DwD is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 06:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 306
All right, as expected you have the PCIe version of this card.
This means you won't be able to unlock any additional pipes.
However, PCIe cards overclock better than their AGP counterparts.
As I previously said, try overclocking the core alone to see where it maxes out then (after resetting the core to its default frequency) test the memory alone to see where it maxes out.
You need to test for artifacts, with 3dMark05 for example, after each overclocking attempt to confirm that your card can actually sustain the new frequency.
Keep an eye on your GPU load temps at all times and try to keep it below 80C (better yet below 75C).

Just one note though... I was under the impression the 6800 has a memory clocked at 300 or 350 (600 or 700 DDR) depending on the manufacturer. 275 (550 DDR) seems a bit low.
A good thing though is that your card has a core clocked at 350 MHz whereas other manufacturers normally set the core at 325 MHz.

Good luck and keep us posted.

zone is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-27-2006, 06:31 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: sebring florida
Posts: 1,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Send a message via AIM to burnstudios Send a message via MSN to burnstudios Send a message via Yahoo to burnstudios
thats weird , it doesnt look anything like my 6800 .. that looks more like a 6600GT .. but if its a nv41 core it is a 6800 that can NOT be unlocked.
burnstudios is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off