Ask me anything MSI and NVIDIA-related! - Page 64 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 12:15 AM
Just Win Baby!
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSIalex;14214848 
Honestly I can't answer with certainty, because selling items is not just a matter of "let's sell it". The support system needs to be put in place, as well as the calls coming in of "how do I install this on my (insert random competitor's nonreference) card?"


The other thread about the pricing in Japan.... I just have to laugh. Really? $73 is "high"? Has anyone ever looked at how worthless the US dollar is lately, and what it soon will be after August 2nd???

So, you're saying there's a plan to do so, at least?

I can understand why someone would suggest that US$73 is a lot of money for a VGA cooler, considering that you can get nicer coolers for less than $73 in the USA.

However ... it's probably very much in line with what other similar coolers would go for in Japan. But then ... everything is expensive in Japan. Has been that way for MANY years now.

If the US dollar is so weak, given that this is an imported product in the USA, you'd think that such a cooler would be more expensive here. That's how a low currency valuation is supposed to 'work out', right?

However, I think we both know that if you tried to sell the TFII coolers in the USA, you wouldn't sell very many at $73 a pop.

And what is it exactly you believe is going to happen on Aug 2 that's going to further devalue the Dollar? You think the US is going to go into default? Mark my words: No way.

What we got going on right now is standard American political theatre. Fortunately, the rich politicians and their even-richer benefactors stand to lose way too much if the world economy tanks due to the US defaulting on it's debt, so ... it's not going to happen.

brettjv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 12:18 AM
4.0ghz
 
Skoobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 95
my MSI gtx 560 Ti Golden Edition hits 100*C after 10-15 minutes in just about any game. what gives? i have like 15 fans in my case, two of which are delta fans which are positioned to blow directly on the GPU from the side of the case.

edit: tried forcing vsync and my GPU usage went down to 30-50%. my temps were 65-80 degrees celcius still. that seems wrong to me...

edit number two: i contacted support, but when the reply came, the link in the email (which is supposed to show me the reply) led me to a 404 not found page.

SoCal Member
Steam: xSKOOBSx
Origin: xSKOOBSx
Skoobs is offline  
post #633 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 04:45 AM
4.1 GHz
 
JacobKay97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leigh, Wigan, UK
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
How do I get the MSI Afterburner On Screen Display working?
I have added the BC2 exe to it, but what do i do next?

Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoReaper go_quote.gif
You're saying I can put a PCI-Ex1 sound card in a PCI-Ex16 slot? Where did I miss this?!
JacobKay97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 05:42 AM
Audiophile
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
@Jacob.
You have to do several things.
Open afterburner.
Go to settings.
Go to monitoring tab.
If you want to monitor gpu temp, then click on "GPU Temperature" option and check the box for "show in on-screen display"
If you want to add more things to monitor then you should repeat the process above.
JacobKay97 likes this.
lagittaja is offline  
post #635 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 01:07 PM
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobKay97 View Post
How do I get the MSI Afterburner On Screen Display working?
I have added the BC2 exe to it, but what do i do next?
You can always ask Unwinder who is the author of Afterburner these types of questions over at Guru3d.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
post #636 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 01:55 PM
^ Derp ^
 
blackbalt89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Milford, NJ
Posts: 6,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 296
blackbalt89 is offline  
post #637 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 07:21 PM
1.3ghz
 
xGTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maldonado, Uruguay
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 5
alex, do the 580 lighning XEs have binned gpus? thanks

nothing.

xGTx is offline  
post #638 of 786 Old 07-15-2011, 08:27 PM
Audiophile
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Hey alex, quick Q, which popped into my head a moment ago.
Yes or no:
Compatibility of Accelero xtreme+ on msi's 560ti tf2

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk with this enabled just to annoy you.
lagittaja is offline  
post #639 of 786 Old 07-18-2011, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
3.0ghz
 
MSIalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Industry, CA
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by InerTia* View Post
lol Welcome to the Help Community Mr. Superman lol

I do as well need help with Afterburner.
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majin SSJ Eric View Post

My question I'm sure has been asked and answered several times but, here goes one more time: Does MSI bin their chips for high end cards like the 580 Lightning? I know I've seen you say before that they do but it still gets thrown around that this is false. Please set everyone straight on this issue....
Uh, for anything higher than reference clock speeds, you HAVE to bin.

I'm not going to explain this when I already created a thread and no one made it sticky.

http://www.overclock.net/graphics-ca...cking-gpu.html


Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjv View Post
So, you're saying there's a plan to do so, at least?

I can understand why someone would suggest that US$73 is a lot of money for a VGA cooler, considering that you can get nicer coolers for less than $73 in the USA.

However ... it's probably very much in line with what other similar coolers would go for in Japan. But then ... everything is expensive in Japan. Has been that way for MANY years now.

If the US dollar is so weak, given that this is an imported product in the USA, you'd think that such a cooler would be more expensive here. That's how a low currency valuation is supposed to 'work out', right?

However, I think we both know that if you tried to sell the TFII coolers in the USA, you wouldn't sell very many at $73 a pop.

And what is it exactly you believe is going to happen on Aug 2 that's going to further devalue the Dollar? You think the US is going to go into default? Mark my words: No way.

What we got going on right now is standard American political theatre. Fortunately, the rich politicians and their even-richer benefactors stand to lose way too much if the world economy tanks due to the US defaulting on it's debt, so ... it's not going to happen.

That's a long question.. but here's my points.

- Yes it's discussed. Implementation of these things takes time.
- Yen vs. Dollar has no bearing on pricing in the US, because product is sold from TAIWAN to Japan, or USA. The only exchange rate that matters is what comes out of Taiwan.
- Political theater is just that; theater. Not going to talk politics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoobs View Post
my MSI gtx 560 Ti Golden Edition hits 100*C after 10-15 minutes in just about any game. what gives? i have like 15 fans in my case, two of which are delta fans which are positioned to blow directly on the GPU from the side of the case.

edit: tried forcing vsync and my GPU usage went down to 30-50%. my temps were 65-80 degrees celcius still. that seems wrong to me...

edit number two: i contacted support, but when the reply came, the link in the email (which is supposed to show me the reply) led me to a 404 not found page.
Change TIM.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobKay97 View Post
How do I get the MSI Afterburner On Screen Display working?
I have added the BC2 exe to it, but what do i do next?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ View Post
You can always ask Unwinder who is the author of Afterburner these types of questions over at Guru3d.
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55

Quote:
Originally Posted by xGTx View Post
alex, do the 580 lighning XEs have binned gpus? thanks
http://www.overclock.net/graphics-ca...cking-gpu.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post
Hey alex, quick Q, which popped into my head a moment ago.
Yes or no:
Compatibility of Accelero xtreme+ on msi's 560ti tf2
No idea.
MSIalex is offline  
post #640 of 786 Old 07-18-2011, 11:25 PM
1.7ghz
 
makesithappen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
What's the deal with N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II/OC

Can someone who owns the same card confirm please if this is normal or perhaps manufacturer error/bonus

Do they use HAWK pcb or am I missing something?

At the bottom where you connect to your pci slot there's a small sticker, if i remove it just a tad I can see HAWK

I can provide picture unless it's a common thing.


EDIT.
Never mind, it does appear to use the same board

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/gra...i-1gb-review/1

"It is a fact that cannot be denied: the wickedness of others becomes our own wickedness because it kindles something evil in our own hearts."
Carl Jung
makesithappen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off