Setup Questions - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Chris13002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: D.C. USA
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I am planning on upgrading my current Corsair TX-750 watt to either a HX1000W or AX1200... While doing so, my Asus P6X58D-e MB has no space inbetween cards and therefore the top card gets roughly 4-9 degrees C hotter... I am wondering if I can space them out... The MB came with two different SLI cables, one for two and another for three... The cable is not long enough for spacing the GTX 580 down two more pci slots so I am wondernig if I can use the tri-sli cable for my two gtx 580's??? Also I don't believe there are enough pci slots to cover the dual spacing of the gpu on the Antec twelve hundred case while the card is on that third pci-x slot....
I am at work now, and can't confirm that slot... but will give an update. Any experiences?
BradleyW likes this.
Chris13002 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 09:45 AM
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 27,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris13002;13188555 
I am planning on upgrading my current Corsair TX-750 watt to either a HX1000W or AX1200... While doing so, my Asus P6X58D-e MB has no space inbetween cards and therefore the top card gets roughly 4-9 degrees C hotter... I am wondering if I can space them out... The MB came with two different SLI cables, one for two and another for three... The cable is not long enough for spacing the GTX 580 down two more pci slots so I am wondernig if I can use the tri-sli cable for my two gtx 580's??? Also I don't believe there are enough pci slots to cover the dual spacing of the gpu on the Antec twelve hundred case while the card is on that third pci-x slot....
I am at work now, and can't confirm that slot... but will give an update. Any experiences?

If the top card is only 4-9c hotter then that's perfectly normal and fine. I would say go with the Corsair AX1200, however your rig will only pull 700w in heavy games if that.
BradleyW is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 09:51 AM
Programmer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio, TEXAS
Posts: 1,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Yea go with the Corsair man ,that is a great powersupply. Although it is a bit overkill for your rig, powersupplies are most efficient when @ ~50% load so you will be GREEN!

Also, that cable should work just fine... And if the card doesn't fit in the lower slot then its really not that big of a deal. Those temps aren;t to bad and the top card will always run hotter as heat rises drum.gif
Phobos223 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 09:58 AM
Retired Member
 
windfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
1) Yes, you can move the lower card further down to the last (white) PCIe x16 slot to put more space between the 2 cards. (You will need to go into BIOS to manually reassign the lane width from x16/x16/x1 to x16/x8/x8)

2) Yes, you can use the longer 3-way SLI bridge to connect the 2 cards.

3) However, the Antec 1200 has only 7 PCI slots and therefore, if you move the lower GTX580 to the bottom slot, the rear exhaust of the card will not have an opening for it to exhaust hot air. No good!
(Additionally, that dual slot card might conflict with the USB and front panel I/O and Power/Reset headers on the mobo.)
So, you will have to solve these 2 problems before moving the card down.

A tip to help out the top card having higher temp:
Connect your 42'' LCD TV to the lower card. By doing so, the lower card will become the primary card and the top card becomes the 'slave' card. This arrangement might lower the temp of the top card for 1-3C. No promise that this tip will work as some motherboards must have the primary card located in the topmost slot.
Chris13002 likes this.
windfire is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-19-2011, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Chris13002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: D.C. USA
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Thanks for the heads up, AX1200 it is... Spend the little more and keep it green and not worry about the 500 watt x2 design with an inbalanced load on HX1000W.

I will just keep the cards in their current slot and I guess 4-9 C isn't bad. Definitely not going to block the rear exhaust by putting the card in the 3rd slot(might as well just fry the card at that point). I like the Nvidia designs on these cards to have vents for air input on the ends of the cards vs AMD...
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4254/triplegpu-performance-multigpu-scaling-part1/2

Also thought of adjusting the fans using EVGA precision but since everything is stock, I really see no need... thanks for the inputs guys!
Chris13002 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off