Windows XP Pro 65 bit edition? What does it do for you? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-23-2006, 02:05 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just switching over to an AMD system for performance reasons.

However, what exaclty is the difference between 32 bit and 64 ? What does it do for me?

Is it worthwhile to switch to a Windows XP Pro 64 bit o/s?

I hear Vista is soon out? Is it going to be offered in 64? Should I wait for that to come out?

Thanks!

KANJIBANKERS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-23-2006, 02:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gearbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Microsoft answers some of your questions in Top 5 reasons to get Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

At this point, it's not recommended to upgrade unless you are an enthusiast. Almost no programs run on 64-bit and drivers need their own 64-bit versions also, which is rare.

Vista will be out next year and will come in both 32-bit and 64-bit.


1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Gearbox is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-23-2006, 02:43 AM
2.4ghz
 
Tezzanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Darlington
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
i have a q, does XP 64-bit actually run 32-bit apps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fliphouse089 go_quote.gif
ouch man.... if you would consider a flat metal sheet with a 120mm hole slightly offcenter towards the right, and seven "expansion slots" to be better than you're girls ass.... you might want to reconsider you're dating practices...
Tezzanator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 02-28-2006, 12:26 PM
4.0ghz
 
Nevaziah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /home
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 196
TEZZANATOR, i got a question for you, do you get any problems with your ati x1600 crashing some of your games? I have the same model but in 512 mb and it crashes constantly with my asus a8nSLI-premium...

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE USING FEDEX OR UPS INTERNATIONALLY
Quote:
Left 4 Dead II: Starcraft II: League of Legends: Unreal Tournament III: Battlefield Bad Company 2Using HotKeys and Control Groups in Starcraft 2
Nevaziah is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-01-2006, 02:02 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pacific City, Oregon
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I did notice that that extra bit from 64 to 65 caused me to not be able to run pretty much any consumer devices (scanners, printers, etc.) ...
Little perf difference. Not worth it.

Wait for 66 bit.

I'm too old to be governed by fear of dumb people.
satansmurf is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-01-2006, 04:04 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by satansmurf
I did notice that that extra bit from 64 to 65 caused me to not be able to run pretty much any consumer devices (scanners, printers, etc.) ...
Little perf difference. Not worth it.

Wait for 66 bit.
It was an obvious typo, but way to make a big deal out of it.


Quote:
i have a q, does XP 64-bit actually run 32-bit apps?
Yes, they do, but there is a slight performance loss so it is recommended you don't switch yet.
Peroxide is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off