[Solved] disk managment and dual boot problems in windows 7, help pleez - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
This Is The End
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 67.220.212.115
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Yes I tried DISKPART and it did me no good.

I no longer use the "other" Windows 7..but it won't let me get rid of it.



headphone.gifFLACWMP-HCSchiit Modi / Shiit MagniBeyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250 Ohm) headphone.gif

Guides (Click to show)Quotes (Click to show)
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe."
-Carl Sagan

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

"What you are, you are by accident of birth; what I am, I am by myself.
There are and will be a thousand princes; there is only one Beethoven."
-Ludwig van Beethoven

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kennyparker1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:06 PM
I laugh at some of the wanted posts...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: God save the Queen!
Posts: 11,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Ok, i'm really confused. So you're running windows 7 but you installed windows 7 again and now you want to remove an old copy of windows 7?

Can you elaborate on your current situation.

Hidden Text Below! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhudson go_quote.gif
are you saying that a single core cpu cant run more than one process? because im positive i can run windows media player and google chrome at the same time on my amd sempron chip...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TestECull go_quote.gif
Mic jack? That'd be hotdog down hallway turf in this situation.


I suggest the manual release hole on the optical drive. Bonus points if you eject the tray!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Xeb go_quote.gif
Overclocking isn't buying the fastest just to be fast, it is buying the cheapest and making it fast!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

compuman145 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:13 PM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 96744
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
You can edit your boot.ini file to get rid of the multiboot option
Might wanna save what you have on your s:\\
before you start messing with it. Wish I could be of more help but I would need a computer to help research

If I had to take a stab at it. O would unmount the drive and delete all partitions
kennyparker1337 likes this.

Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  7 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

808MP5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
This Is The End
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 67.220.212.115
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by compuman145 View Post
Ok, i'm really confused. So you're running windows 7 but you installed windows 7 again and now you want to remove an old copy of windows 7?

Can you elaborate on your current situation.
You pretty much got it.

Installed windows on SSD, from it being on HDD. Using HDD as storage now.
Original windows will not perm. go away even after wiping away the /Windows folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MP5 View Post
You can edit your boot.ini file to get rid of the multiboot option
Might wanna save what you have on your s:\\
before you start messing with it. Wish I could be of more help but I would need a computer to help research

If I had to take a stab at it. O would unmount the drive and delete all partitions
Where is boot.ini located?

I currently don't have any place to put Storage, I do have a 1TB backup, just not with me atm.

headphone.gifFLACWMP-HCSchiit Modi / Shiit MagniBeyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250 Ohm) headphone.gif

Guides (Click to show)Quotes (Click to show)
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe."
-Carl Sagan

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

"What you are, you are by accident of birth; what I am, I am by myself.
There are and will be a thousand princes; there is only one Beethoven."
-Ludwig van Beethoven

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:20 PM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 96744
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Boot.ini is a hidden file. U will need to edit ur folder options to see hidden/file system files. Then u can run a search for it

Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  7 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

808MP5 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
This Is The End
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 67.220.212.115
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MP5 View Post
Boot.ini is a hidden file. U will need to edit ur folder options to see hidden/file system files. Then u can run a search for it
Searched entire computer with hidden files shown, nothing.

Had to show protected system files also.

Still not here.

headphone.gifFLACWMP-HCSchiit Modi / Shiit MagniBeyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250 Ohm) headphone.gif

Guides (Click to show)Quotes (Click to show)
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe."
-Carl Sagan

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

"What you are, you are by accident of birth; what I am, I am by myself.
There are and will be a thousand princes; there is only one Beethoven."
-Ludwig van Beethoven

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:34 PM
2.4ghz
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 96744
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Cool just make sure u delete the correct line.

Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant  7 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

808MP5 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
This Is The End
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 67.220.212.115
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Apparently windows 7 does not use Boot.ini but a boot loader.

you can access boot loader by CMD.EXE -> BCDEDIT.EXE ... and then thats where the fun begins /sigh

headphone.gifFLACWMP-HCSchiit Modi / Shiit MagniBeyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250 Ohm) headphone.gif

Guides (Click to show)Quotes (Click to show)
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe."
-Carl Sagan

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

"What you are, you are by accident of birth; what I am, I am by myself.
There are and will be a thousand princes; there is only one Beethoven."
-Ludwig van Beethoven

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kennyparker1337 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-21-2011, 07:00 PM
I laugh at some of the wanted posts...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: God save the Queen!
Posts: 11,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Actually it's windows 7 and doesn't have a boot.ini file. Instead windows 7 boots off BCD. You use BCDEDIT to change it

OK, so here is what you do, If you don't have any data that you need kept. Just trash both disks and install your OS with just your SSD in. Otherwise it could do the same thing and put system partitions on another disk.

To be honest, this is going to be the easiest way. Otherwise it's just a hassle.

Comps
kennyparker1337 likes this.

Hidden Text Below! (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhudson go_quote.gif
are you saying that a single core cpu cant run more than one process? because im positive i can run windows media player and google chrome at the same time on my amd sempron chip...
Quote:
Originally Posted by TestECull go_quote.gif
Mic jack? That'd be hotdog down hallway turf in this situation.


I suggest the manual release hole on the optical drive. Bonus points if you eject the tray!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Xeb go_quote.gif
Overclocking isn't buying the fastest just to be fast, it is buying the cheapest and making it fast!

Chimp Challenge Participant 

compuman145 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-22-2011, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
This Is The End
 
kennyparker1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 67.220.212.115
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 352
I thought I'd provide you with an update:

All I did was type BCDEDIT.EXE into the command line, and on the next report it said OS was missing BOOTMGR, and would not boot... /sigh So never run BCDEDIT please.
Update: Turns out if you install Windows 7 with a second hard drive, it might put the "system partition" on that disk. So when I deleted the system partition, it corrupted windows. REMOVE ALL EXTRA HDDS BEFORE INSTALLING WINDOWS!!!

But this was a blessing in disguise, as I could not get Windows 7 SP1 to install...

AND, it turns out the only way to delete system partitions, is during the installation of windows from the CD.

So, I am in the process of installing Windows 7 Pro downgrading from Ultimate to avoid a system partition and extra GBs of crap I don't use.

All though there still is this 1MB partition that shows up as 0MB during the windows install frown.gif but I'm chalking that up to a glitch in the system that would be fixed by a complete format of the HDD, just don't have the means to do that yet.

I'm marking this solved.

Thx for your help!

headphone.gifFLACWMP-HCSchiit Modi / Shiit MagniBeyerdynamic DT 990 Pro (250 Ohm) headphone.gif

Guides (Click to show)Quotes (Click to show)
"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe."
-Carl Sagan

“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

"What you are, you are by accident of birth; what I am, I am by myself.
There are and will be a thousand princes; there is only one Beethoven."
-Ludwig van Beethoven

Chimp Challenge Participant  3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

kennyparker1337 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off