Waterfox 56.0.2: 7 January [Free, open and private web browser.] - Page 499 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 11:05 AM
 
pierredupont17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnyb View Post

I just found Waterfox and I think it is fantastic. However, I am not able to get RoboForm to work with it. It will go to the webpage, but will not enter the username/password automatically. Anybody else see this? Anybody have a fix?

There is nothing to do : Roboform doesn't work with 64 bits browser.
Actually the only solution is to replace Roboform by Lastpass
pierredupont17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 07:07 PM
 
piousminion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This lag is killing me.

Since version 18 I have been getting multi-second complete freezes. It's like the browser gets caught up with doing something in the background and the whole thing chokes up. Sometimes I even "not responding" and a faded window or white-outed toolbars. This makes videos (flash or html5) almost unwatchable.

I've noticed many people reporting the same thing.
Is there any word on a fix or a workaround?
piousminion is offline  
post #4983 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 07:47 PM
333mhz
 
nevets1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by piousminion View Post

This lag is killing me.

Since version 18 I have been getting multi-second complete freezes. It's like the browser gets caught up with doing something in the background and the whole thing chokes up. Sometimes I even "not responding" and a faded window or white-outed toolbars. This makes videos (flash or html5) almost unwatchable.

I've noticed many people reporting the same thing.
Is there any word on a fix or a workaround?

Different people had different problems - for some it's still an on-going issue. However, for me the problem was solved after I uninstalled KB2670838 - the alternative is to disable hardware acceleration in Waterfox.

EDIT: I believe Microsoft knows of this issue and has removed it from the recommended updates but if you are usually up-to-date on the updates you might have already installed it.

nevets1219 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4984 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:06 PM
 
Grumpigeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Keepass also works with 64-bit browsers. smile.gif
Grumpigeek is offline  
post #4985 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:08 PM
 
Grumpigeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by donnyb View Post

I just found Waterfox and I think it is fantastic. However, I am not able to get RoboForm to work with it. It will go to the webpage, but will not enter the username/password automatically. Anybody else see this? Anybody have a fix?


Keepass also works with 64-bit browsers. smile.gif
Grumpigeek is offline  
post #4986 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:09 PM
 
Grumpigeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
deleted.
Grumpigeek is offline  
post #4987 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:21 PM
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets1219 View Post

Different people had different problems - for some it's still an on-going issue. However, for me the problem was solved after I uninstalled KB2670838 - the alternative is to disable hardware acceleration in Waterfox.

EDIT: I believe Microsoft knows of this issue and has removed it from the recommended updates but if you are usually up-to-date on the updates you might have already installed it.

What's KB2670838 specifically?

kevindd992002 is offline  
post #4988 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:28 PM
333mhz
 
nevets1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post

What's KB2670838 specifically?

Link to KB2670838. It's an update for Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008.

EDIT: You should try the standard troubleshooting for Firefox (start in safe mode, new profile, doing clean install of plugings, etc). Much of the troubleshooting procedures for both Firefox and Waterfox are the same.

nevets1219 is offline  
post #4989 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 09:51 PM
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets1219 View Post

Link to KB2670838. It's an update for Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008.

EDIT: You should try the standard troubleshooting for Firefox (start in safe mode, new profile, doing clean install of plugings, etc). Much of the troubleshooting procedures for both Firefox and Waterfox are the same.

Thanks. How do I know if I got it installed in my system? Is this really known to produce problems to Win7?

kevindd992002 is offline  
post #4990 of 7375 Old 03-15-2013, 11:20 PM
 
NomakeWan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevets1219 View Post

Different people had different problems - for some it's still an on-going issue. However, for me the problem was solved after I uninstalled KB2670838 - the alternative is to disable hardware acceleration in Waterfox.

EDIT: I believe Microsoft knows of this issue and has removed it from the recommended updates but if you are usually up-to-date on the updates you might have already installed it.
As noted in a post before, disabling hardware acceleration in Waterfox did not solve the micro-stutter problem I and the user you quoted are describing. I am currently on Firefox Nightly 22.0a1 x64 and it is completely free of the problem regardless of the hardware acceleration setting. They are using the same add-ons, same plugin, same profile with same tabs.

There's something inherently wrong in Waterfox 18.0.1 that wasn't there in 16 and isn't in the Firefox code in 22.
NomakeWan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off