Poem@Home Gpu support! - Page 12 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #111 of 396 Old 10-05-2012, 09:37 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
clark_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamer11200 View Post

My Radeon HD 6870 does 4 in about 1hr 5min - 1hr15minutes. The variance is high since I'm I'm usually web surfing or watching videos,
What clocks do you run it at? Is that 4 GPU units or just 4 units total?

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2


post-flame-small.gif 4 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
2001 VW Golf GLS TDI 210,000 miles and counting biggrin.gif
clark_b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #112 of 396 Old 10-05-2012, 04:03 PM
333mhz
 
tommykl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I am assuming 4 WU simultaneous, with my 6950 I crunch 6 simultaneously WU right around the 1hr8min at 910Mhz. GPU usage is about 78-82% while CPU sits around 75-85%.

I believe humans get a lot done, not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee.
~Flash Rosenberg

tommykl is offline  
post #113 of 396 Old 10-05-2012, 11:03 PM
PC Gamer
 
DigitalSavior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by clark_b View Post

What clocks do you run it at? Is that 4 GPU units or just 4 units total?
Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

Running at 1050 at the moment.

DigitalSavior is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #114 of 396 Old 10-06-2012, 05:36 PM
YES! YES! YES!
 
gamer11200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by clark_b View Post

What clocks do you run it at? Is that 4 GPU units or just 4 units total?
Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

4 GPU work units. These run on my Gaming/BOINC rig in the sig. I set it so that BOINC will utilize 3 CPU cores for CPU tasks from other projects alongside the POEM@Home GPU tasks.

I run the card at the stock clocks that it came with (900MHz core, 1050MHz memory)
gamer11200 is offline  
post #115 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 06:40 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
clark_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 113
How do you get it to run multiple GPU units simultaneously? I haven't been able to find any info on that.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2


post-flame-small.gif 4 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
2001 VW Golf GLS TDI 210,000 miles and counting biggrin.gif
clark_b is offline  
post #116 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 08:28 AM
Boinctastic
 
magic8192's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MS
Posts: 1,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by clark_b View Post

How do you get it to run multiple GPU units simultaneously? I haven't been able to find any info on that.
Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

You will need to run an app_info.xml file and put it in the POEM application folder on your computer.

It is "c:\program data\BOINC\projects\boinc.fzk.de_poem" by default

The app_info.xml is configurable and you can control how many threads run on the GPU and how much processor usage for each thread.

Change the cpu usage with
Code:
<avg_ncpus>0.50</avg_ncpus>
<max_ncpus>0.50</max_ncpus>

and the number of threads with
Code:
<count>0.50</count>

.5 will run 2 threads
.25 will run 4 threads
clark_b likes this.

magic8192 is offline  
post #117 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 11:46 AM
 
Biorganic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adrift in a SEE of change
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 68
@Digital, have you tried running 5 or even 6 WUs? You may get higher ppd. I am running a comparison right now on my rig to determine if 5,6, or 7 WUs are better for my 7950. Currently it looks like 7 is better than 5. I will need to re-test 6.

I am sort of shooting myself in the foot here, as you are super close to me in rankings/points on BOINCstats. O Well, its for the science anyhow. biggrin.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by PunkX 1 go_quote.gif

User - "I have (something that is not a 290x) and I play on a (monitor that is lower than 1440p). I get stutters, please help."

You - "You are a peasant with peasant hardware. Upgrade."
Biorganic is offline  
post #118 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 01:31 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Doc_Gonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Many thanks to Dark for helping me via PM's to get poem running on my 7850. Now running 4 WU's and churning out over 600K PPD thumb.gif
Doc_Gonzo is offline  
post #119 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 03:02 PM
Dr. Boincinstein
 
DarkRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: KY , USA
Posts: 6,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
yw man biggrin.gif

OCN'S WhatPulse team, come join us!
OCN's Boinc Team. Come Join Us!!
My Boinc Project's Stats
_.=5GHz Overclock Club=._
"All is Fair in Love And Boinc." : DarkRyder
"May the Boinc be with you... always." : DarkRyder
DarkRyder is online now  
post #120 of 396 Old 10-08-2012, 03:28 PM
PC Gamer
 
DigitalSavior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biorganic View Post

@Digital, have you tried running 5 or even 6 WUs? You may get higher ppd. I am running a comparison right now on my rig to determine if 5,6, or 7 WUs are better for my 7950. Currently it looks like 7 is better than 5. I will need to re-test 6.
I am sort of shooting myself in the foot here, as you are super close to me in rankings/points on BOINCstats. O Well, its for the science anyhow. biggrin.gif

I'll change it when I get home and report back when I get some results.

DigitalSavior is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off