[Guide] How to run BOINC on HP Cloud Services Free Beta - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 31 Old 02-29-2012, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Usually you would find your full account key on your account page for each project (each account is different), but MW@H doesn't seem to show it. Try the following command in the terminal window and see if that returns a key for you:
Code:
boinccmd --lookup_account http://milkyway.cs.rpi.edu/milkyway email password

Where email / password is the e-mail address and password of your MW@H account.


Edit: Corrected the URL.
jetpak12 likes this.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.

BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

GingerJohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 31 Old 02-29-2012, 12:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jetpak12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by GingerJohn View Post

Usually you would find your full account key on your account page for each project (each account is different), but MW@H doesn't seem to show it. Try the following command in the terminal window and see if that returns a key for you:
Code:
boinccmd --lookup_account http://milkyway.cs.rpi.edu email password

Where email / password is the e-mail address and password of your MW@H account.


That returned:
Code:
status: Success
poll status: operation in progress
poll status: file not found

Do you know if I can use the weak account key?

EDIT: Okay, I figured it out, your suggestion worked perfectly, only the URL was wrong, which is why it couldn't find anything.

Using http://milkyway.cs.rpi.edu/milkway/ returned my key and its running fine now.

Boy I feel like a noob, lol, but at least I'm starting to get the hang of it. thumb.gif

4 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

jetpak12 is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 02-29-2012, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetpak12 View Post

That returned:
Code:
status: Success
poll status: operation in progress
poll status: file not found
Do you know if I can use the weak account key?

Interesting. Looks like MW@H doesn't have a full account key then. Try using the weak one and see what you get, if that doesn't try the following:
How to use your Weak account key (Click to show)
Quote:
Your 'weak account key' lets you link a computer to your account without giving it the ability to log in to your account or to change it in any way. This mechanism works only with projects that have upgraded their server software 7 Dec 2007 or later.

To use your weak account key on a given host, find or create the 'account file' for this project. This file has a name of the form account_PROJECT_URL.xml. The account file for MilkyWay@Home is account_milkyway.cs.rpi.edu_milkyway.xml.

Create this file if needed. Set its contents to:
Code:
<account>
    <master_url>http://milkyway.cs.rpi.edu/milkyway/</master_url>
    <authenticator>Your Weak Account Key goes here</authenticator>
</account>
Your weak account key is a function of your password. If you change your password, your weak account key changes, and your previous weak account key becomes invalid.

If that doesn't work, I am out of ideas.

Edit: Fixed the problem.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.

BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

GingerJohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 31 Old 02-29-2012, 12:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jetpak12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I tried editting my last post, but its not appearing for me, so I'll just make a new post. rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I got your initial suggestion to work. The only problem was that the URL was wrong. I used http://milkway.cs.rpi.edu/milkyway/ (I didn't have the last part the first time), and it returned my key and it worked like a charm.

Thanks! cheers.gif

4 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

jetpak12 is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 02-29-2012, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Yes, my edits seem screwed up too. I have changed the URL in my previous post, sorry I got it wrong!

Glad that worked for you, I would be interested in what kind of points you get with the CPU application for MW@H.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.

BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

GingerJohn is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 03-01-2012, 03:37 AM
 
Stef42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for this nice guide! Only problem is, I can't get past the Putty configuration point. I managed to receive a Public IP and the keypair. I created a .ppk file called Server1.ppk

I saved a profile in Putty, named after the Public IP. When I try to open, it says: ''Network error: Connection refused''.
The keypair and public IP are correct, I've done everything I should have done. Can anyone help? thumb.gif


EDIT: I've got it working now. It seems (because I live outside the US) I can only use region 2, not 1.

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Stef42 is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 03-01-2012, 07:57 AM
Dr. Boincinstein
 
DarkRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: KY , USA
Posts: 6,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 109
interesting...

OCN'S WhatPulse team, come join us!
OCN's Boinc Team. Come Join Us!!
My Boinc Project's Stats
_.=5GHz Overclock Club=._
"All is Fair in Love And Boinc." : DarkRyder
"May the Boinc be with you... always." : DarkRyder

5 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member  BGB Participant 2014  BOINC Pentathlon 6x Participant 

DarkRyder is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 03-01-2012, 08:23 AM
 
Stef42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Because this BOINC client is command line, I've got this website to check with commands can be used:
http://boincfaq.mundayweb.com/index.php?view=503&language=1

It's very simple although some things are a bit tricky.

For example, if I want to check the current status for every project (or just one):
Code:
boinccmd --get_project_status

If you want to have no new work from malariacontrol.net (just an example):
Code:
boinccmd --project http://malariacontrol.net/ nonewwork

If you want new work again:
Code:
boinccmd --project http://malariacontrol.net/ allowmorework

After that:
Code:
boinccmd --get_project_status

Look for the line to make sure nonewwork is checked:
Code:
don't request more work: yes

Just to make sure, after all work is complete, and you would like to detach:
Code:
boinccmd --project http://malariacontrol.net/ detach

Again, to make sure it's gone:
Code:
boinccmd --get_project_status

Chimp Challenge 2 x Participant 

Stef42 is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 03-01-2012, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GingerJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 7,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Updated the OP with a few basic commands. I had linked to a full list of "boinccmd"s but it wasn't obvious.

Inspiring Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsairGeorge go_quote.gif

All of our new products will be carved out of styrofoam and painted to look like actual parts. And we will be tripling the price on everything. And closing customer service and tech support. Our new corporate motto will be "Too Bad, Jerks."
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIDWULF go_quote.gif

Console? just to play with friends and relax on the couch?
HAH! nice try Microsoft and Sony! I don't have any friends!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzie1225 go_quote.gif

I want everyone to know that I kiss every CPU I install before sticking it in the motherboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alatar go_quote.gif

I'm actually somewhat annoying
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrews2547 go_quote.gif

I'm never sarcastic in the news section.

BOINC Pentathlon Participant x3 

GingerJohn is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 03-13-2012, 04:52 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
chmodlabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So how would I go about linking 20 of my hp cloud server instances together (all 2core 2gb ram.small) through boinc to compute for my own folding at home account? Basically how do I link all of the servers together to compute as one massive SMP client?
Thanks
- chmodlabs

Advanced cooling research @ Chmod Labs Austin
Current Build --> Core i7-2600k @ stock - ASUS Maximus Gene IV - Corsair H80i - EVGA GTX 670 2Gb - Patriot Viper 3 16Gb 1866Mhz Ram

And yes I was first to design and market a Antec Kuhler 620 GPU mount (it's better than dwood's!)
NOVEC 7000 is just really amazing stuff

Chimp Challenge Participant 

chmodlabs is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off