[Ubuntu] Setting up big-bigadv (P6903) for dedicated 2600k - Page 28 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:15 PM
4.0ghz
 
Tunapiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunapiano;14607445 
it all seems to be working, i didn't see it doing this when it downloaded the WU and started on it

scripts13.jpg

but i can't let it run right now to test it, i have WU in windows right now on the 2600k so when it finishes tomorrow night or thursday i'll switch. thanks for all the help!

i am still not sure it's running right, this is what i see when i run it.

ubuntu1.png

ubuntu-1.png


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tunapiano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:21 PM
4.0ghz
 
Tunapiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
10 minutes later it's still saying that so i think it started right but it may have stopped?\ but idk because 500000 isn't a -bigadv.

Edit**

neither the Ubuntu VM or windows says the CPU is being used much, does the corefix do something to prevent it from showing being used?

folding3.png


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tunapiano is offline  
post #273 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:27 PM
"Canada" is 50% the letter "a"
 
zodac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 46,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 507
Langouste is fine, and it's not guarenteed that you'd get a -bigadv WU, sadly.

Some say that putting on the -advmethods flag helps, but can't confirm on that. Worth a try though. tongue.gif

I was not fired. sozo.gif


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2015  40 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

zodac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:34 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: C.A.N.A.D.A.
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
-advmethods with -bigadv has always guaranteed that I wouldn't get a bigadv.

The corefix makes it so the resource monitor will not show anything in Ubuntu... just go off your core temps.

Now, I wouldn't think that would do anything to the resource monitor in Windows. But I don't have any experience with vms...

What project is it? 500000 is what a bigadv says...

I noticed something else weird... it says 'making 1d domain decomposition 1 x 8 x 1'... I've only ever seen it say 8 x 1 x 1... don't know if that's anything, either.. it still says starting 8 threads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif

Asshat. hmmsmiley02.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG on IRC 
(@BWG): The mach says, your 4.6 GHz oc is like a stroll in a Geo Metro down the California drag strip

50 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2017 

mach1 is offline  
post #275 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:39 PM
4.0ghz
 
Tunapiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach1;14616859 
-advmethods with -bigadv has always guaranteed that I wouldn't get a bigadv.

The corefix makes it so the resource monitor will not show anything in Ubuntu... just go off your core temps.

Now, I wouldn't think that would do anything to the resource monitor in Windows. But I don't have any experience with vms...

What project is it? 500000 is what a bigadv says...

I noticed something else weird... it says 'making 1d domain decomposition 1 x 8 x 1'... I've only ever seen it say 8 x 1 x 1... don't know if that's anything, either.. it still says starting 8 threads.

it does say 8 threads but it also says it detected 12 cores.

cores.png

cores2.png


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tunapiano is offline  
post #276 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:42 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: C.A.N.A.D.A.
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
You're all good, then.

What project is it doing right now?

EDIT: just noticed it says a3... so not a bigadv.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif

Asshat. hmmsmiley02.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG on IRC 
(@BWG): The mach says, your 4.6 GHz oc is like a stroll in a Geo Metro down the California drag strip

50 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2017 

mach1 is offline  
post #277 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:44 PM
4.0ghz
 
Tunapiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
project 6069, i always thought -bigadv was bigger than 500000 but i have been using v7 since the day it came out and i never ran -bigadv in 6.34 before.

i also stopped using HFM when v7 came out.


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tunapiano is offline  
post #278 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:47 PM
Overclocker in Training
 
mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: C.A.N.A.D.A.
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
So you have -bigadv set, but didn't get one. Hmmm.. hope there's not another shortage of bigadvs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zodac go_quote.gif

Asshat. hmmsmiley02.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG on IRC 
(@BWG): The mach says, your 4.6 GHz oc is like a stroll in a Geo Metro down the California drag strip

50 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Foldathon Participant 2017 

mach1 is offline  
post #279 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:47 PM
4.0ghz
 
Tunapiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
i just checked my cpu temps, they are all over the place, from the low 40's to the high 50's. none of them are staying constant like they used to.

coretemp.png


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tunapiano is offline  
post #280 of 771 Old 08-17-2011, 12:49 PM
Flash hwaiting!
 
rurushu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Tunapiano, make sure that your VM has all 8 cores allocated and also, allocate >4GB memory to it. To do that, stop the VM and click "Edit virtual machine settings".

Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  40 Million+ Folding at Home points 

rurushu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off