*Updated* AMD GPU Folding on 12.11 beta drivers and 13.1 WHQL drivers - Page 19 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 03:23 PM
AMD Overclocker
 
Krusher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 252
He's so sneaky. ninja.gif

Stop asking "why would you do that?" We're in "the pursuit of performance" here.
Do you have Too Much Airflow?

6 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Krusher33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 05:52 PM
Case Modder
 
chino1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lowell Ma.
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bal3Wolf View Post

Just modded the newest 13.2 betas no need to install any caps in them they have newer ones already 2 links below for you guys.
http://bal3wolf.centelia.net/AMD_Catalyst_13.2_Beta3.exe
http://darkryder.com/files/Drivers/Amd/AMD_Catalyst_13.2_Beta3-opencl-from-12.4.exe

Does this perform any better or worse than 12.11 modded ?


1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

chino1974 is offline  
post #183 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 06:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardstown,Kentucky
Posts: 17,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by chino1974 View Post

Does this perform any better or worse than 12.11 modded ?

folding should be about the same driver fixes some problems in games.

20 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant X4  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Bal3Wolf is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 06:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bal3Wolf View Post

Just modded the newest 13.2 betas no need to install any caps in them they have newer ones already 2 links below for you guys.
http://bal3wolf.centelia.net/AMD_Catalyst_13.2_Beta3.exe
http://darkryder.com/files/Drivers/Amd/AMD_Catalyst_13.2_Beta3-opencl-from-12.4.exe

Hmm someone at FF said 13.2 beta 3 resolved the GPU Utilization. Remnants of prior good install or actual fix?

250 Million Folding Points  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2  Foldathon Participant 2016  Foldathon Participant 2017  Forum Folding War 2017 

mmonnin is offline  
post #185 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 07:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardstown,Kentucky
Posts: 17,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmonnin View Post

Hmm someone at FF said 13.2 beta 3 resolved the GPU Utilization. Remnants of prior good install or actual fix?

cant say i use my drivers to boinc but they have fixed the folding problem also you would have to test the offical betas and see if they fix it if they dont use mine.

20 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant  Chimp Challenge Participant X4  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Bal3Wolf is online now  
post #186 of 365 Old 01-29-2013, 08:48 PM
WaterCooler
 
Kevdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 96

I just picked up a 6950 unlocked to a 6970 over the weekend and it wouldn't fold at all on the 13.1 from AMD but after I used that driver removal tool and installed the 12.11 beta 7 its folding like a champ at 8800 ppd on stock 6970 clocks...thumb.gif


Kevdogs Law (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach1 go_quote.gif

Kevdog's Law states that during a folding event such as a Foldathon, previously stable folding equipment will invariably fail and possibly self-destruct.
This law has touched everyone at one time or another. In my case, multiple times.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WonderMutt View Post
Kevdog's 2nd Law states that when one stops folding, previously stable folding equipment will invariably fail and possibly self-destruct.
Kevdog's 3rd Law states that previously stable folding equipment will invariably fail and possibly self-destruct.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hertz9753 View Post
I met Tom Petty yesterday and shook his hand. He leaned into me and asked "Do you know Kevdog? His law is famous".

75 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

Kevdog is offline  
post #187 of 365 Old 01-30-2013, 08:17 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I used Balwolf on 13,1 with 12,4 and it folded A1 99% uses on both 6970. Proglem is that i can't get a decent set up to fold with both gpu and my cpu without drastically lowering my cpu PPD. I have about the same PPD with CPU only. i tried -1smp/10smp/11 smp, it's all bad.

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif

Chimp Challenge Participant  5 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Frank33 is offline  
post #188 of 365 Old 01-30-2013, 08:49 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Krusher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 11,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevdog View Post

I just picked up a 6950 unlocked to a 6970 over the weekend and it wouldn't fold at all on the 13.1 from AMD but after I used that driver removal tool and installed the 12.11 beta 7 its folding like a champ at 8800 ppd on stock 6970 clocks...thumb.gif
Get it up to 1000mhz and you'll be folding at 10k PPD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank33 View Post

I used Balwolf on 13,1 with 12,4 and it folded A1 99% uses on both 6970. Proglem is that i can't get a decent set up to fold with both gpu and my cpu without drastically lowering my cpu PPD. I have about the same PPD with CPU only. i tried -1smp/10smp/11 smp, it's all bad.

Yeah with AMD cards, you'll need to reserve a core or 2 to the GPU folding and fold SMP on the rest of the CPU.

Stop asking "why would you do that?" We're in "the pursuit of performance" here.
Do you have Too Much Airflow?

6 Million+ Folding at Home points  Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant  Foldathon Folder - 2012 Participant  BOINC Pentathlon Participant x2 

Krusher33 is offline  
post #189 of 365 Old 01-30-2013, 09:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mmonnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 262
mmonnin is offline  
post #190 of 365 Old 01-30-2013, 03:02 PM
♪ Cruisin' down the street in my 6-4 ♪
 
cam51037's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Right now AMD folding is unbelievably horrid. My 670, 7850 and 2600k @ 4.4 GHz folding 4 core (with HT on) rack me about 35k PPD. Using all the same units, but disabling the 7850 I get 50k PPD. Bumping the CPU to 6 cores while folding on the 670 nets me around 55k PPD. That's ridiculous! It'd be wonderful if when Core 17 releases that I can get 100k PPD, but I'll have to wait for that, the max I reach with a 670 Sig2 and 2600k 4.4 GHz 6 cores is around 60k PPD.

Chimp Challenge Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points  Foldathon Folder - 2013 Participant 

cam51037 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off