Vmware 1.0.4 + Ubuntu Guide - Page 52 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 772 Old 06-29-2008, 09:52 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Add me to the list of users. Big thanks to Bal3wolf and PhelanJKell!

Manufacturing Consent is the Name of the Game
dankoni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 04:36 AM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
How do you guys have the affinity set up. I'm running the dual instances + GPU2, with the affinity changer. According to fahmon I'm only getting 6500 PPD on that rig. The rig is running at 3.2ghz and the 8800GT is 687/1652/873.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #513 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 04:53 AM
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibsonnova74 View Post
How do you guys have the affinity set up. I'm running the dual instances + GPU2, with the affinity changer. According to fahmon I'm only getting 6500 PPD on that rig. The rig is running at 3.2ghz and the 8800GT is 687/1652/873.
I'm running 2 instances of VMware Player + 1 GPU client w/ only affinity changer. I leave the 2 SMP clients at normal priority and the gpu client at low priority. I did not have to change the affinity.


Chimp Challenge Participant 

wire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 05:01 AM
51° 31' 0 N 0° -6' 0 E
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winebar
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 416
I just run single SMP and GPU2 with Quad at stock 2.4ghz to get



sometimes it does 7k ppd

and just added single instance of vmware back into it. Seems pretty slow


The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.--Augustine (354-430)



1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

cognoscenti is offline  
post #515 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 05:36 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibsonnova74 View Post
How do you guys have the affinity set up. I'm running the dual instances + GPU2, with the affinity changer. According to fahmon I'm only getting 6500 PPD on that rig. The rig is running at 3.2ghz and the 8800GT is 687/1652/873.
You must not be running the SMP clients, otherwise you would be getting about 8K PPD in Windows and about 9.5K PPD using the Linux SMP clients in VMware.

Manufacturing Consent is the Name of the Game
dankoni is offline  
post #516 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 05:50 AM
51° 31' 0 N 0° -6' 0 E
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winebar
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Gibs would know if he is running smp or not ;-)

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.--Augustine (354-430)



1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

cognoscenti is offline  
post #517 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 12:03 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by cognoscenti View Post
Gibs would know if he is running smp or not ;-)
Well I would think so, but those scores sound like he's running the regular old tray client.

Manufacturing Consent is the Name of the Game
dankoni is offline  
post #518 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 03:15 PM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankoni View Post
Well I would think so, but those scores sound like he's running the regular old tray client.
It's not the SMP client, those points are fine. It's the 8800GT is only getting 2225 PPD. I'm running the affinity changer. In task manager it shows that I'm using all 4 cores on all three aplications.(dual SMP + GPU2) The SMP is set to normal priority, and the GPU2 is set for low. Do I need to tweek the affinity? What do you guys think?

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
post #519 of 772 Old 06-30-2008, 10:24 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
What does it get when you change the priority on GPU2 to normal or high? On my q6600, GPU2 uses about 10%-15% of one core. If I set it to a lower priority than the VMware instances, which each use 2 full cores if I let them, then the GPU2's PPD suffer.

Manufacturing Consent is the Name of the Game
dankoni is offline  
post #520 of 772 Old 07-01-2008, 01:25 AM
51° 31' 0 N 0° -6' 0 E
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winebar
Posts: 4,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
It appears the download for the Ubuntu on Filefront got deleted. Later tonight, I'll make sure to upload it for you guys so we have a 2nd site to get it from.
where is it?

OP download only is available every so often lately.....

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.--Augustine (354-430)



1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

cognoscenti is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off