SMP Really Slow - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:09 PM
I'm no longer an Asushole
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
What should I look for in my task manager to change the priority of SMP? It's folding really slow (20mins WU) when I do absolutely nothing on my computer.
Depends on the WU, some take 20-%30 longer than others.

Which wu is it?
wire likes this.

Chimp Challenge Championship Team  Chimp Challenge Participant  6 Million+ Folding at Home points 

grunion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
I deleted them all and re started it and it's at 3 now.

I'm using this one.

Windows 2000/XP/Vista SMP client console version 5.91 beta6


Chimp Challenge Participant 

wire is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:14 PM
 
gibsonnova74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
I deleted them all and re started it and it's at 3 now.

I'm using this one.

Windows 2000/XP/Vista SMP client console version 5.91 beta6
ok, thats the right one, see what kind of times you get now that your only showing 3.
wire likes this.

10 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gibsonnova74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Now it's up to 4. AHhhh


Chimp Challenge Participant 

wire is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:17 PM
Hiding my wife and kidz
 
TaiDinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 10,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
Now it's up to 4. AHhhh
We need another dual core user in here to see how many they have.

Anyone out there?! Helllllo - echos. heello.

Um... What CPU usage are each of them using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanrc go_quote.gif
Portal will last 6-10 on the first play through. I don't know about the others. Your machine can handle it fine, I've played them all on a 2600 and they still look great.
Fold for Overclock.net!How to: Remove Crysis intro screensOverclock.net @ Last.FM threadMy summer air cooling

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

TaiDinh is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaiDinh View Post
We need another dual core user in here to see how many they have.

Anyone out there?! Helllllo - echos. heello.

Um... What CPU usage are each of them using?
All 4 of them are on low. 2 of them are using about 25-30% each. The other two about 15-20%


Chimp Challenge Participant 

wire is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:44 PM
Hiding my wife and kidz
 
TaiDinh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 10,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by wire View Post
All 4 of them are on low. 2 of them are using about 25-30% each. The other two about 15-20%
If it's using 100%, then I think you're fine.

grunion asked above, what WU do you have? Folding speed vary on the work unit that you are folding.
wire likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanrc go_quote.gif
Portal will last 6-10 on the first play through. I don't know about the others. Your machine can handle it fine, I've played them all on a 2600 and they still look great.
Fold for Overclock.net!How to: Remove Crysis intro screensOverclock.net @ Last.FM threadMy summer air cooling

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

TaiDinh is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:45 PM
CarForum.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: /dev/sda
Posts: 7,526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 600
My c2d has 4 fahcore exe's running.
wire likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat
catmmm: my rack would love to play with your rack...
lhowatt: does it fit well on your desk?
catmmm: lhowatt: yeah it fits
catmmm: lhowatt: I kinda have a big desk though
Retrospekt is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 02-27-2008, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
 
wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex, WI
Posts: 5,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaiDinh View Post
If it's using 100%, then I think you're fine.

grunion asked above, what WU do you have? Folding speed vary on the work unit that you are folding.
It's all good now. It's taking about 15-16 mins with me surfing the web and doing some other stuff. It'll go back to 12-13 mins if I leave it alone over the night and day. Glad I got this going.

Rep+ Given out


Chimp Challenge Participant 

wire is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off