We must outdo EVGA! - Page 140 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1391 of 1792 Old 02-27-2009, 11:45 PM
Game Programmer
 
lordikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by teK0wnzU View Post
Maybe, I just did a fresh install of Vista.
Before it want using all 4 cores but not at 100%, but now it is.
It could me it's working right now, and wasn't before.
I don't know. I'll roll with it.
My SMP client maxes out my cores at 100%, but it doesn't slow down any of my tasks. If it it slowing down your computer at an 'idle' priority that is the fault of the OS for not giving more processing cycles to higher priority threads.

Basically, you shouldn't notice a slowdown while this is running if you've setup your priorities correctly.


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lordikon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1392 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 12:30 AM
4.0ghz
 
gre0481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordikon View Post
My SMP client maxes out my cores at 100%, but it doesn't slow down any of my tasks. If it it slowing down your computer at an 'idle' priority that is the fault of the OS for not giving more processing cycles to higher priority threads.

Basically, you shouldn't notice a slowdown while this is running if you've setup your priorities correctly.
Since you two are both talking about SMP; What OS do you recommend for 4 gpu's and SMP quad. I can go any way ; Not picky. I just want the best results.

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

gre0481 is offline  
post #1393 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 12:48 AM
Rise Up
 
Slappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by gre0481 View Post
Since you two are both talking about SMP; What OS do you recommend for 4 gpu's and SMP quad. I can go any way ; Not picky. I just want the best results.
I'm would say Vista


Chimp Challenge Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Slappa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1394 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 05:12 AM
PC Gamer
 
curly haired boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 166
ah'm kissing 14,000. gonna leave the rig folding the rest of today and overnight.


1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

curly haired boy is offline  
post #1395 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 07:37 AM
Game Programmer
 
lordikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Seems like EVGA's top 3 are cutting back for some reason. They're back about 80-100,000 points per update since last night. This is the first time we've been ahead of them for a whole day in about 2 weeks.

I remember them saying they may have to shutdown some of their servers, maybe that is what this is. Good for us, bad them EVGA and the overall folding cause.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...hp?s=&t=111065

And some more motivation: Given our current growth rate, and [H]ardOCP's current growth rate, we'd pass them in PPD in only 4 months. However...we'd have to maintain our current explosive growth rate the whole time, and [H]ardOCP would of course have to continue their growth rate as well.


Foldathon Folder - 2011 Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

lordikon is offline  
post #1396 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 08:07 AM
Programmer
 
Col. Newman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavy Light 117 View Post
They almost have the same amount of active users as us



cool little pie chart
Sweeet I'm famous actually I am number 7 now

Who wants to donate to my "points, MOAR POINTS" fund? LOLz

Win 3.1 = well at least it has a kinda functioning GUI
Win 95 = UI MUCH improved over 3.1
Win 98 = the XP and Win 7 of it's time.
Win 2000 = a great OS.
XP = excellent, in its time
Vista = Ok (does not deserve the hate)
Win 7 = Awesome
Win 8 = I love windows 3.1's GUI lets go back to it, and while were at it lets go back even farther.

Chimp Challenge Participant  20 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Col. Newman is offline  
post #1397 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 08:09 AM
Overtime!!!
 
Tufelhunden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 4,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by gre0481 View Post

Can't way to be full on folding again. I'm not going to let Tufel pass me for long
You better bring the mail!!! In addition to 2x 8800GT and 1 9600GT I am currently folding on, I plan to be folding on 2 Q6600's with linux here shortly.

"Casualties: - many. Percentage dead: - unknown. Combat efficiency: - We are winning." Colonel David M. Shoup, November 20th, 1943, Tarawa Atoll
Please lets all FOLD for each other. Lets Unite. grouphug.gifEasy Single Nvidia GPU Folding Guide


Chimp Challenge Participant  2 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Tufelhunden is offline  
post #1398 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 10:53 AM
Rise Up
 
Slappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Guys. Excellent work.

We have consistently outdone EVGA's team for point updates today!



Chimp Challenge Participant  15 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Slappa is offline  
post #1399 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 11:02 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Looks like Barnettworks went offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by ira-k go_quote.gif
When you tell a hot date you have to get her home by 10pm because you have to OC before all you DICE sublimates.
pheoxs is offline  
post #1400 of 1792 Old 02-28-2009, 11:13 AM
3.5ghz
 
teK0wnzU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Idaho, USA
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Anyone have trouble with the "Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-623" and fahmon?
For some reason its been on 13% in FahMon but it's been that way for 3 WUs now?
I'm using the console version for GPU and CPU-SMP, FahMon can see SMP but not GPU.
I went from 500PPD with normal CPU F@H to 2000+PPD with "FAH6.23beta-win32-SMP-mpich".

Because an Amen a day keeps the Devil away. ~JML
You can fool some people all the time, all people sometimes, but never everyone every time.
I Fold, Ik vouw, Tiklop ko, Je fois, Ich falte, אני לקפל, 私は展開, 난 배, Я раз, I veces!
..::|Q9300 Club|::..
..: Given all things probable, what is the probability something not probable will happen? ~JML :..

teK0wnzU is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off