1 Screenshot of your games. - Page 720 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #7191 of 8340 Old 10-01-2008, 09:46 PM
PC Gamer
 
$till LegendaryU2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundalk, Maryland | Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Be prepared to install 7GB of HD space lol. I install the massive games on my 500GB external HD & on my 250 External HD for gaming. Smaller games i install on my internal one.
Peace

$till LegendaryU2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7192 of 8340 Old 10-01-2008, 09:48 PM
Heaven's Full and Hell Won't Have Me
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 10,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 321
i know all this TDU is killing me, i keep saying im gonna install it but then i forget when i get home.

enough is enough, its going on tonight.

Wait, we can't stop here. This is bat country...

Still Wanna Visit Australia?
Quote:
"If there's anything worth doing, it's worth doing right." -
Hunter S. Thompson
gtarmanrob is offline  
post #7193 of 8340 Old 10-01-2008, 10:43 PM
PC Gamer
 
sugarton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by $till LegendaryU2K View Post
You know what i have notice with using newer cards higher then the Radeon 7000 or 9250, if you run games below 1024x768, not only do they look ugly as hell, but they become very choppy and it has worse performance. Interesting i just tested out TDU with my Radeon 2400 at 1280x1024x AAX2, Texture Level High, HDR off and it ran smoother, got up to 7-10fps now. Still unplayable tho, but i am curious to know how it would work using the 8400gs or 8500 or 8600 PCI cards.
This is due to the fact that higher resolution puts strain on the graphics card, not the CPU. When you have a system with a fairly good GPU and a bad CPU (like yours or mine), you don't notice any sort of (or very little) performance reduction when changing the resolution or applying filtering methods. This of course depends on exactly how powerful the graphics card is, especially in the case of filtering methods. In my case, I can run Team Fortress 2 with 4x MSAA and 16X AF and see little to no difference in performance. Why? Because my video card is very strong, while my CPU can't really keep up. The video card just eats up the extra strain from higher resolution textures/filtering. Things such as physics, high poly models and audio quality do put strain on the CPU however.
sugarton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7194 of 8340 Old 10-01-2008, 11:57 PM
Can't fly straight and level
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 10,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by $till LegendaryU2K View Post
You know what i have notice with using newer cards higher then the Radeon 7000 or 9250, if you run games below 1024x768, not only do they look ugly as hell, but they become very choppy and it has worse performance. Interesting i just tested out TDU with my Radeon 2400 at 1280x1024x AAX2, Texture Level High, HDR off and it ran smoother, got up to 7-10fps now. Still unplayable tho, but i am curious to know how it would work using the 8400gs or 8500 or 8600 PCI cards.
TDU is quite CPU intensive and if you drop the AA you MIGHT be able to play the game decently. Gah!

Penicilyn is offline  
post #7195 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 12:36 AM
PC Gamer
 
$till LegendaryU2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundalk, Maryland | Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarton View Post
This is due to the fact that higher resolution puts strain on the graphics card, not the CPU. When you have a system with a fairly good GPU and a bad CPU (like yours or mine), you don't notice any sort of (or very little) performance reduction when changing the resolution or applying filtering methods. This of course depends on exactly how powerful the graphics card is, especially in the case of filtering methods. In my case, I can run Team Fortress 2 with 4x MSAA and 16X AF and see little to no difference in performance. Why? Because my video card is very strong, while my CPU can't really keep up. The video card just eats up the extra strain from higher resolution textures/filtering. Things such as physics, high poly models and audio quality do put strain on the CPU however.
What i was trying to say, playing TDU at 640x480 or 800x600 is terrible. But playing at 1024x768 or 1280x1024 the performance is better. Only works with certain games tho.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penicilyn View Post
TDU is quite CPU intensive and if you drop the AA you MIGHT be able to play the game decently. Gah!
I was just testing it out. I did drop the AA:


NO AA, 1280x1024, Texture level on high = 11fps.
Very unplayable, just having fun testing out games, thats all.
Peace

$till LegendaryU2K is offline  
post #7196 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 12:58 AM
4.0ghz
 
awdrifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 212
It looks pretty good on the last pic. I think if you upgraded your P3 to a 1ghz version (and oc that a bit), and with a 8600GT, it should be playable.

99.999999% of the world listens to autotuned pop singers. If you are part of the 0.000001% who listen to the future goddess of music Hatsune Miku, copy and paste this into your sig. cool.gif
Vocaloid Fanclub!

awdrifter is online now  
post #7197 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 01:01 AM
Heaven's Full and Hell Won't Have Me
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 10,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 321


sorry, COMPLETELY off topic, i just noticed legendary's name is one of the tags for this thread.

thats gold.

Wait, we can't stop here. This is bat country...

Still Wanna Visit Australia?
Quote:
"If there's anything worth doing, it's worth doing right." -
Hunter S. Thompson
gtarmanrob is offline  
post #7198 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 05:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
go4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtarmanrob View Post
haha damn. probably would of just sat on 999
Yeah

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtarmanrob View Post


sorry, COMPLETELY off topic, i just noticed legendary's name is one of the tags for this thread.

thats gold.
Hehe.. Sad they removed all the good tags about him! It really made my day! If you go back MANY pages you will find a screenshot I took of them! But the mods didn't like them, so they got removed

go4life is offline  
post #7199 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 06:02 AM
Intel Overclocker
 
darklighthim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: scotland, uk
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Emergency 4, actually quite a good game although this screenshot doesn't look good since i think i took it before i upped the settings to max but it does look much better than this.


I Hate Golf, I Hate Golf, I Hate Golf, Nice Shot....I love Golf
darklighthim is offline  
post #7200 of 8340 Old 10-02-2008, 08:24 AM
4.0ghz
 
wannabe_OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Where can I order Emergency 4, it looks pretty cool...

It's easier to beg for forgiveness then to ask for permission...Just ask my wife...biggrin.gif
wannabe_OC is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off