[Official] Far Cry 3 Information & Discussion Thread - Page 23 - Overclock.net

View Poll Results: After recent driver updates and patches are you satisfied with performance given the visuals?
Yes 80 43.96%
No 102 56.04%
Voters: 182. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #221 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 07:28 AM
 
NadaJohna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I don't mean to sound like a douche since a lot of people are having trouble running this, but, assuming all of you could play this at an minimum of 59fps, what changes would you make to nvidia inspector to increase the graphical fidelity?
NadaJohna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #222 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
lem_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurie View Post

EDIT.
Got it working. Just had to start from the DX11.exe.
Only problem now is if I shoot anything that leaves a mark. It slows down to 20 fps if there is a single bullet decal. I might just have to play this one in DX9.
Are there any comparisons online?

Yes the bullet decal issue with SLI, check my First Post, You fix it by adding the correct Hex code in Nvidia inspector.

Far Cry 3 VGA Graphics Benchmark performance test
laurie likes this.
lem_ is offline  
post #223 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 07:56 AM
4.0ghz
 
laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Thanks mate. I think it's OK now. I am getting some pretty bad stuttering. FPS is in the 60s though.
Also my top card is hitting 85c! I got an Asus warning pop up as well which I haven't seen before. It was very unhappy with how hot the pci lane was. How do people keep the top card cool?

laurie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #224 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
333mhz
 
lem_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurie View Post

Thanks mate. I think it's OK now. I am getting some pretty bad stuttering. FPS is in the 60s though.
Also my top card is hitting 85c! I got an Asus warning pop up as well which I haven't seen before. It was very unhappy with how hot the pci lane was. How do people keep the top card cool?

I just max the fan speed, and put Vsync for Single player Games, my top card hovers at 68C, fan at MAX, and it's mid summer in South Africa, so it's HOT!
lem_ is offline  
post #225 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 08:18 AM
 
Radeon915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Derp
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Runs fine for me, 2560x1440, no AA, HBAO, everything else on max. I've seen it go to a minimum of about 35 fps, but it mostly hovers around 45 or more. 2x AA is doable but has too much of a hit compared to the visual gain, so I just turned it off. I have to say this game doesn't really look all that aliased by default so I don't really miss it either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimmy32 View Post

It might be just me, but i find the overall look of Far Cry 3 to be kinda cartoony....not at all that realistic, imo.

I thought of that at first too, and it allmost put me off, but I have to say that though it certainly doesn't go for the most realistic graphics, it does look damn good, and the cartoony-ness is really not as bad as some screenshots make you believe.
As far as graphics go though, I found it rather funny to notice that the water, just like FC2, actually looks less good than the original.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobotDevil666 go_quote.gif

MS is probing around checking how big of a gerbil they can ram up desktop user butt before he notices he's being royally screwed.

Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

Radeon915 is offline  
post #226 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 08:47 AM
 
dimmy32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
yup, I agree with you dude. It looks nice on video....sceenshots look kinda crappy.
dimmy32 is offline  
post #227 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 09:16 AM
4.0ghz
 
laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by lem_ View Post

I just max the fan speed, and put Vsync for Single player Games, my top card hovers at 68C, fan at MAX, and it's mid summer in South Africa, so it's HOT!

Vsync is probably a good idea. With the fans on the 660tis on max it would be very loud! What coolers do your 670s have?

laurie is offline  
post #228 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 09:20 AM
WaterCooler
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by broken pixel View Post

Since hardly any developers release demos any more it is a way to demo, play before you pay. In this case the game has poor optimization so I will wait until it gets more patches before I purchase. I bought FC2 and it sucked so it's payback, lol!

this game runs fine and it is fun/beautiful. I respect your opinion....Ok I don't biggrin.gif

HardwareDecoder is offline  
post #229 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 09:36 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
SnuffThePunkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by lem_ View Post

This is what DareDevil 720 says:
HDAO = High Definition Ambient Occlusion (AMD's implementation of SSAO)
HBAO = Horizon Based Ambient Occlusion
Both are better than plain SSAO. If you're using an ATI GPU go with HDAO, else if you're team green choose HBAO.
HDAO performs about 10FPS less than HBAO for me, while still being inferior to the latter
i've added it to main post thumb.gifthumb.gifthumb.gif

Thanks for the info, was running dual 5850's a week ago, had no reason to even think about SSAO settings with those cards.

Intel, Nvidia, AMD/ATI, use whatever the hell makes you happy, and I'll do the same. drunken.gif
Now remember, if something breaks as a result of advice I gave you, I'll let you keep both halves.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wishmaker go_quote.gif

Please ignore Snuff, he learnt his manners from a chainsaw thumb.gif.
SnuffThePunkz is offline  
post #230 of 1920 Old 11-30-2012, 09:39 AM
 
zkalra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurie View Post

EDIT.
Got it working. Just had to start from the DX11.exe.
Only problem now is if I shoot anything that leaves a mark. It slows down to 20 fps if there is a single bullet decal. I might just have to play this one in DX9.
Are there any comparisons online?
That can be alleviated by changing the DX11 compatibility bits as specified earlier on this thread. Thing is though that I have a 20 FPS drop if i go with this code as opposed to the nVidia default one though it is still far better considering the annoying drop in fps when shooting.

open farcry 3 profile with inspector, and change SLI bits for DX11
0x000902F5 to 0x0C1902F5

PC Gaming FTW!!
zkalra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off