Battlefield 3 vs My PC - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I'm looking at buying BF3 now that it's suitably cheap. This engine is pretty CPU efficient innit?

Will a stock 2600k manage a sustained 60fps without any detail sacrifices? And I mean sustained 60fps, not average. I use V-Sync, so I need the minimum to be above 60fps at least 95% of the time.

Oubadah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 02:28 AM
PC Gamer
 
banging34hzs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
full system spec would help with this,

My 2500k can do just fine at stock but I do see a minor stutter so I overclocked to 4.0 (downclocked from stable 4.5 since its summer) and the stutter is gone.

yes the game is cpu heavy but a good gpu is recommended as well.
banging34hzs is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 02:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: on a lake that is erie
Posts: 8,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 762
it depends on your gpu and resolution. single player is extremely light on the cpu; any i3 will give you what you're looking for. however multiplayer uses more threading.

so no offense you're a little vague about the specs of your rig and its difficult to give you a good answer. but off the top of my head; you're more than good enough with a 2600K.


"Name as many uses for a brick as you can in one minute." - interview at graphics-chip maker Nvidia for a campaign-manager job
Fermi: it's better to burn out than fade away.
Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
looniam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I thought they were in my sig, but it doesn't really matter, as the CPU will be the bottleneck. I have GTX 780 SLI for a 1920x1080 120Hz monitor. I would like 120fps, but I'm sure there is no way in hell the 2600k will give me that, so my target will be 60fps for 60Hz.

I'm interested in large multi player matches.

Looking at some benchmarks, I think I might end up right on the edge of my target. Might have to drop down a resolution until I get my Haswell stuff (waiting for it to mature).

Oubadah is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 05:07 AM
Commodore 64
 
youpekkad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I dont think there is a cpu available that is gonna give you 120fps capped @1080p, that being said, why dont you overclock your 2600k? Yea, you dont get 120fps min, but with that setup you should get 100+ most of the time. 100-120fps @120Hz is still a lot better than 60fps @ 60Hz...Dont think a max overclocked haswell i7 is gonna do a lot better than that either.

youpekkad is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 05:15 AM
PC Gamer
 
Ghost12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Uk
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post

I thought they were in my sig, but it doesn't really matter, as the CPU will be the bottleneck. I have GTX 780 SLI for a 1920x1080 120Hz monitor. I would like 120fps, but I'm sure there is no way in hell the 2600k will give me that, so my target will be 60fps for 60Hz.

I'm interested in large multi player matches.

Looking at some benchmarks, I think I might end up right on the edge of my target. Might have to drop down a resolution until I get my Haswell stuff (waiting for it to mature).

There is very little difference in this game if you max all the settings out or go for a mix of medium to ultra. On a mix of settings you should hit your target but a cpu oc would help as is very cpu heavy in 64. player large maps and some are poorly optimised. If all you play is cq or smaller maps will beat your target easily

4770K - Asus Maximus Gene Z87 - Patriot Black Mamba 2133 8Gb - Ocz Fatality 750w - Coollaboratory Liquid Alpheos Cpu Block - Xspc Rx 360 Radiator- Hardware Labs Black Ice Radiator 240 - XSPC D5 Vario - Aqua Computer Glass Tube Res - Mayhems Tharsis red - 6 Corsair SP120 - 2 Corsair AF120 Air Series - 1 140mm Enemax Everest - Nzxt H440 - Intel 330 120Gb - Ocz agilty 3 120Gb - 1Tb Toshiba 7200 64mb Hdd.
Gtx Titan X
Ducky Shine 3 Tkl - Cherry Black - Zowie Fk1 - Steel Series Qck Heavy
Asus Rog Swift X 3 , 7680 X 1440 p @144hz - 7" Samsung usb monitor.
FiiO E17 Dac - Audio Technica AD700X - Audio Technica M50 - Edifier R1600T Studio Monitors
Rseat Rs1 Custom - Srh Tach Dash - Accuforce pro - Momo mod 30 - He pedals pro - Fanaec sq 1.5 - Srh g-force display - He sequential. Earth magnet snap action shifters
Ghost12 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-10-2013, 05:20 AM
OverCrook'd
 
Crooksy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 7,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 379
I have all settings on the highest values, and average 60FPS 95% of the time. Only dropping when lots of smoke or explosions are present. That's with a stock 680 and a 4.2Ghz 3770k.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post

I thought they were in my sig, but it doesn't really matter, as the CPU will be the bottleneck. I have GTX 780 SLI for a 1920x1080 120Hz monitor. I would like 120fps, but I'm sure there is no way in hell the 2600k will give me that, so my target will be 60fps for 60Hz.

I'm interested in large multi player matches.

Looking at some benchmarks, I think I might end up right on the edge of my target. Might have to drop down a resolution until I get my Haswell stuff (waiting for it to mature).

Haswell doesn't appear to offer much in terms of improvement in raw performance. Barely pulls anything over the bridges in the game benches that I saw...

New around these parts? Check out The Ultimate Newbie Guide And General Information Thread! Oh, and don't forget to fill in your rig specs under the My Profile page!
-
Don't know your DIMM from your DRAM? Check out Overclocking Acronyms for Dummies!
-
Site changed since last time you visited or just wondering what features the forum has? Visit the Features & Explanations thread!

Chimp Challenge 3 x Participant 

Crooksy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off