So I can't do it 60fps - Page 5 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 48 Old 08-11-2013, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
 
defected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post

I don't understand the question.

And yes, those games like F.E.A.R and BFBC2 were exactly what I had in mind when I was talking about 'in between' games, not too old and not too new.

What I mean is . GTX 780 BF3 vs GTX 670 vs 660 would produce the same Frames because CPU can only calculate so much before it bottlenecks ?

so to hit 120 frames I would need to stick with 12vs12 or 6vs6 gaming ?
defected is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 48 Old 08-11-2013, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
 
defected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
defected is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 08-11-2013, 06:14 PM
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by defected View Post

What I mean is . GTX 780 BF3 vs GTX 670 vs 660 would produce the same Frames because CPU can only calculate so much before it bottlenecks ?

For 60fps, maybe yes for the 670, depending on what levels of AA/AF etc. you like. For Ultra BF3 at 1920x1080@60Hz with 16x AF and 4xMSAA, I found the GTX 780 to be operating right where I wanted it - that is, maintaining 60fps (capped) at ~90% GPU usage in the most intensive scenes. However, the game's 4xAA is a massive performance hog and doesn't even look that good. Without that the game probably would have been fine with a 680 or even lower (some people here said 670).

I don't know exactly how much GPU power you'd be looking at for 120fps. Two GTX 780s might be overkill, but one wouldn't cut it. But then if you were sticking to smaller, low player count maps because of the CPU bottleneck, the GPU obviously won't have as much to do either, so maybe one 780/Titan might work. I don't know, I'd have to do some more testing, but I sold my 2600k and I'm trying to decide whether to get Haswell or IB-E. I also sold one of my GTX 780, partly because of the bottleneck, partly because SLI is so problematic. Pretty much decided on 60fps for BF3 - I'll stick to COD5 for online120fps/Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by defected View Post

so to hit 120 frames I would need to stick with 12vs12 or 6vs6 gaming ?

More than likely.

EDIT: This post has some examples of BF3 CPU bottlenecking with a stock 2600k and one or two GTX 780s. http://www.overclock.net/t/851366/official-battlefield-3-information-discussion-thread/49920#post_20312109

Oubadah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 48 Old 08-11-2013, 06:36 PM
 
Hl86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The top of the pop: Crysis 3
In that game 2500k@4.9ghz bottlenecks my 2x 670gtx @ 120hz. In outer grass area i get 40-50 fps and my cpu usage peaks while gpus lays around 40% each.
Though adding 4xmsaa gives them a good run for the money.

I hope in future games they will optimize for 120hz.
Hl86 is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 08-12-2013, 04:44 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Sir Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I always thought BF3 had a poor implementation of 64 player matches?
Sir Noob is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 08-12-2013, 05:37 AM
nVidia Enthusiast
 
Toxsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kyoto
Posts: 1,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by defected View Post

BF4 at 120 frames ? probably pushing it to even think 780 sli will produce that .
you will be pushing more then that with 780's SLI...
you'll skyrock all games.

780's -> TITANS = Profit wink.gif


edit @ Sir noob : yep. BF2,BF2142 ,was the shizzle imo smile.gif

edit : defected : lol @ PlayStation 4 could run games at 240 frames per second: analyst, how would that be possible lol..
PS4 Specs :
CPU: x86-64 AMD "Jaguar" Single-chip custom processor
Number of Cores/Threads: 8/8 [1]
Estimated Frequency: 1.6Ghz [2]
Shared L2 Cache: 2 x 2MB [3]
Manufacturing Process: 28nm [4]
GPU: AMD next-generation Radeon based graphics engine
Peak Shader Throughput: 1.84TFLOPS [5]
GPU Cores: 1152 [6]
Memory: 8GB GDDR5

something fishyy is going on...
I smell some company's that limited some stuff.
like theres no way a pc would run next gen games with those specs...
"CPU's will always lack performance because Intel would prefer to improve slowly since it means more money to Intel"
Same way for GPUS. thats how bussines works i guess.
Toxsick is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 08-12-2013, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
 
defected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hl86 View Post

The top of the pop: Crysis 3
In that game 2500k@4.9ghz bottlenecks my 2x 670gtx @ 120hz. In outer grass area i get 40-50 fps and my cpu usage peaks while gpus lays around 40% each.
Though adding 4xmsaa gives them a good run for the money.

I hope in future games they will optimize for 120hz.



So for 144 frames you would be forced to stick with older games from 3 -2 years ago . And Single player games GPU would come in handy . Right now my game of choice is Payday:2 @ 144 frames solid .
defected is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 08-12-2013, 07:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 44,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by defected View Post

So for 144 frames you would be forced to stick with older games from 3 -2 years ago . And Single player games GPU would come in handy . Right now my game of choice is Payday:2 @ 144 frames solid .

You can still play maps in BF3 even 64 that will give you 120fps+ but not all of them.

CPU History (Click to show)
CPU -> Sempron 2400+, Athlon 64 3700+, Core 2 Q6600, A8-3870K, Core 2 Q9550, Core 2 QX9770, Core i7 920, Core i5 2500K, Core i5 3570K, Phenom II X4 955, Core i7 3770K.
GPU History (Click to show)
FX 5200 128MB, 9800 Pro 128MB, 6800GS 256MB, 7600GT 256MB, HD 4850 512MB, HD 4870 1GB, 2x HD 4870 1GB, GTX280 1GB, HD 5850 1GB, GTX470 1.25GB, GTX580 1.5GB, HD 6950 2GB, HD 6950 2GB + HD 6970 2GB, HD 6990 2GB, HD 7970 3GB, 2 x HD 7970 3GB,R9 290 4GB, R9 290X 4GB, R9 Fury X 4GB, GTX 1080 8GB, GTX1080 Ti 11GB
MB History (Click to show)
ECS KN1 Extreme -> ASUS P5Q-E -> GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD7 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD4 -> GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H -> ASRock Z77E-ITX

Chimp Challenge Participant  Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

ZealotKi11er is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off