older game , janes usaf flight sim? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-05-2007, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
littlejohn1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: newfoundland
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
greetings . yes , this is a real old game . i loaded it on my rig , but it wont play right . its a windows 95/98 game . there is no fix that i can find anywheres .
i have a 74 gig raptor with my os , and newer games on it .
i also have a 160 gig for storage .
can i load windows 98 on the storage drive? then load usaf .
and have xp on the raptor, with the newer games .
both are sata drives .
any help or suggestions , would be great .
thanks for reading .
cheers .

live , love , laugh,
and ,,,, GAME ALOT .
cheers .

littlejohn1959 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-05-2007, 12:18 PM
4.0ghz
 
gravity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jakarta Indonesia
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I have a Jane's Combat Flight Simulator series too...
Now, I'm sure you don't need to get 98 installed, as a friend and I had the sane problem, and solved it by playing around with the "properties" of the execution .... Try to make it run in compatibility version, or in 256 colors, and such... We played around with that and found it worked under XP after a few minutes...

Les statistiques, c'est comme les minijupes, ca montre beaucoup de choses, mais, ça cache l'essentiel !
Statistics are like mini skirts, they show a lot of things, but hides the essential !
Didier Delcassé, ex Maths Teacher

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
gravity is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-05-2007, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
littlejohn1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: newfoundland
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravity View Post
I have a Jane's Combat Flight Simulator series too...
Now, I'm sure you don't need to get 98 installed, as a friend and I had the sane problem, and solved it by playing around with the "properties" of the execution .... Try to make it run in compatibility version, or in 256 colors, and such... We played around with that and found it worked under XP after a few minutes...
ill give it my best shot .
ill try the properties thing before anything else .
its funny how i cant find a patch though . i guess they dont support the game anymores .
it seems to be a fun game .
can you post the settings you used?
the propertie settings i mean .
thanks for the reply . it gave me a bit of hope here . ha ha .
cheers .

live , love , laugh,
and ,,,, GAME ALOT .
cheers .

littlejohn1959 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 01:00 AM
4.0ghz
 
Easty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
It will be aweful if you go back after Lock-on. Old games were highly substituted with imagination.
Easty is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 01:11 AM
4.0ghz
 
gravity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jakarta Indonesia
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlejohn1959 View Post
ill give it my best shot .
ill try the properties thing before anything else .
its funny how i cant find a patch though . i guess they dont support the game anymores .
it seems to be a fun game .
can you post the settings you used?
the propertie settings i mean .
thanks for the reply . it gave me a bit of hope here . ha ha .
cheers .
I would if I could only find the CDs again Rofl !
I'll report back if I ever do find them

Les statistiques, c'est comme les minijupes, ca montre beaucoup de choses, mais, ça cache l'essentiel !
Statistics are like mini skirts, they show a lot of things, but hides the essential !
Didier Delcassé, ex Maths Teacher

Aumotocnic "An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"
gravity is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 01:35 AM
 
8KCABrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Easty View Post
It will be aweful if you go back after Lock-on. Old games were highly substituted with imagination.
Dunno. . .LockOn leaves me missing my old Jane's F-15 refueling sessions (non-scripted), clickable pits. . . and the general fun I used to have with that sim. I wouldn't trade LockOn for it. . .but that was a pretty good sim, despite it's age. I also have F-18 and Longbow Gold (though haven't tried to install them since moving to XP). I remember there with a few issues to contend with though, but it's been about 4 years since I've even looked at those sims.

-Brett

8KCABrett is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 02:02 AM
=PC Gamer=
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 554
I use to play Jane's F/18 Hornet it was the bomb me and a few friends played it on a LAN, I installed it a couple a months ago the graphics sucked, I didn't remember them being so bad.
Jane's needs to come out with some DX10 flight sims
USFORCES is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
1.7ghz
 
littlejohn1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: newfoundland
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
i only started gameing about 18 months ago . i do have lock on here and flameing cliffs ,but its a bit rich for my blood at present. i want to start off a bit slower , if you know what i mean . i have apache 64 assult , apache longbow assult ,apachee gold , all those games work great with xp . ive read that JANES is gone out of bussiness . anyways , ill keep playing around with the settings here . its working o.k , but not like it should .
as an addon to LOCK ON , when is BLACK SKARK , suppose to hit the stands?
thanks for the replies people .
cheers there .

@gravity ,,,that would be much apprecitated .
cheers .

live , love , laugh,
and ,,,, GAME ALOT .
cheers .

littlejohn1959 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 06:12 AM
PC Gamer
 
ItsBobtista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlejohn1959 View Post
greetings . yes , this is a real old game . i loaded it on my rig , but it wont play right . its a windows 95/98 game . there is no fix that i can find anywheres .
i have a 74 gig raptor with my os , and newer games on it .
i also have a 160 gig for storage .
can i load windows 98 on the storage drive? then load usaf .
and have xp on the raptor, with the newer games .
both are sata drives .
any help or suggestions , would be great .
thanks for reading .
cheers .
Just curious, is it the one with the black stealth bomber (err, forget the number for the aircraft.. the 'single wing' design though) and it says USAF over it?

I think I have the exact same game.. lol

To be the man, you've got to beat the man
.

thumb.gif*LG Appreciator* thumbsupsmiley.png
ItsBobtista is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-06-2007, 06:15 AM
1.3ghz
 
m$_is_not_the_answer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 6
omg my dad and i used to play that game so much when i was little!!
hahah good times
m$_is_not_the_answer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off