**ArmA2 Club** - Page 30 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #291 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 01:51 AM
Commodore 64
 
bahlgren342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well I read a few pages, but not reading through 28! Just wondering how many of the bugs have been fixed? Been wanting to pick up this game, as I have been looking for a new shooter to play for a while, but have been turned off by the mixed reviews. Is it worth the dough for the online play? Is it tactical online and in need of communication with large maps?

How will it run on my PC? (despite the common bugs of course)
I7 920 @ ~4.2
6GB Dominator DDR3 1600
GTX 285 @ stock
2x 150g Raptors Raid 0

bahlgren342 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #292 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 07:45 AM
Can't fly straight and level
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 10,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahlgren342 View Post
Well I read a few pages, but not reading through 28! Just wondering how many of the bugs have been fixed? Been wanting to pick up this game, as I have been looking for a new shooter to play for a while, but have been turned off by the mixed reviews. Is it worth the dough for the online play? Is it tactical online and in need of communication with large maps?

How will it run on my PC? (despite the common bugs of course)
I7 920 @ ~4.2
6GB Dominator DDR3 1600
GTX 285 @ stock
2x 150g Raptors Raid 0
It should run extremely well. Native rez on high with 2xAA if not better? The game is really CPU dependent so you should do well.


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Penicilyn is offline  
post #293 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Mod Caster of Pod
 
VCheeZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: 26070
Posts: 4,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahlgren342 View Post
Well I read a few pages, but not reading through 28! Just wondering how many of the bugs have been fixed? Been wanting to pick up this game, as I have been looking for a new shooter to play for a while, but have been turned off by the mixed reviews. Is it worth the dough for the online play? Is it tactical online and in need of communication with large maps?

How will it run on my PC? (despite the common bugs of course)
I7 920 @ ~4.2
6GB Dominator DDR3 1600
GTX 285 @ stock
2x 150g Raptors Raid 0

I only play online. It has the ability to be the most tactic-driven game you have ever played. Communication is paramount. You will run it fine with some tweeks.

VCheeZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #294 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 11:27 AM
Commodore 64
 
bahlgren342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sweet, thanks guys, are those tweeks posted on this thread?

bahlgren342 is offline  
post #295 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 11:30 AM
 
Gill..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Woburn, MA - Soxnation
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
This thread, and there's another devoted to optimization - do an ARMA 2 search in the Google box above and you should find it - both are large threads

www.overclock.net/.../532520-sanders54s-arma-2-optimization-how-force.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Beef go_quote.gif
I did my build in the kitchen (no carpets in sight) and in underwear to avoid any possible static. My roomates where kinda creeped out. headscratch.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHoleSon go_quote.gif
he reads Pentiumhouse magazine and gets so turned on by it, he will never use another processor.
Gill.. is offline  
post #296 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 11:54 AM
PC Gamer
 
snow cakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 2,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 61
my 2x 4890's can't even handle this game
snow cakes is offline  
post #297 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 11:58 AM
 
Gill..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Woburn, MA - Soxnation
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
There's no way an i7 at 3.8 with 2 4890's isn't running this game awesome - NONE...if so, you haven't tweaked it properly. Also note, that it's been very well documented that this game DOES NOT work well with SLI/Crossfire. In fact, the tests I've read actually showed that it performs a few frames less when Crossfire/SLI enabled.

Disable your crossfire and see if you still feel the same way - should run better.... and tweak..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Beef go_quote.gif
I did my build in the kitchen (no carpets in sight) and in underwear to avoid any possible static. My roomates where kinda creeped out. headscratch.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHoleSon go_quote.gif
he reads Pentiumhouse magazine and gets so turned on by it, he will never use another processor.
Gill.. is offline  
post #298 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 04:21 PM
Can't fly straight and level
 
Penicilyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 10,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill.. View Post
There's no way an i7 at 3.8 with 2 4890's isn't running this game awesome - NONE...if so, you haven't tweaked it properly. Also note, that it's been very well documented that this game DOES NOT work well with SLI/Crossfire. In fact, the tests I've read actually showed that it performs a few frames less when Crossfire/SLI enabled.

Disable your crossfire and see if you still feel the same way - should run better.... and tweak..
Actually it works wonderfully with cat 9.7s and newer.


Overclock.net 10 Year Member 

Penicilyn is offline  
post #299 of 523 Old 08-19-2009, 05:45 PM
Commodore 64
 
bahlgren342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good to hear it runs better on XP and Win7 than Vista. Hope it's not too bad. I don't want to reformat again.

Edit: Just got the game. Holy confusing! =D. So many controls, and it seems hard to customize them because there so many different option I am not sure what does what

I've done the tweaks and launch commands, and some issues I am having.

1. Mouse looking feels like I'm using a controller, feels like it has a slight acceleration on it.

2. No multi player games show up online? I checked filters and unblocked it in Windows Firewall

bahlgren342 is offline  
post #300 of 523 Old 08-20-2009, 07:32 AM
 
Gill..'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Woburn, MA - Soxnation
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penicilyn View Post
Actually it works wonderfully with cat 9.7s and newer.
Great, perfect - even less reason for that poster to say he isn't getting good performance then. Everyone else confirm this, that SLI and Crossfire are fine now? I'm months away from even considering it - but if I were to do it, it would solely be due to this game.

Also, to the guy who said XP and 7 work better than Vista - I use Vista for this game and have had zero issues related to Vista and this game - none. Frankly Vista has been kind to me gaming-wise...

hope that helps...good update Penn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fatty Beef go_quote.gif
I did my build in the kitchen (no carpets in sight) and in underwear to avoid any possible static. My roomates where kinda creeped out. headscratch.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHoleSon go_quote.gif
he reads Pentiumhouse magazine and gets so turned on by it, he will never use another processor.
Gill.. is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off