[Official] The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Information and Discussion Thread - Page 520 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:14 PM
 
OverClocker55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 View Post

I've been working on making my version of Lightning from FF8 w/o using the facemask. It's close enough now I think.
337
VS
338

how do u customize hair and face? Noob here btw thumb.gif
OverClocker55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Intel Overclocker
 
Maian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: D/FW, Texas
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I have a question:

I was fiddling with installing SkyUI a couple of weeks ago (before the official LAA patch from Bethsoft), and was installing the Skyrim Script Extender as well. I wasn't entirely sure if I could run it (SKSE) with the 4GB exe at the same time, so I went ahead and deleted the SKSE files and SkyUI files from my Skyrim folder. Everything's good, except for one thing. I now have a red overlay on the loading-screen objects. It's only on the objects, but it also affects the Skyrim Icon/Logo at the main menu. Anyone know what is causing this?

Example of what I'm referring to:
1C9AED0FC8E17F258D853A948CB45E01ED9E6A98

Xbox Live Gamertag: SweetTeaJameson -- Add me for GTA V Online (PM if you do)
Origin ID: MaianTrey
Maian is offline  
post #5193 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:31 PM
Commodore 64
 
jeezuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lifeshield View Post




I can't comment on the 570 but I can give you an idea of the HD6870's performance. I own a XFX HD6870 1gb and I'm playing at 1920x1080. My performance remarks regarding running a heavily modified Skyrim on my sigrig, from earlier in this thread for your knowledge.




To be honest you shouldn't have any trouble running the game with either card, even with a 1gb version unless you want to use lots of Anti Aliasing, which isn't a neccessity because you can use FXAA.

Wow that sounds real good im also using the mods from the step guide Plus a couple more I'll try lowering the AA settings . It's strange that the 1 gig cram makes such a difference compared to 892 MB. How satisfied are you with their driver support for skyrim?

jeezuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5194 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:39 PM
Commodore 64
 
jeezuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slightly skewed View Post

570 1.2 GB owner here. The 570 will give your far better performance then the 6870. The 570 is equal to the 6970 in most games. That being said, the 2.5Gb 570 has issues. I did my research when bying this cards and at the price point, you'd be better off either with a 6970 or a 1.5GB gtx 580. Take a look at the video portion of the for sale section here.
That being said, again, I'm out of vram with the texture mods so I know 1.5GB vram won't cut it either if your looking to go crazy with the textures..

Ok maybe I'll have to look at the 6970. Didn't know the 2 gig gtx 570 had issues, reading the reviews on newegg seems like the consensus is positive. Impressive to hear that you are filling up the 1.5 gig cram, I may just have to splurge and get that 7970 with 3 gigs
That way im set for the next couple years

jeezuz is offline  
post #5195 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:43 PM
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 27,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1554
Thanks for the help from all of you on the spell stuff. Repped to all.
Edit: Has anyone experienced lag when turing a corner quick? I get it now and again but once its loaded in, am fine.
BradleyW is offline  
post #5196 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:50 PM
Commodore 64
 
jeezuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milamber View Post

Same problem here with my GTX580's... VRAM is getting smashed and my next upgrade when Nvidia release their next cards will be 3GB if they are planning on making one.

Its really amazing that a game designed around the limitations of dated consoles is bringing current video cards to their knees. Kudos out to all the modders and their great work which have very much improved this already awesome game.

jeezuz is offline  
post #5197 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:51 PM
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 27,866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1554
BradleyW is offline  
post #5198 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 06:52 PM
PC Gamer
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PST
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whats better as a thief? Dual daggers or dual sword or single sword. Wanting to get good stealth kills from behind.
Epyon415 is offline  
post #5199 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 07:00 PM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Tnt6200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Whats better as a thief? Dual daggers or dual sword or single sword. Wanting to get good stealth kills from behind.

It depends which perks you have, what your levels are etc. I decided to forgo my Daedric dagger in favor of a single sword because the sword with the 6x sneak attack perk was only doing about 100 damage less than the dagger with the 15x perk. (3000 vs 3100 rolleyes.gif) The sword is much more capable when not using sneak attacks, and this way I don't have to change my weapon very often.

You're already in pain. You're already hurt. Get a reward from it.
Tnt6200 is offline  
post #5200 of 12888 Old 01-07-2012, 07:02 PM
 
OverClocker55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
lol Im like uber noobing here
thumb.gif how do i get perks>
OverClocker55 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off