Here it is, A air cooled TEC setup - Page 2 - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 22 Old 09-26-2006, 09:08 PM
4.0ghz
 
born2killU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 3,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 166
has anyone tried putting a tec under thier normal air heatsink

i might try it
born2killU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 Old 09-26-2006, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
ThaWaxShop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edwardsville, PA
Posts: 5,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 551
ThaWaxShop is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 09-26-2006, 09:12 PM
4.0ghz
 
Mikey122687's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaWaxShop
ya but it compared to an unknown cooler and stock intel cooler


Mikey122687 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 22 Old 09-26-2006, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
ThaWaxShop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edwardsville, PA
Posts: 5,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey122687
ya but it compared to an unknown cooler and stock intel cooler
Doesnt matter what its compared to. Just look at the temps. there nice, especially for a Intel dual core

ThaWaxShop is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 09-27-2006, 06:54 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Condensation is its crutch. It could cool better, but they designed it to stay above ambient temperature to avoid any condensation. If they were to go all out and insulate the base of it it could cool a lot better.

Also, notice that there is a heatpipe coming from the cold plate to the fins. They do that so when the peltier shuts down, that part of the cooler will still cool the CPU. So basically you could expect a lot better temperatures with the "whole" heatsink cooling the peltier.



This really makes me want to get a Scythe Mine or Infinity or Sonic Silent Tower or Sonic tower and pelterize the thing. I would've done it already if everything wasn't so dang expensive!
MjrTom likes this.
Pinhead-227 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 09-28-2006, 08:12 AM
3.5ghz
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I was about to say it looks like its only a 50 watt tec.. with no cold plate above it besides what looks like a redon TT Tower 112. Im pretty sure your idle temps would never go below 30 because they don't want to cause condensation, notice they didn't insulate anything.

E6600 @ 3.2 Ghz 2GB ram - x1900xtx = (DONE! - in sig)

http://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...teh-wires.html
OzziKing is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 09-28-2006, 09:10 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Also, that peltier can't be big because it's driven by a PCI card. The PCI slot in a motherboard definately isn't going to be sourcing any kind of juice to keep a high-powered pelter running.

I'd say they've still got a way to go.
Pinhead-227 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 09-28-2006, 12:08 PM
Overclocker
 
Snerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ashalnd, OR
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinhead-227
Condensation is its crutch. It could cool better, but they designed it to stay above ambient temperature to avoid any condensation. If they were to go all out and insulate the base of it it could cool a lot better.

Also, notice that there is a heatpipe coming from the cold plate to the fins. They do that so when the peltier shuts down, that part of the cooler will still cool the CPU. So basically you could expect a lot better temperatures with the "whole" heatsink cooling the peltier.



This really makes me want to get a Scythe Mine or Infinity or Sonic Silent Tower or Sonic tower and pelterize the thing. I would've done it already if everything wasn't so dang expensive!
The problem with the Mine and Infinity is that they are setup to work on the stock mounting system. I don't think that you could fit a peltier in there and make it work.

FAQ: Teflon Tape...USE IT!
OSAMT: "Member of OCN Songwriter and Musician Thread"

Proud Member of the OCN Mechanical Keyboad Club!
Snerp is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 09-28-2006, 06:37 PM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snerp
The problem with the Mine and Infinity is that they are setup to work on the stock mounting system. I don't think that you could fit a peltier in there and make it work.
How big is the base of the Infinity? The stock plastic piece can easily be modded to any height you would want. Just take the thing off and shim it up with some nylon washers. Then get some longer screws to hold it down and you're set. I modded mine in a similar way, though I lowered it instead of raising it. I could build almost anything you'd want with my dremel and some duct tape!!
Pinhead-227 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 11-10-2006, 10:19 AM
4.0ghz
 
Lyoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by born2killU View Post
has anyone tried putting a tec under thier normal air heatsink

i might try it
Yes, I use a low watt tec (72~95w) with my Artic Freezer 64. Idle temps are exellent (subzero actually) and load temps moderate.
When I say subzero, I mean like -4*C or so lol... NOT -25*C
I think Pinhead was going to do the same, but with a sonic tower.
Low wattage=little or no condensation

Oh, and if you remove the IHS, the contact would be better with the CPU. I'm too chicken to try it. Maybe I can hit the -10's or so.

My mounting is pretty rough. I had to raise the screw one side so I could clamp the A64 Freezer on. So, I know my CPU isn't getting full contact, but I'm still getting great temps. I'm going to try something to make the contact better.


Yeah guys, I don't know whats up with the fancy amanda thing... Exellent coolers like A64 Freezer and TT BT could replace that and probably be lighter. I'm getting an FM92 (If that's what its called) for my A64 Freezer and crank the speed all the way up. If I remove the IHS, we can be looking at some legendary temps near -25*C :O

Lyoko is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off