Cold bug chips - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 124
i'm going to build myself a phase change system. getting an evap CNC made, etc etc.

Was wondering though, if you bring down a cold bugged chip and it won't work, will it be fine when its brought back up to normal temps?

mudd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 08:48 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SAN ANTONIO TEXAS
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
i was wondering this as well srry to hijack your thred but i was also wondering how can i find if a chip is coldbug?

swayne is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 08:51 AM
Freeze It
 
MADMAX22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 582
yeah it should be, my am2 3800 which i think was cold bugged and anything below -15c or so it wouldnt work over stock if i was lucky, now on air its doing 2.6 with .05vcore over stock

E6400@3856E4300@4158E6600@4510,Opti148@3102,opti170@2918,UD3P&9550@4692
UD3P&84005304,UD3p&85005567

MADMAX22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 11:24 AM
4.0ghz
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Mister Crowley is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 11:26 AM
Moderator
 
gonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Odense, Denmark
Posts: 28,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
I am very sure the CCBBE steppings are very often coldbugged. If you had a CBBWE (Or is it CCBWE?), then the chances were WAY higher.

And no, if it is used at a temperature where it can't run, it will run at the standard one.
gonX is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-22-2006, 02:38 PM
Freeze It
 
MADMAX22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 582
ccbwe are generally not coldbugged, ask thewaxshop i think he knows most of the coldbugged ones

E6400@3856E4300@4158E6600@4510,Opti148@3102,opti170@2918,UD3P&9550@4692
UD3P&84005304,UD3p&85005567

MADMAX22 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-24-2006, 01:22 AM
Forum Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 61,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1329
As stated in my thread here it is the CCBBE that are more likely to have the bug :http://www.overclock.net/amd-cpus/12...ngle-core.html

Welcome to Overclock
grouphug.gif Fold for the Cause, Fold for the People grouphug.gif
 
 
 
ENTERPRISE is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-16-2007, 04:18 AM
733mhz
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
i have a CBBID winchester and a X2 4200+ that arent cold bugged.

Love phase and always learning :
check : http://www.overclock.net/phase-chang...first-try.html

Marvin is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-16-2007, 06:21 AM
 
BugBash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Some freeze spray will prob do the trick, its used for finding faults at component level (Ya know something works from cold, after its been on a while a craps out, spray that on different components and ya find the faulty one)

I think my 7800GS has the `Cold Bug` it sometimes lags like hell, then works like a dream....




The Black Mesa Survivors Club

2nd Rig:
Silverstone TJ-05
P4 3.06@3.49(ThermalRight XP-120) on Abit IC7-G, 2.5GB, 320GB+500GB, XFX7800GS 256MB AGP, Tagan 480U
BugBash is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off