First time using a DSLR, how did I do? - Overclock.net

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 02-27-2011, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
So I work for Sony's call center, and I was able to take out an A850, and DT 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens, I took these photo's tonight. I left most of the settings on auto, and let the camera do a lot of the work... I plan on taking it out tomorrow, when there's some natural light (instead of my monitor), so was wondering if you guys could give me some tips or advice on anything I'm doing wrong ect.

I did sharpen a couple of these in Photoshop to clean them up a bit.




















- This one had a family picture in the top right corner on the desk behind the rig, I edited it out because it ruined the pic, and I didn't notice it was there until I had the camera already put away.

Jelah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 02-27-2011, 11:55 PM
 
JoshuaaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 118
You need to get a tripod. Set your ISO at a lower setting because your pictures are quite noisy. Use a wider aperture to create some depth.
Jelah likes this.
JoshuaaT is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:09 AM
4.0ghz
 
dudemanppl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelah View Post
A850, and DT 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens
That made me die inside.


Chimp Challenge Participant 

dudemanppl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:16 AM
Pandorlax
 
iandroo888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 6,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 257
tripod would help with these pictures. not that bad for a first time. could be better in many ways.. try to create a better DoF. not sure where im supposed to look on these pictures.. eyes just wandering all over the place lol
Jelah likes this.

Pr0j3cT TuX3d0 | The Cooler Master 690 Club

Nikon D800E (Nikkor AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED | Nikkor AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED | Speedlight SB-800 | TimBuk2 Snoop Camera | Zeikos ZE-NBGD800 Battery Grip | BlackRapid RS-Sport) | Flickr

3 Million+ Folding at Home points 

iandroo888 is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaaT View Post
You need to get a tripod. Set your ISO at a lower setting because your pictures are quite noisy. Use a wider aperture to create some depth.
Thanks for the tip, I was wondering about that

Quote:
Originally Posted by dudemanppl View Post
That made me die inside.
Why, because of the lens? It was the only wide angle lens we had at work, rest of them were telephoto
Jelah is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:17 AM
Slayer of Cancer Cells
 
r31ncarnat3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 7,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Use manual settings!

Lower ISO for less noise, larger aperture for more depth of field, keep it wide @ 18mm to use the larger f/3.5 mm (zooming in lowers the max f-stop up to f/5.6), and use a tripod if there is too little light and your pics get blurry.
Jelah likes this.


Canon 60D | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 ART| Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 VC
flickr


Chimp Challenge Participant  1 Million+ Folding at Home points 

r31ncarnat3d is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:19 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by iandroo888 View Post
tripod would help with these pictures. not that bad for a first time. could be better in many ways.. try to create a better DoF. not sure where im supposed to look on these pictures.. eyes just wandering all over the place lol
Thanks for the input I think my dads got a tripod around here somewhere, I'll use it tomorrow.

Also, just logged into my main rig, and wow, I gotta delete those ones I sharpened, they looked much better on the other monitor I was using.

Thanks r31ncarnat3d

lots of good advice + rep to you all!
Jelah is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Ok, I probably should have posted these to start with, since the ones I edited look like garbage from this monitor... These are pretty much the same pics, just untouched, only cropped, and resized. [moved to op]
Jelah is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:48 AM
 
JoshuaaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Have you tried using Lightroom?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jelah View Post
This is nitpicking but that yellow thing in the top right hand corner distracts me from the intended subject. Try setting up some blank poster board for a background.
Jelah likes this.
JoshuaaT is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 02-28-2011, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
4.0ghz
 
Jelah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshuaaT View Post
Have you tried using Lightroom?
No, haven't head of it, I will check it out though But yeah, I'm a huge photography noob, but I really would like to learn, especially since I can rent out a $2000 camera for free to learn with. Really appreciate all the little tips guys, I cant wait to try again tomorrow!

Yeah, that was bugging me too, I tried setting up the 800D box behind it, with a sheet on the table and draping up the box to try and hide the background, I think tomorrow I will break the box down, and spend a little more time on setting everything up.

Cropped it out here:


One thing I'm having a hard time with is learning how much to crop, and where to stop.


I've only got paint on my main rig, I'm gonna download a trial of light room now
Jelah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off